We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't forget to look up at the frescoes”

I Carracci Ristorante
Ranked #25 of 1,835 Restaurants in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$86 - US$115
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Porto
Description: The Hotel is also known for its venues, the most elegant of the city destinations of taste, where you can taste the typical dishes of the Emilia-Romagna cuisine in an atmosphere unparalleled in contact with the masterpieces of Italian art.Our area restaurants, is divided into three different spaces at the same time complementary to each other. The Hotel is also known for very exclusive culinary locations, where even the most demanding palates pauses to "contemplate" as well as to enjoy!"Everything starts with a drink at the retro atmosphere of the now famous Cafè Marinetti, a relaxing aperitif where the notes of the piano accompany heady bubbles.You could continue with a Gourmet experience in the prestigious" I Carracci restaurant " one of the most elegant in the city for its warm and intimate atmosphere, housed in a magnificent hall of the '500, whose ceiling is entirely dedicated to the wonderful frescoes of the school of the Carracci brothers, or in the original “Morandi wine cellar " a five-star luxury wine cellar to test the new menu created specifically to enhance the traditions of the cuisine. All places strictly open to the public for lunch and dinner.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
309 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Don't forget to look up at the frescoes”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

This elegant dinning room is the perfect setting for a wonderful meal. The menu was very creative and the food was as good as expected. Our menu was in English but it still required some explanation. The waiter was very helpful even though English was his second language. Be careful about ordering dessert. There was a predessert as well as a small tray of cookies and chocolate.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sheldon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    142
    54
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crans-Montana, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were really looking forward to our visit to this highly recommended restaurant in Bologna.
After a nightmare time entering the city and trying to park, we eventually managed to convince the doorman of the the Hotel where the restaurant was, that we needed his help in parking the car, so, after explaining to us that it would cost 8 euros an hour to park ,we gave him the keys and thankfully he took it away.
That was just the start of a very expensive evening. The ambience was that of years gone by, in desperate need of a facelift. The staff were attentive and the food good, however, there was absolutely no atmosphere ,it was extremely old fashioned, overpriced and overrated.
I'm really sorry to write this review and even sorrier that it was such a disappointment .

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A perfect mix of old-school elegance and modern friendliness”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

While the food at this restaurant is very good, albeit quite pricey, what really stands out is the service and the atmosphere. The restaurant's dining area is in a beautiful old-school looking room, and the servers match the elegance of it. Great place for a romantic dinner, a family get-together or any celebration. The food was very good, but as stated, what impressed me the most was the service. The servers are very friendly and knowledgable, whereas (who I assume was) the maitre d' provided incredible professionalism. Would highly recommend for a special occasion.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is the absolute best service we have ever had in a restaurant! My husband and I had dinner last night and it was amazing. We had some adventurous dishes (like baby goat wrapped in some type of stomach ) as well as traditional dishes like pasta bolognese and tortellini in broth. We came to bologna for the pasta, so of course this was our favorite part. The Parma ham with salted butter was also divine. From picking out the perfect wine to catering to everything we needed, could not have been in better hands. Would highly recommend!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skil22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiberio B, Direttore at I Carracci Ristorante, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kind review shared with the Tripadvisor community and for choosing our Restaurant “I Carracci” during your last day in Bologna.

We are glad you have enjoyed all our gastronomical proposals and the courtesy of our staff that everyday wants to built just for all our special and precious Guests an authentic 5 star luxury tasting experience. It will be a personal pleasure to share all your kind words of appreciation that you have so gently dedicated us with all our staff that is very honored to have served you and your husband such a memorable dinner.

Chef Galeazzi and all the staff of restaurant “I Carracci” will be sincerely pleased to serve you again in the near future another fantastic and satisfying dinner.

Kind regards,

Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
115 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Definitely at the top”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I'm not convinced that among 1200 or so restaurants in culinary rich a distinction can be made between, say, #1 and #2 or #3, but this one certainly deserves to be at the top of the list. Elegant setting, attentive - but not over attentive - service and superb food. There is a fine mix of traditional local specialties (taglietelle, tortelloni, etc) and interesting varieties. The duck breast that I had for secondi was superb. Our table of 10 enjoyed the meal thoroughly - a gastronomic treat in a city that (fortunately) has many places to get a very enjoyable meal. (BTW, many of them are not in such elegant surroundings, but the food experience is very enjoyable none the less.)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel_Tzipi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiberio B, Direttore at I Carracci Ristorante, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Joel,

we would like to thank you for choosing our Restaurant “I Carracci” during your vacation in Bologna and also for posting such a delightful review and sharing it on the Tripadvisor community.

Your gentle words of appreciation will be no doubt shared with all our staff that works everyday with passion and knowledge just to give all our precious Guest a memorable gastronomical experience.
We are glad to know that everything have completely satisfied you and It is always a great pleasure to read such a kind review concerning the exclusive qualities of our Restaurat.

Chef Galeazzi and all the staff of restaurant “I Carracci” will be sincerely pleased to serve you again in the near future another fantastic and satisfying dinner.

Kind regards,

Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed I Carracci Ristorante also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to I Carracci Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing