We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Charming” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bonconte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Bonconte
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Urbino
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
168 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Very Charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2009

Located at the edge of Urbino, Hotel Bonconte is a gracious, comfortable place to stay for your visit. The staff is attentive and accomodating. While you can't avoid the steep streets, the hotel is located near the center of the town, where all the action is. Evenings are lively in the central piazza and students are everywhere. Of the hotels we stayed at on our tour of Italy, this was the only one that charged for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madamsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    105
    34
    14
    8
See reviews for
34
106
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2009

We absolutely loved our stay here! The hotel is very charming. We had a 3 person room and were pleasantly surprised by how big it was; we had one room with one double bed, and a door connecting us to a second room with sofas, a single bed, a television set and sofas and a coffee table where we had tea and coffee each morning, delivered by the maid. The walls were dirty but it did not bother us at all, as everything else was spotlessly clean and charming. The bathroom is very modern and beautiful with stone floors, a luxurious shower and beautiful updated sink and toilet. We had a small entrance way to our room with a door closing it off to the bedroom. We kept our shoes here and appreciated how insulated we were from hallway noise. The hotel's balcony has an exquisite view and was a lovely place to relax or have a little lunch we bought from a nearby pizza restaurant. Our hotel room itself also had absolutely beautiful views. Our room was in the front of the building so our roof was slanted, which made walking on the far side of the room a bit inconvenient, but the beauty and size of the room certainly made up for it. Overall we were so impressed with this hotel, we want to return to Urbino and won't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ezysqezylemnpezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2008

Very helpful, responsive and friendly staff, especially Patrizia. Room OK (small single but perfectly adequate for a three-day visit) with a good shower. Only 5 mins walk from centre of Urbino. Breakfast generous. Much better than a more expensive 4* hotel in Bologna where I'm now staying.

One warning about Urbino: Internet access is much more expensive than in big cities, but that's only a minor gripe.

  • Liked — Helpful staff
  • Disliked — Cost of internet access
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Zpellis0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2007

The Bonconte Hotel has 4 stars (with prices to match), but I would be hard pressed to award it even one star for the room we were given.

We planned to spend two nights at Urbino, and spent some time at home researching the reviews of local hotels on the internet. Both the Bonconte and La Meridiana received excellent reviews so we decided to spend one night in each hotel. The first night, spent at La Meridiana was most satisfactory, in a very pleasant hotel with a swimming pool, which surprisingly rated only 3 stars. By contrast the Bonconte was a huge disappointment.

We were assigned to a poky little garret under the eaves, with only a tiny window barely a foot square. Certainly no splendid view of the surrounding mountains. But beyond this, the room was only just big enough for a double bed. The room was so small that there was space only for one bedside table. On the other side there was a plywood cutout of a maid holding a small tray, just big enough to hold my spectacles. The remaining furniture, consisting of a small table and one hard chair, looked as if it had been picked up at a junk shop. The bathroom was so small there was no room for a shower stall, only one narrow door to keep the rest of the bathroom from flooding while taking a shower.

On seeing this room we immediately returned to the reception desk to ask for a better room, but were told by the person at reception that the hotel was full, and that in any case we had booked a “business room”, implying that we should therefore expect it to be sub-standard. In response to our complaints it was agreed that breakfast would be provided gratis. Shortly after this we heard another (Italian) guest complaining angrily to the receptionist that he had booked a “superior” room but that his room was certainly not superior.

Returning to the hotel after dinner I switched on the bathroom light, which immediately exploded in a white flash and all the lights went out. The (different) person at reception was able to get some of the lights working within a short time, but this episode did not improve our opinion of the Bonconte Hotel.

When we checked out we were asked if we had enjoyed our visit, and we expressed our dissatisfaction. The lady at reception then called the owner or manager, who gave us a 20% discount, which, together with the free breakfast, just about brought the price down to somewhere near a fair price for such a room.

As previous visitors have reported, guests at the Bonconte can get a permit from the hotel to park a car on the street outside. However, a deposit of 50 Euros is required for this permit.

The Bonconte is certainly a hotel with pretensions, as one previous visitor reported. The price of breakfast at Bonconte costs more than double the Meridiana price, although the breakfast was very similar at both hotels.

Altogether not a hotel which I could recommend, and it certainly is not worth 4 stars.

  • Liked — Room was recently decorated. Easy access to central Urbino
  • Disliked — Totally unacceptable room
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveller052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2007

We had a great experience at the Bonconte. The rooms are not glamorous or luxurious, but perfectly large enough, nice and clean. The location is perfect, just a few steps from the main town square. The staff was helpful and gave us a great dinner recommendation. The breakfast was one of the better we had the entire trip (amazing fresh eggs you could tell were straight off the farm). Great value, too. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank HKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
228 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2007

We booked our stay here through BBPlanet.it 5 months in advance, and paid a deposit on the room. We received back confirmation that our room was booked. 12 days before our arrival, they sent us emails requesting a credit card number to guarantee the reservation. By this time, we were already travelling in Italy, and unable to check our email account. So, they gave our room to someone else!

On arrival, they informed us that they had booked a room for us outside Urbino, at Hotel dei Duchi. This is a 3-star hotel (as opposed to their 4-star hotel), and they did not inform us that the rate was cheaper! Had we not argued this point, they would have charged us their more expensive rate.

Our room at Dei Duchi was a large room, but situated right off the lobby and fronting the bar, which was open 24 hours.

After more discussion with Bonconte, they agreed to give us a parking pass and our breakfast at their hotel. Breakfast, however, was abysmal. The pie was undercooked (the pastry being gummy), juice and milk was not replenished until I picked up the jug and brought it to the kitchen.

We had no problems with any other hotels through BBPlanet.it Everyone honoured their agreements with the exception of Hotel Bonconte.

If they required a credit card number for confirmation, why did they not request it at the time of booking?

Not impressed with Hotel Bonconte!!

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_Axe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1/2 Way Between Seattle and Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2007

My memory of beauty and peace of Urbino is an experience I will never forget. I absolutely loved my visit to Urbino and the Bonconte was pivotal in setting the tone for my stay there.
The hotel is conveniently located two blocks down the hill from the main piazza. The checkin was smooth and easy. The common areas are nice clean and well kept. The staff was friendly, and cheerful.
Our room was large and clean. The furnishings were well kept farm-house-nostalgic. Our window looked out over the wall onto the pastoral hillsides.
They laid out a nice breakfast for us and the garden was a nice setting for it.
It's a great place to stay if you're in Urbino for rest and comfort. Imagine what my review might have been if there had NOT been a leak in the bathroom that left the floor wet. We told the clerk that checked us out. She seemed genuinely surprised and we were left with the impression that it was unusal and would be fixed before letting anyone have the room again. I enjoyed my stay so much that I completely ignored it and would be eager to check right back in to the same room.

  • Liked — The view was wonderful.
  • Disliked — There was a small leak in the bathroom.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank One-Way-Gone-Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Urbino hotels
4.9 mi away
Urbino Resort - Tenuta Santi Giacomo e Filippo
0.1 mi away
Albergo Italia
Albergo Italia
#3 of 14 in Urbino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mamiani Hotel Urbino
Mamiani Hotel Urbino
#2 of 14 in Urbino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albergo San Domenico
Albergo San Domenico
#7 of 14 in Urbino
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Meridiana Hotel
La Meridiana Hotel
#4 of 14 in Urbino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#8 of 14 in Urbino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonconte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonconte

Property: Hotel Bonconte
Address: Via Delle Mura 28, 61029 Urbino, Italy
Region: Italy > Marche > Province of Pesaro and Urbino > Urbino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Urbino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bonconte 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Bonconte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing