We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, Friendly Hotel in Urbino”
Review of Albergo Italia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albergo Italia
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Urbino
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

Hotel Albergo is in the center of Urbino near the Piazzo. It has a wonderful friendly staff who speaks English well. As most hotels in Italy, it is located on a no through traffic zone, so make sure to give the front desk your license plate number, so you don't get a dreaded Italian parking ticket.

The rooms are comfortable and spacious. Wi-Fi is extra at 1 Euro per day per device. If you have two devices and will not be using the Wi-Fi at the same time, you are golden.

Parking is extra but there are spaces in the city for free which we did.

Plenty of restaurants around the hotel. The room was adequate and clean. Bathroom was spotless.

Breakfast was included on an outdoor veranda. Coffee, Danish, yogurt, fruit, and tea. I would return in a New York second! Thank you to Madeline and her staff for a job well done.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MustangRoxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (604)
There are newer reviews for Albergo Italia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 604 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2013

I had preferred to stay at a different hotel, but that one was a bit pricey and the rates at Albergo Italia were more moderate. For our one night there, it was a very satisfactory choice. The front desk staff was helpful in every respect. And as everyone else has noted, the location cannot be beat. It was no problem negotiating the parking lot and the lift from the parking lot to Urbino left us down the block from the hotel, a short, convenient walk. The rooms were comfortable and adequately furnished, rather generic but functional. I enjoyed the fact that the bathroom was equipped with a real bathtub (welcome after all those tiny showers in many of our other hotels during our trip!).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

As other reviewers have noted, this hotel is well located in the centre of Urbino. We had no problem finding the hotel, though even just parking briefly to drop off luggage was impossible. The main car park outside the city walls is not far, and there is an elevator from the car park (not hotel run) up to street level (50c charge pp) so OK if you have a trolley bag. Car parking is discounted with a chitty from the hotel (€11 overnight). The hotel is clean and the rooms modern and adequately furnished, nice balcony with a view over the rooftops. The rooms lacked atmosphere in what is clearly an historic building, but they serve the purpose, as does the basic breakfast. Staff were friendly and helpful. I think the night we were there the students must have finished their exams as there was a fair amount of noise until the early hours (it was midweek), more noticeable as we had the window open because the AC was too noisy to keep running. Overall, I would say this hotel is adequate, good value and well located - just a shame it lacks the atmosphere to match the building and the city.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank brycetaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I stayed in Albergo Italia in Urbino for 5 nights. I had some contact by email about parking my car days before arrival. The reply was practically instant and very helpful. Also during my stay the staff was very friendly and spoke perfect English, for those of us who aren't fluent in Italian always good to know.

The breakfast buffet is abundant but please don't have the readymade coffee, ask the nice lady that is overseeing breakfast for a cappuccino; your stomach and tastebuds will be ever so grateful :)

The hotel is right in the middle of Urbino, across from the palazzo Ducale. The hotelbuilding itself is also historic, but very tastefully modernised. The room is small but everything you need is there, also in the bathroom. My room was at the back of the hotel, so there was hardly any noise at all during the night.

FYI:
Per device that you want to use wifi on you have to pay 1 euro/stay.
The parking garage below the busstation will cost you 11 euro's a day and you can get a card for entering and leaving if you pay the duration that you will use it up front. (There is also a 20 EUR guarantee for the card, that is given back upon returning the card.)

Eating out is easy, restaurants are everywhere, the quality is not everywhere the same.

Room Tip: A room at the back of the hotel will be quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tjardar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights at this hotel a couple of weeks ago. It was easy to find, had convenient parking (city lot very close by) and was but a short walk to the main piazza and the Palazzo Ducale.

The room was quite adequate...clean, comfortable and with windows overlooking tiled roofs and the mountains behind. The bath was fine, towels etc. well supplied and plenty of hot water for the small but manageable shower.

The breakfast bar was somewhat limited but really adequate. I guess the caffe was the weak point, no pun intended.

Would we stay there again...the answer is yes.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viaggiatori1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed for only one night at the Albergo Italia in Urbino. It enjoys a nice location, not distant from the huge parking lots located at the entrance of the town. At the same time, it is very easy to get on foot to the main attractions in beautiful Urbino if you stay at the "Italia". We were given a very nice room, downstairs from the reception area, with several large windows facing beautiful tiled roofs of ancient houses and, beyond, a nice view of the countryside. As the hotel is built on a kind of cliff, some rooms are below the entrance level. The room was clean, large and had tight windows, so we were not bothered neither by the cold weather or outside noises. Towels were in sufficient numbers, and also hangers (a rarity in many hotels). Breakfast was very good (given the more than reasonable price/quality ratio). The personnel were kind and courteous. An ideal place to stay if you visit this part of Italy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juan Javier N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

The location of the hotel is great (not too many streets to climb to get to it!), the staff were efficient, our room was comfortable if a bit crowded and the bathroom fine. Breakfast was excellent except for terrible Café Americano (ask for a double espresso instead). Our first night was great but our second night was a Tuesday. On Tuesdays in warm weather the bar across the road holds a rave which goes on until 2 am. Even with closed shutters and windows, sleep was impossible. We asked to be moved to another room and the staff were pleasant and willing. The new room was at the back, much quieter and had more pleasant views over the town. We had to pay 1 euro for wifi.

Room Tip: If you're going to be there on a Tuesday, ask for a room at the back.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chesilfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Urbino hotels
1.2 mi away
Mamiani Hotel Urbino
Mamiani Hotel Urbino
#2 of 13 in Urbino
1,005 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bonconte
Hotel Bonconte
#5 of 13 in Urbino
223 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Meridiana Hotel
La Meridiana Hotel
#3 of 13 in Urbino
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Urbino Resort - Tenuta Santi Giacomo e Filippo
0.1 mi away
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#9 of 13 in Urbino
119 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Piero della Francesca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Italia

Address: Corso Giuseppe Garibaldi 32, 61029 Urbino, Italy
Region: Italy > Marche > Province of Pesaro and Urbino > Urbino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Urbino
Price Range: £73 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albergo Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Italia Urbino
Albergo Italia Hotel Urbino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing