We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in expensive Bologna”
Review of Hotel Ideale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ideale
Ranked #77 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Reviewed 24 July 2009

After reading both the good and the bad reviews of the Ideale on Venere, I decided to take a chance on it since I was in the mood to save a little money and wanted to be close to the train station. I was not disappointed and can say definitively that the bad reviews are out of date. The Ideale has been very recently renovated. It looks brand new with sparkling tile floors, fresh paint, and modern fixtures. There were even nice paintings on the walls. I opted for a room with a shared bathroom, which was very nice and immaculately clean. I seemed to be the only one using it. I don’t know how the number of stars a hotel receives is determined but this one-star was better than many of the two-star places I stayed. I had a clean, spacious room with a big bed, sink, desk and wardrobe. There was even a refrigerator in the room. My window looked out onto a quiet garden. Towels, hand towels, soap, and shampoo were provided. It is located in a residential area. There were nearby restaurants and a market with superb fruit two blocks down the street. The restaurant recommended by the guy in the hotel was really good. It took me almost exactly 10 minutes to walk to the train station. The historical center is another 10 minutes straight down Via dell’Independenza, which is not a bad walk under a portico with shops and restaurants almost the entire way. To find the hotel, take the bridge over the tracks from the train station, then take the first left. At the first real street you come to on the right you’ll see the signs that lead you right to the hotel. I was there on a hot evening in mid-July but had no trouble sleeping after asking for a fan. It’s a great value in an expensive city if you don’t mind being a little way from the center.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBM6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2005

The Albergo Ideale is the cheapest hotel we could find in Bologna. Note that some maps of the hotel location are wrong - from the station you need to turn right and right again over the railway bridge, and then it is three or four blocks away.

From the outside it looks like a block of flats, with barely enough room for a reception desk on the ground floor. The rooms are on the first floor. The room we had was extremely basic, with a basin, a small TV, and decorated all white with a disgusting green and white bedspread. The hard stone floors made the place a little cold and impersonal, and it did feel a little like a university hall of residence, but for the price, you can't really argue with a basic, cheap place to sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milh0use
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara_Fili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 303MarioC303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank davide t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
2  Thank Buongustaiodal1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fabio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bologna-Fiera
0.3 mi away
Best Western City Hotel
Best Western City Hotel
#30 of 102 in Bologna
743 reviews
0.5 mi away
Savhotel
Savhotel
#3 of 102 in Bologna
2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Elite
Grand Hotel Elite
#48 of 102 in Bologna
1,247 reviews
0.9 mi away
Metropolitan Hotel
Metropolitan Hotel
#9 of 102 in Bologna
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ideale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ideale

Address: Via Elisabetta Sirani 5, 40129 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > Navile
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Price Range: £40 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Ideale 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming and friendly the Hotel has been restored just since 1 year and it is located 300 mt from the Train Station and 15 minutes on foot from the Historical Centre of the town.All the rooms are with private bathroom and with wireless internet free. The Hotel is open 24 hours.We try to offer our guests a professional service in a family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ideale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing