We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful retreat, beautiful setting”
Review of B&B Cal Torello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Cal Torello
Ranked #1 of 34 Urbino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
katonah, ny
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful retreat, beautiful setting”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Cal Torello was extraordinary in very way. Our apartment was spacious and well-appointed, with refined attention to every detail. Breakfast, artfully presented by Silke each morning, was a special treat which we thoroughly enjoyed on our outdoor patio - bordered by a bed of lavender and overlooking breathtaking countryside views.

Silke and Lucca couldn't have been more friendly, welcoming and accommodating as hosts.
A perfect property for anyone a seeking a peaceful refuge, just a few miles from all that Urbino has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank profkatonah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    20
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
104
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at Cal Torello for two nights at the beginning of our Italy trip and it was a wonderful introduction to Italian hospitality. Lucca was not home at the time of our arrival howevervar note and key was left for us so we made ourselves comfortable. If i could transport the room to our house i would. Silke definitely has a flair for design and the bathroom with walk in shower wow!! best bathroom i have ever seen in a b&b! unfortunately the weather wasn't great when we were there so we couldn't take advantage of the views and properly explore Urbino. however we did have two of the best meals of our trip there!! overall a lovely introduction to Italy, Lucca was a fabulous host (the prosecco and favour on the last day was not forgotten!). we would not hesitate to recommend this place! maybe see you again one day! Kimberly and Caner

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimmy817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed 3 nights and used as a base to visit Urbino and the surrounding region. We had one self contained apartment and our adult daughter the second Unit. Both were extremely comfortable and well appointed. Our hosts were warm and generous. Breakfasts were great and the Tiramisu delivered by Silke on the Sunday evening totally decadent!
The apartments have a separate entrance and are quite independent and private.
It is located only a few kilometers from Urbino with wonderful pastoral views. All in all it was a terrific experience.

Maxine & Geoff Australia

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Cal Torello was gorgeous. Silke and Lucca are charming, generous hosts and their property is truly beautiful. We rented both apartments and could not recommend it highly enough. Fantastic location with stunning views close to magical Urbino.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This B and B is set high in the hills about 4 miles from Urbino. It is in a peaceful quiet location with magnificent views across the rolling hills of Le Marche. At night the jet black sky is studded with an amazing amount of stars. We stayed in The Owl, a delightful appartment which has been very tastefully decorated. It is spacious and beautifully clean throughout. There is a well fitted living area with table, chairs, sofa bed and a kitchen area with gas hob, fridge and toaster. The pretty bathroom includes a bath and shower. The large, airy bedroom has a double and a single bed. The breakfasts were delicious: we were provided with a variety of fresh fruit each day and really enjoyed the tarts, pastries and breads. Each day there was something different to enjoy. Silke and Lucas were very kind and went to a lot of trouble to ensure we enjoyed our stay. I would really recommend this B and B and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at this delightful B&B. We stayed in the Owl appartment which is the larger one of the two. It has a really large bedroom, living area which includes a table and chairs, sofa bed and an excellent kitchen which proved really useful as there was a fridge, toaster, and gas hob where we could make our own coffee. The appartment has been decorated really well - the bathroom was wonderful with really nice tiles on the walls. The pictures of the appartment on the website don't show how beautiful it really is. Silke and Luca were incredibly charming hosts - nothing is too much trouble for them. Silke brought a different breakfast each day - fruit, croissants, small pastries, yoghurts. We were able to sit on the shaded terrace outside in order to enjoy it. All in all an absolutely wonderful stay in a beautiful location (10 mins drive from Urbino). I would really recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012 via mobile

This was such a wonderful place to stay. We flew into Bolgona and Urbino, a gem of a city in itself, was a half way point on our way to a destination further south in Le Marche. I concur with everything LizzieN says...I'd love to return, explore both the area and Urbino some more. Apart from anything else, some more intelligent conversation with our hosts would be delightful.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Urbino hotels
1.9 mi away
Mamiani Hotel Urbino
Mamiani Hotel Urbino
#2 of 14 in Urbino
949 reviews
2.2 mi away
Urbino Resort - Tenuta Santi Giacomo e Filippo
2.8 mi away
Albergo Italia
Albergo Italia
#4 of 14 in Urbino
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Bonconte
Hotel Bonconte
#5 of 14 in Urbino
214 reviews
4.7 mi away
Colleverde Country House
2.6 mi away
Residenza Ambrogi Luxury B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Cal Torello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Cal Torello

Property: B&B Cal Torello
Address: Strada Provinciale Montefabbri 87 | Loc. Pallino, 61029 Urbino, Italy
Region: Italy > Marche > Province of Pesaro and Urbino > Urbino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Urbino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Cal Torello, completely surrounded by nature, is located just 4.5 km (2.8 miles) from the historic center of Urbino. It has three apartments with separate entrances, with one or two rooms, on the ground floor of a 16th century farm house near the Renaissance and university town of Urbino. Recently renovated under the care and sensibility of the owners, each stylish apartment is equipped with a kitchenette and luxurious bathroom, one with a bathtub and shower and the other two with a walk-in shower. Warm, rustic but modern ambiance, with hand made terracotta tile or wooden floors, partially stone walls and beamed ceilings, and a mix of elegant, antique furniture, traditional-style newer pieces, and new sofas, mattresses, and area rugs. Parking and the use of the garden, covered courtyard and loggia (also for breakfast outside) and Wi-Fi included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your B&B Cal Torello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing