We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Excelsior Congress, Spa & Lido
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Pesaro
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stayed many times on business and the service at reception in the bar and in the restaurant is very good. The rooms are fine and functional. Nothing has been too much trouble including getting my shirts pressed ready for the next day and I only arrived at 4.30pm. When you consider its done off site and you are in Italy that's very good. Food in the restaurant is pricy but worth it. Breakfast has a good selection of what you would need. I have stayed at a couple of other hotels in the area but I will always stay here except for in the peak season when the rates go through the roof

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daveymanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    130
    36
    17
    9
See reviews for
64
296
12
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one day with my family and I have to say that this is one of the best hotel I have ever been. The staff were very friendly and efficient.

The hotel was clean and decorated with taste. Common areas were spacious and welcoming. Our see-side room was average in size but it was very light thanks to the big glass-door giving to the large balcony. I particularly liked the quality of the furniture which was just outstanding. The bathroom was again very beautifully decorated and sufficiently large.

The hotel sits right next to the private lido. Although I personally prefer a wild, uncivilized beach, I must admit that the quality of the facility is very high.

The restaurants were elegant and the food was very good.

Unfortunately we did not have the time to go to the SPA, and this is my greatest regret!

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling near Pesaro. The next time my family and I plan a trip in this beautiful region we will definitely come back for the SPA!

Room Tip: Sea-side rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fsan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This very stylish hotel has prime beach access along with a great restaurant (we ate there twice for dinner) and spa. We had a wonderful stay and would definitely go back. The staff are very friendly. Our room had a great view of the sea and the hotel also provided everything you need for a great day at the beach. The hotel is centrally located and is about 10 minutes walking time from the old town and shopping area which was also a bonus.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
118 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed in the Excelsior for a night at the end of August, as we drove down the Adriatic Coast.

Finding the Excelsior using a GPS wasn't easy. The address isn't accurate - when booking they should give the address of the street entrance for cars - which we eventually found by luck, after several false starts using the main hotel address. Car parking is available both outside and underground. We didn't know this, and when we asked at reception on arrival, they said "yes, you can park downstairs." We were then hit with a fee for parking on check-out (can't remember exactly what it was but it was a lot - over 25 euros). That explained the fact that the only other cars there were Porsches and Mercedes! We were prepared to cough up the cash, but when we commented that they should tell people about the charge when they check in, the charge was immediately dropped from our bill. (Good response from the staff!)

The room was very comfortable, but we had the basic room, and it was crammed full of extra furniture, leaving us little room for bags. We also would have appreciated more than one English language channel on TV. Free wi-fi was helpful, and a PC and printer down in the library was very useful to us.

Elsewhere people have commented that the charges for the beaches are steep. We asked on arrival if there was someone to swim. It was about 5 pm, and we just wanted a quick dip and we were leaving the next morning, but we were told about the phenomenal 52 euro charge for the beach, towels, chair etc, or they mentioned the small pool at the spa. We went for a walk, and found a public beach 10 minutes walk or so away. They could have told us about that.

We didn't eat in the hotel - the restaurants weren't busy, and the prices were steep. We also chose to avoid an 18 euro each fee for breakfast. We're prepared to pay for good hotels - and we often do (and better hotels than the Excelsior) - but we don't appreciate feeling that fees are extortionate.

Overall, this is a nice hotel, but it seemed to us to be stuck in the middle of a three star resort (Pesaro), and didn't really fit. Perhaps it really comes down to the fact that Italian beaches are pretty ghastly to kiwis who are used to long empty sandy and FREE beaches, and we were glad we didn't plan to stay longer.

Room Tip: Try to upgrade from the basic room. It is very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This is one of the best hotels we have stayed at for a very long time. The building is elegant and stylish, absolutely spotless; the staff are both friendly and efficient; services, such as the Lido and the various restaurants and bars are excellent-the breakfast buffet is huge and wonderfully fresh at all times.
We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthonybramall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

After a break of 45 years my wife suggested a return visit to the recently refurbished Excelsior Hotel which now has a 5 star rating. We were on the 7th floor with a side-sea view and city view. A spotless suite of rooms only lacked tea and coffee making facilities. The choice of English TV channels was for us a disappointment (Sky is not the be all and end all). Excellent help from the Reception team was matched by the friendliness of all the hotel staff, in particular in the restaurant and on the Lido.

A few minor niggles are worth noting: the housekeeping was a bit haphazard in terms of resupply (although bedding was changed daily); the daily charge for the beach was excessive - a half day rate would be fairer and would attract more custom. It was unfortunate that our day was cut short by the only thunderstorm of the week!; the breakfast 'spread' - although fresh and of excellent quality - was not a 5 star choice.

Overall the Excelsior is a wonderful experience and an excellent base for exploring the city of Pesaro and the surrounding area. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Request a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentHalfcentury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

I just left the hotel with my lovely wife, stayed here for couple of nights, the rooms are ok, clean, we had a sea view room which was nice yet it was a bit small, the bed is ok as well, yet the queen size matress was two single matresses put next to each other! It wasn't nice to find a crack in the middle of the bed!
We wanted to connect to the internet, but the wireless kept breaking up and were unable to use the wifi for more than 5 minutes ad when we were connected the connection was extremely slow... although it was free, yet very bad, extremely bad...
The breakfast here wasn't ok! The bread wasn't fresh, the the selection was really poor, there wasn't any kind of vegetables in the selection which we didn't like...
We had to pay extra 70 euros for the beach service (which should be included since we were staying in the hotel, yet the beach "service" wasn't included, and the service only included couple of towels, two beach beds, and only one bottle of water!!!!
We asked for only one hour late check out and they refused! That really wasn't nice...
We tried the Spa services and couple of Massages abd those were actually worth it...
To be honest we really liked our 4 stars hotel in room way more than we liked this 5 stars one in Pesaro...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoweis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pesaro hotels
0.3 mi away
Nautilus Family Hotel
Nautilus Family Hotel
#7 of 49 in Pesaro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vittoria Hotel Pesaro
Vittoria Hotel Pesaro
#18 of 49 in Pesaro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Cattani Stuart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Clipper
Hotel Clipper
#2 of 49 in Pesaro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alexander Museum Palace Hotel
1.4 mi away
Baia Flaminia Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Congress, Spa & Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Congress, Spa & Lido

Property: Excelsior Congress, Spa & Lido
Address: Lungomare Nazario Sauro 30/34, 61121, Pesaro, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Marche > Province of Pesaro and Urbino > Pesaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Pesaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Congress, Spa & Lido 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excelsior has been created to offer hotel guests and all those who appreciate the art of living well, a far from ordinary destination and a lifestyle of modern luxury. Recalling the glamorous atmosphere of the 1950s, the Excelsior experience is dedicated to living well. Finesse and elegance grace every moment, private or professional, vacationor business. This is a boutique hotel where hospitality and leisure combined with discretion and charm create a quiet haven, rich in art, beauty and stunning views. Not a place to simply pass through - a true "home away from home", gracefully luxurious, the epitome of the Excelsior concept. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Preferred Hotels, ACCOR, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excelsior Congress, Spa & Lido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing