We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pappagallo Restaurant

Pappagallo Restaurant
Reserve with
Pappagallo Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #244 of 1,789 Restaurants in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$54 - US$86
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Pappagallo Restaurant is located in a historic building of the ' 300 very close to the two towers in the heart of Bologna. Surrounded by numerous palaces and medieval churches, the Pappagallo offers its guests an elegant and welcoming, with tradition of Bologna but with a touch of modernity that make the contemporary history of the place. The sauce joke knife tip, tortellini, tagliatelle and bolognese cutlet are dishes that are combined with modern and sophisticated proposals to better suit your mood. Our lunches and dinners will be accompanied by fine wines, for a taste experience unforgettable.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Recommended to us by a friend who lives in Bologna. We always make reservations for dinner in a foreign country when it first opens. We arrived 10 minutes before the restaurant opened and was invited in we were given 2 glasses of Prosecco on the house while the kitchen opened. The first ones in we were given the best table (2-top) in the house. The waiter could not be more attentive, explained some items on the menu, and recommended a great bottle of Prosecco. We ordered the Tortalloni, split as an appetizer and my wife had the lamb chops and I had the Tuna. We ordered them medium, the lamb was medium and the Tuna was medium rare(I find that it is how Tuna usually comes no matter where I order it medium and I love it that way). Food was great, timing on the meal was perfect, if we come back to Bologna we are definitely coming back to is restaurant!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mifrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    176
    89
    54
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hugely disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Bologna is full of great restaurants but Pappagallo is not one of them. A sure sign was that there was not one local Bolognese in there when we went, only foreign tourists. The wait staff were insufferably snooty and the food really awful. The zucchini flowers tasted like they'd been pre-cooked some days earlier; the lamb was ordered 'medium' but was bright red at the bone; and the tortellini in brodo tasted like it had been simmering for far longer than it should have.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrissy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We did expect a a good experience it had a good reputation, which it may be living on.i didn't have a good vibe,by the way we where met by a waiter .
It carried on through the meal ,customers coming in we're sat given beverages, but nobody was receiving food. Service was painstakingly slow waiters running rugged,the dining room was short of staff by 50% and the kitchen was also short probably by more than 50%.
Some people left without food ( wait x them was 1hour & half for first dish) ours was very slow also 40m for antipasti (7 slices of cold cuts)rest of the food was poorly executed,lacking of flavour the best dish was the zabaione dessert not worth the money or time a lot of it.
By the way not many locals or Italians , just tourists were in on this night they know we're to go.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vinumest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just ok. Expected more after it's reputation and prices.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

The restaurant is beautiful inside with excellent service. The food however, is just ok. It was good but certainly not excellent. After having tried a variety of other restaurants from small trattorias to fine dining we thought that this place would be exceptional as it has been around for a very long time and was know for being the home of "haute cuisine". If you're wanting to visit it just to say you've been there, go for it, but if your looking for an outstanding food experience I might look elsewhere. Tho I will say the prosciutto wrapped scallops were excellent, but everything else left you a little underwhelmed.

Helpful?
Thank bshubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I tried for 2 hours to find this restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I infact was right beside a few times but somehow though I looked at pictures I did not see that it was a restaurant from the street.
Sorry that I missed it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pappagallo Restaurant also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Pappagallo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing