We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel Bonconte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bonconte
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Urbino
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I stayed with my family in the room "Suite del Duca", that is a suite with a large bedroom and a living room where can be accommodated two people.
Location: the hotel is very close to the main square of Urbino, you have to climb a little to reach it but it is very easy and you are far from the confusion.
Room: very large, elegant and with a great view over the valley.
Bathroom: huge, recently renovated and with a spectacular chromotherapy shower, two washbasins and a whirlpool tub. Great toilet facilities, including bath salts.
Restaurant: cosy and quiet. Excellent food and service.
Value for price: superb.
I would definitely recommend it!!!

Room Tip: The "Suite del Duca" room is perfect for a family and has a great view over the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eternoviaggiatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2013

This hotel is located just inside the city walls, with the main squares a short uphill walk away. Urbino itself is lovely -- don't miss the Giardini Pubblici at the top of the via Rafaello for great views over the city. Also the botanic garden in the city centre is a little oasis of peace. The hotel is fairly average -- I agree with previous posts that it doesn't live up to its four star category, but it was pretty decent nonetheless. The initial room we were offerred was on street level (bottom left on the photo above) -- it's better to ask for an upstairs one. The view from the bedroom window over the surrounding countryside was lovely -- made you happy to be alive each morning! We weren't offerred any hotel parking, so we had to park in a street outside the walls. The infamous internet charge was proposed but not in the end levied. The front desk staff were all pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

If you love Italy and specially the Renaissance you must visit this small city. Once you arrive in the Raffaello birthplace you feel the renaissance atmosphere every where. The ideal is find a hotel inside the city walls so you never need a car. Walking let you feel the essence of the place with all the senses. Of course here must be mentioned the many uphills which requires good physical condition. Hotel Bonconte is lovely, fully renovated with good taste (with a small exception: the uggly copper frame of the big painting in the breakfast area) situated very close the central square (5-6 min. walk) inside the city walls. The rooms are not very big but they are comfortable, very clean and with beautιful bathrooms. Very kind personnel and good european breakfast on rich buffet.

Room Tip: Better upstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HARRIS P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We stayed here nine nights and were very happy with the hotel. All the staff were very helpful, pleasant and polite. We didn't dine here as we were usually with others in Urbino and there were plenty of places to eat in town. We had breakfast in the local bars which was much cheaper than the hotel. We tried to go online on two occasions but their internet never worked and they refunded our payments without question.
Our room was spotlessly clean and well-equipped. All the TV channels were Italian, which was fine for me but my wife would have liked an English-speaking one or two. There is a lovely terrace with excellent views for sunbathing or quiet reading. I would definitely return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanteFerrara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

While I would agree with previous reviews that the Bonconte may not be quite what you expect from the best 4* hotels, it is perfectly comfortable (though bed a little hard for my taste - seems to be a widespread problem in Italy these days) and adequate as a base for exploring Urbino and the surrounding area. And for somewhere within the city walls, very accessible - which, if you've ever tried to navigate Italian medieval streets after a long day driving, you will appreciate! Breakfast was fine - the usual cold meats, cheeses, pastries,etc. 11 euros/pp may not seem the cheapest, but being able to fall out of bed on a nice sunny morning and sit having breakfast on the outdoor terrace, eating and drinking as much as you like - seems like reasonable value to me. Only down-side (and this would apply to everywhere in Urbino) - this is a seriously hilly town, and anywhere you go is going to involve climbing. If you can't be bothered going out in the evening (though the excellent Trattoria del Leone is only 5' walk away), the hotel restaurant is perfectly OK.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malvern09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Hotel Bonconte is a lovely older hotel with an attractive first floor located just inside the city walls, and safely away from the noise at the town center, which is a short (if steep) uphill walk away. Overnight parking is available near the door for 5 Euros, or for free outside the city walls. Unforunately, there is a similar charge for wi-fi, and the usual enhanced-continental breakfast costs an additional 5,50 Euro (vs. the 11 Euro price others have mentioned), so it didn’t turn out to be especially good value. But pleasant enough; the room was compact, with a bathroom recently remodeled in the most modern style. The only real negative is that the room air-conditioner was not working; and it was warm - so I had no choice but to leave the window open, only to find that the outdoor hotel restaurant was just below, which meant conversation (and smoking) until near midnight. But breakfast in the same outdoor setting the following morning was pleasant; as was Urbino itself.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ranke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Always wanted to visit Urbino. Raphael's birthplace. Wasn't a fan of his, sort of sided with Michelangelo, plus he didn't end well. Really chose Urbino because we went to Gubbio for lunch (Taverna del Lupo, a favorite). Urbino convenient and beautiful; stayed at Bonconte. I liked it. It's not so much tired as had a great history. We were tired and they took good care of us. Suite, good bath, good breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Urbino hotels
1.2 mi away
Mamiani Hotel Urbino
Mamiani Hotel Urbino
#2 of 13 in Urbino
1,037 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Italia
Albergo Italia
#4 of 13 in Urbino
614 reviews
4.9 mi away
Urbino Resort - Tenuta Santi Giacomo e Filippo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albergo San Domenico
Albergo San Domenico
#6 of 13 in Urbino
285 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Piero della Francesca
1.6 mi away
La Meridiana Hotel
La Meridiana Hotel
#3 of 13 in Urbino
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonconte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonconte

Address: Via Delle Mura 28, 61029 Urbino, Italy
Region: Italy > Marche > Province of Pesaro and Urbino > Urbino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Urbino
Price Range: £60 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bonconte 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Bonconte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing