We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 14:00, 17:00 - 21:00
Save
Review Highlights
Very good cooking class

It was the highlight of our trip in Bologna. We learned a lot about the Bolognese cuisine and Luigi... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Martin V
A Delightful Evening

Luigi has a great character with a massive laugh. It was a small intimate group we had a lot of... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 1 week ago
David P
,
Dublin, Ireland
Read all 101 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Bologna
from US$194.40
More Info
from US$91.40
More Info
from US$177.00
More Info
from US$172.40
More Info
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
92
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sage butter sauce chef luigi own home dietary restrictions tiramisu from scratch tagliatelle learned how beef tips a lot of fun pasta making kitchen participants dishes apartment filling teacher
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was the highlight of our trip in Bologna. We learned a lot about the Bolognese cuisine and Luigi is a very good teacher. The perfect way to learn to make your own pasta en tortelloni at home, with a good bolognese sauce ! To recommend !

Thank Martin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chef-Luigi1, Master Chef at Bologna Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you the fantastic review Martin,

it was a great pleasure for me make this cooking class with you.

Chef Luigi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Luigi has a great character with a massive laugh. It was a small intimate group we had a lot of fun and learned a lot. Met some great people and really got a good understanding of Italian cuisine. We made 2 types of amazing pasta, a beautiful beef salad with real balsamic vinegar and a delicious tiramisu. I would recommend it to anyone and one of the more enjoyable things I did in Italy.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chef-Luigi1, Master Chef at Bologna Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you the fantastic review David,

it was a great pleasure for me make this cooking class with you.

Chef Luigi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a really great time at Luigi's cooking class, and we learnt a lot !
We were only 4 students (us and another couple) which was quite good to be able to listen and try to repeat the gestures.
The class started with a cappuccino, then we began to work on the ragu sauce (the real Bolognese one), the tiramisu, then the two types of pasta (tagliatelle and tortellini) starting from scratch, the sage and butter sauce and finally the beef and parmegiano salad. Everything was delicious.
But what was really important for us is that we had a great time (Luigi is adorable and fun), we learnt a lot (we aked many questions, about cooking and about Bologna) and we are pretty sure we will be able to do all the recipes all by ourself at home (even other ones because Luigi gave us a lot of tricks and ideas such as pumpkin tortellini or lemon or berry tiramisu).
Luigi offered us a glass of sparkling Pinot Grigio while he was cleaning the place, it was good having a little pause because cooking is tiring and the class was long (starting at 10h30 and finishing at past 15h) !
At the end we all ate together the delicious food, with a great wine from Puglia.
We would recommend to everybody to try this really great and tasty italian experience and we will do it again with other recipes if we come back to Bologna.

Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chef_Luigi1, Master Chef at Bologna Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you the fantastic review Sophie,

it was a great pleasure for me make this cooking class with you.

Chef Luigi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In our recent Family trip to Italy, this was one of the most memorable events that we did. Luigi was fantastic, inviting you into his home for a night Italian cooking, taking his time and explaining all the details of the items that we created. We would do this again.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Quest48262759451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chef_Luigi1, Master Chef at Bologna Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you the fantastic review,

it was a great pleasure for me make this cooking class with you.

Chef Luigi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Enjoyed the cooking experience a lot. Luigi is a cool dude, and most importantly a good teacher. The classes are maximum of four people so its fun and personalized. He showed us how to make tagliatelli bolognese, tortelloni with butter and sage sauce and tiramisu. He talked in detail about the ingredients, and provided the recipes after so we can recreate them at home. Luigi also gave some great recommendations for restaurants and some insights into the city of Bologna. Highly recommended as a culinary and cultural experience. Grazie mille, Luigi!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank marcm553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chef_Luigi1, Master Chef at Bologna Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you the fantastic review Marc,

it was a great pleasure for me make this cooking class with you.

Chef Luigi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had an perfect morning with Luigi , he give us a lot of secret of the bolognese cooking and the city.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank 6s_bastiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chef_Luigi1, Master Chef at Bologna Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you the fantastic review Sébastien,

it was a great pleasure for me make this cooking class with you.

Chef Luigi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I found this reasonably priced pasta making class rather minute in Italy and Luigi had two spots left. It was so much fun. We started at a local coffee shop before our short class in Luigi’s home. It was a holiday so we couldn’t go to the market but that didn’t matter one bit. Luigi was very patient and gave us a ton of great cooking tips so we could try to re make the recipes when we get home. I would definitely recommend this class to anyone with any level of cooking skill.

The menu:
- Homemade Tagliatelle with homemade ragù bolognese
- ricotta stuffed tortellini with sage butter sauce
-beef strips and arugula with balsamic butter dressing
- homemade tiramisu
- wine!

We are so glad we found this class!

Thank Samantha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chef_Luigi1, Master chef at Bologna Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you the fantastic review Samantha,

it was a great pleasure for me make this cooking class with you.

Chef Luigi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our cooking class with Luigi was a highlight of our recent visit to Bologna. In a small (5-person) class we learned to make 2 kinds of pasta and sauces. Luigi is an outstanding teacher: knowledgeable, friendly, and empowering. We can't wait to try these at home! We highly recommend his classes, which were also very reasonable, and we look forward to learning more from him on our next trip to Bologna!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Tracy02459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chef_Luigi1, Master chef at Bologna Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you the fantastic review Tracy,


it was a great pleasure for me make this cooking class with you.

Chef Luigi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I found this cooking class by googling around a little. After seeing all the incredible reviews we decided we should go for it. It was extremely well worth it. Luigi is so kind, friendly and really knows his craft. His instruction was very clear and he gave us some great tips! What I really like about his style of teaching is that I felt confident when leaving the class that I would actually be able to make this at home. He showed us how to do everything in a simple, non complicated way, which is obviously appreciate when only taking a cooking class for one night.

Anyway, the food was amazing and the company was too. Luigi is funny and very personable!

I would 100% go back (even if just to eat all the delicious food!!)

Thank Ella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chef_Luigi1, Master chef at Bologna Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you the fantastic review Ella,

it was a great pleasure for me make this cooking class with you.

Chef Luigi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I attended the 5.5 hour private cooking class with Luigi, starting with a private tour of Mercato Erbe where Luigi showed us around and purchased all of our fresh ingredients for the day.
We then had an authentic cappuccino and breakfast treat followed by a very informative guided tour back to his apartment where we started our cooking class.

We made Gnocchi in a pear and walnut sauce, Ricotta stuffed Tortelloni, Tagliatelle in a Bolognese ragu and ended with an incredibly decadent Tiramisu. Well, what an amazing day!!

Luigi is such a friendly, patient and fun chef and is an absolute professional in the art of Italian cooking!
He was extremely accommodating with us (as at first we weren't sure we wanted to do the full day (given we had done a food tour the day before)) and we asked him to make a number of things but he never once said no and we are so happy we did the full day of cooking!

He has a wealth of cooking knowledge, shared all the tips and tricks of the trade and we just had such an amazing time (spoilt even more with wine and burrata!)

This was once of the highlights of out trip and we would highly recommend to everyone to do the whole day cooking experience...you will not regret it and it's really enjoyable!

Grazie per tutti Luigi!!!

Thank W0rldTraveller84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chef_Luigi1, Master chef at Bologna Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you the fantastic review Jeremy,

it was a great pleasure for me make this cooking class with you.

Chef Luigi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews