We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alberta D Bed&Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 311 Bologna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I stayed at Alberta's Bed and Breakfast for a week and it was like being at home
Alberta is a wonderful hostess, very kind and always ready to share her knowledge about Bologna and Italy.
The room was simple but nice, far away from the noise of the streets nearby and the house has a previleged location, a few minutes away from the city center and near bus stops and the airport bus.
The breakfast was a feast, with lots of things and always a homemade sweet pie and Alberta's marmelades and jams.
Overall, I would recomend this B&B to all my friends and I would like to go back there sometime.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moonwiccan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2013

I recognise that the Alberta D B&B could be a lovely place to stay in Bologna. Spotlessly clean and set within a vibrant area, it has a tranquil quality. The map provided to guests thoughtfully includes a walking route which serves as a useful introduction to this proud city along with a carefully made selection of restaurants to suit all tastes, pockets and times of day.

However, the progressive absence of the owners during our four night stay undoubtedly coloured our experience. We stayed in the Red Room in mid April and while the electric heater in the bedroom took the chill off, it could not mask the underlying smell of damp. The hot shower was plentiful in the evening but lasted scant minutes in the mornings. Breakfasts at their best were beautifully presented: strawberries, wonderful jams, fresh pastries and plentiful good coffee, apart from one morning when, like the shower, it was disappointingly scant. The decor strongly reflects the tastes and interests of its owner and to a large extent my own, but attention to detail and the charm of this 'second-hand-shop' aesthetic are undermined by disjointed lamps, wobbly tables and unsittable chairs.

My conclusion is that when there, the owners are welcoming and willingly accomodating, and the B&B can be experienced at its best: as a home from home. When not there, at times one cannot help getting the impression of having been taken for a ride for 80 euros per night.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RDcitytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

The b&b contains two rooms, there is a kitchen with some basic equipment and a small fridge. The room was spacious, in a vintage style, very clean and comfortable, with en-suite bathroom. On arrival you are provided with a useful map which has the city highlights, recommended bars and restaurants on. You need four keys to get in so if you`re security conscious, it`s a perfect place for you. The bus stop is just a few metres away (bus 21 from the station), the b&b is located in the city centre but in a quiet street so you can be in and out at the same moment. There is also a small supermarket nearby.
During my week stay the window in my room was broken and it wasn`t possible to open it. It was covered from the outside by a heavy blind so there was not daylight at all. I expected a little discount for this inconvenience but that didn`t happen.
What`s more, at the moment of payment I was charged additional 7.5 euro tax which hadn`t been mentioned before, no change given.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlleePoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

A great place to stay in Bologna. Many restaurants and bars just round the corner. The owners are friendly and helpful, the room we stayed in had masses of individual charm and the breakfasts were simple but delicious.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon in Bologna. We stayed in the red room which was very comfortable. Alberta doesn't speak much English and we speak no Italian but this was not a problem and we could always make ourselves understood to each other. She is a lovely host and even gave us her son's phone number in case we had any questions or issues she couldn't answer. We met her son Francesco who was very helpful and told us the best places to go to buy tortellini in the food market which was much appreciated. The breakfast at Alberta's was absoloutely fantastic - the best of our 3 week stay in Italy! Her capuccino's were amazing! For the price, this is a great b&b - very central and comfortable.

Room Tip: The red room was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsCM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of October and really enjoyed our stay. Alberta and her son Francesco were very welcoming. The room was clean and well presented, as was the bathroom. The facilities were great. Alberta provided an excellent home-cooked breakfast every morning and Francesco in particular provided a number of recommendations for things to do and places to eat. We would be more than happy to stay here again and will recommend the B&B to all our friends. Thank you Alberta!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank james_b_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

There is an uncharacteristic quirkiness or eccentricity to the accommodations at this B&B in the very heart of Bologna. But fear not, Alberta obviously has been a collector of memorabilia and vintage fashion items; and what better place to store this collection than in the unique rooms she lets out? The unassuming street entrance to her little compound is found along one of the many sidewalks covered by loggias in Bologna. At first you'll think, "This can't be it!" because years of wear and grime on the exterior of this medieval building disguises the tranqulity just beyond. You come down a corridor, through an iron gate and into a small garden with exotic plantings. Alberta's apartment is right there and she is ready to greet you warmly. Her rooms are scattered about around tiny courtyards and gardens and she asks her guests whether they would prefer breakfast delivered to their roooms or to one of the charming outside tables. My room was very spacious and included a long corridor with windows, storage and seating areas. The ample bathroom with shower was dated but fully functional.
The real deal here is the price ($90 per night for two in a room including breakfast, the quiet from the busy streets of Bologna (you'll appreciate a good night's sleep), and most of all the hospitality of Alberta. She knows Bologna and will set you in the right direction for restaurants, jazz, transportation, and sightseeing. You get the sense she wants to help you have a good and comfortable stay. In short, she aims to please her guests and that makes all the difference in the world when travelling. Hotels are expensive in Bologna and they tend to insulate you from the everytday life of this vibrant city. Let Alberta be your ambassador and you will not miss a beat!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whidden39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Hotel Touring
#6 of 102 in Bologna
1,667 reviews
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
#9 of 102 in Bologna
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Porto
Bed & Breakfast Centrale
Bed & Breakfast Centrale
#6 of 311 in Bologna
200 reviews
Navile
Bed&Breakfast Arcobaleno
Bed&Breakfast Arcobaleno
#31 of 311 in Bologna
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alberta D Bed&Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alberta D Bed&Breakfast

Address: Via Sant'Isaia 58, 40123 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > Saragozza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 311 B&Bs / Inns in Bologna
Price Range: £69 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B&B Alberta is in a strategically position to get easily all the principal local sites, 10 minutes away from city center and in front of the direct bus to the fiera.The structure offers two double rooms, fresh in summer, warm in winter, that you can use also as singles, both furnished with double bed, electric tea-maker, tv and internet wi-fi included.All the rooms have its own bathroom with shower, hair dryer, towels and shampoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Alberta D Bed&Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing