We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B and B”
Review of B&B Cal Torello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Cal Torello
Ranked #1 of 34 Urbino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful B and B”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This B and B is set high in the hills about 4 miles from Urbino. It is in a peaceful quiet location with magnificent views across the rolling hills of Le Marche. At night the jet black sky is studded with an amazing amount of stars. We stayed in The Owl, a delightful appartment which has been very tastefully decorated. It is spacious and beautifully clean throughout. There is a well fitted living area with table, chairs, sofa bed and a kitchen area with gas hob, fridge and toaster. The pretty bathroom includes a bath and shower. The large, airy bedroom has a double and a single bed. The breakfasts were delicious: we were provided with a variety of fresh fruit each day and really enjoyed the tarts, pastries and breads. Each day there was something different to enjoy. Silke and Lucas were very kind and went to a lot of trouble to ensure we enjoyed our stay. I would really recommend this B and B and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    20
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
104
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at this delightful B&B. We stayed in the Owl appartment which is the larger one of the two. It has a really large bedroom, living area which includes a table and chairs, sofa bed and an excellent kitchen which proved really useful as there was a fridge, toaster, and gas hob where we could make our own coffee. The appartment has been decorated really well - the bathroom was wonderful with really nice tiles on the walls. The pictures of the appartment on the website don't show how beautiful it really is. Silke and Luca were incredibly charming hosts - nothing is too much trouble for them. Silke brought a different breakfast each day - fruit, croissants, small pastries, yoghurts. We were able to sit on the shaded terrace outside in order to enjoy it. All in all an absolutely wonderful stay in a beautiful location (10 mins drive from Urbino). I would really recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012 via mobile

This was such a wonderful place to stay. We flew into Bolgona and Urbino, a gem of a city in itself, was a half way point on our way to a destination further south in Le Marche. I concur with everything LizzieN says...I'd love to return, explore both the area and Urbino some more. Apart from anything else, some more intelligent conversation with our hosts would be delightful.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Cal Torello is an excellent place to stay with beautiful rural views over the surrounding countryside, yet only minutes' drive to Urbino.

Silke and Luca offer such warm hospitality and make every effort to ensure that their guests have a good experience. Early evening 'aperatifs' with excellent recommendations for an evening meal in Urbino, a lovely breakfast the following morning and a delightful trip to discover more of the town all contributed to a great stopover on our way to our destination around 2 hours to the south.

A wonderful start to a wonderful holiday - thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzieN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We loved the elevated position of Cal Torello on the slopes near Urbino. The views here are h just magnificent. Silke has created a very elegant apartment, detached from the house so it was private, spacious, and quiet. The quality of fittings and fixtures are top class. The welcome, the care and attention, plus the great breakfast created a complete experience which was very wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We arrived at Cal Torello on the outskirts of Urbino to one of the most beautiful settings imaginable. From the property, the views seem to go on forever with a patchwork of greens, villages perched on tall, steep hills, and, on clear days, a view of the Adriatic and also of the Republic of San Marino, known by its three peaks.

For our five-night stay, both small apartments were available. We had reserved the apartment with the bathroom with the bathtub but were curious about the second apartment, which is also on the ground floor and is next door. It has its own terrace with lovely views, a beautiful walk-in shower, and a smaller living room with kitchenette. The bedrooms of both apartments are a generous size. We chose to stay in the apartment with the bathtub. Although we didn't have a private terrace, there were lounge chairs to use outdoors and a table and chairs in the covered courtyard at our disposal.

Recently restored, the apartment are stylishly furnished with very comfortable furniture, some antique pieces, and attractive prints. Our apartment had a working fireplace, too, which we didn't use, but the central heating, with the thermostat in the apartment, worked well.

Our hosts, Silke and Luca, were very gracious and helpful yet respected our privacy. Silke explained that she brings breakfast in each evening, and asked if we liked a traditional Italian breakfast with a sweet crostata or similar breakfast pastry or if we'd prefer sliced, cured meats and cheese, or eggs. We chose the sweeter version and were treated to a delicious baked treat each day, as well as eggs one day.

We also had a variety of yogurts, juices, milk (even soy milk when my husband expressed a preference), as well as ground coffee and a selection of teas. One day, when Silke learned I wasn't feeling well, she brought me camomile tea, Actimel, and oatmeal for breakfast.
Luca gave us a tour of the property, showing us the beehives from which he collects acacia and millefiore honey and the little fruit orchard, including peach, apple, pear, apricot, and persimmon trees, a kiwi arbor, and gooseberry bushes. We had jams made from several of those fruits and both types of honey.

Silke provided fresh flowers throughout our five-day stay, including a vase of yellow irises and lavender.To say we were pampered during our stay is an understatement.

Silke and Luca suggested excellent drives, recommended the Saturday market in Urbino, and gave us directions to Arezzo, via Gubbio, to avoid the more direct, mountainous drive, and recommended restaurants, including Il Cortegiano, also a cafe/bar and open continuously from morning through the evening. It is diagonally across the street from the Ducal Palace.
Grazie mille, Silke and Luca, for your courtesy and kindness and for making such lovely accommodations available at such a reasonable price.

Tip: Make sure to ask for driving directions. We relied on printed directions from a mapping program, which, unfortunately, did not include any landmarks, such as the hospital, which would have been the biggest clue. We rarely saw any signs for road names or route numbers, which our directions relied upon.

Room Tip: Either is lovely. The smaller apartment has a stunning shower room and a private terrace. The larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We stayed at Cal Torello in April 2012 for four nights and had a great time. Our accommodation was very very good - a beautifully renovated old building with two very private large room options. We had a little kitchenette, large bedroom and the best bathroom and shower in Italy!! Luca and Silke are lovely hosts who were eager to ensure our comfort. Their home is hidden in a gorgeous valley with views across the countryside. It felt like we were in the middle of a fairytale at times. Cal Torello is 4.5kms from Urbino central, so a car is required, but it's worth it to be amongst the beautiful surroundings. Thank you Luca and Silke. Jo & Ron, April 2012, Sydney Australia

Room Tip: Our room was terrific for a couple - the other room available is more for a longer stay, offering co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewarts11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Urbino hotels
1.9 mi away
Mamiani Hotel Urbino
Mamiani Hotel Urbino
#2 of 14 in Urbino
948 reviews
2.2 mi away
Urbino Resort - Tenuta Santi Giacomo e Filippo
2.8 mi away
Albergo Italia
Albergo Italia
#4 of 14 in Urbino
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Bonconte
Hotel Bonconte
#5 of 14 in Urbino
214 reviews
2.7 mi away
B&B Albornoz
B&B Albornoz
#2 of 34 in Urbino
131 reviews
4.7 mi away
Colleverde Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Cal Torello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Cal Torello

Property: B&B Cal Torello
Address: Strada Provinciale Montefabbri 87 | Loc. Pallino, 61029 Urbino, Italy
Region: Italy > Marche > Province of Pesaro and Urbino > Urbino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Urbino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Cal Torello, completely surrounded by nature, is located just 4.5 km (2.8 miles) from the historic center of Urbino. It has three apartments with separate entrances, with one or two rooms, on the ground floor of a 16th century farm house near the Renaissance and university town of Urbino. Recently renovated under the care and sensibility of the owners, each stylish apartment is equipped with a kitchenette and luxurious bathroom, one with a bathtub and shower and the other two with a walk-in shower. Warm, rustic but modern ambiance, with hand made terracotta tile or wooden floors, partially stone walls and beamed ceilings, and a mix of elegant, antique furniture, traditional-style newer pieces, and new sofas, mattresses, and area rugs. Parking and the use of the garden, covered courtyard and loggia (also for breakfast outside) and Wi-Fi included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your B&B Cal Torello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing