We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfecto!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al Sangiovese

Al Sangiovese
Ranked #24 of 1,789 Restaurants in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Santo Stefano
UK
Level Contributor
255 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Perfecto!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We were recommended this restaurant by a "local" and were made very welcome on arrival. The owners Antonella and Rocco have a very good relaxed attitude which transferred to us. You can have as much or as little food as you want and can set the pace to suit.
The food is simple, fresh and delicious. The wine is also exceptional and inexpensive.
The place was full to capacity and many people were turned away so the motto is to book. The clientele was mostly local people, and regulars to boot.
We would like to be regulars ourselves but distance prevents this.
It is not in the centre but worth seeking out.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    816
    520
    105
    34
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A very pleasant evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We had a great night at this lovely restaurant. Great selection of authentic food and a substantial wine list.
Steak was perfectly cooked and pasta al dente.
I reccommend the handmade pasta with sausage for primi, it was fantastic.
The owners treat you very well and we would gladly revisit this place in the future.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sotirinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Still very good a year later”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We returned to this restaurant a year after my first review. The atmosphere and the welcome are excellent. The primi were uniformly excellent. My secondi was uninspiring although the others of the party of six were very happy. The family sangiovese wine is excellent value.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Damichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
98 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Saved what we thought was going to be our best restaurant choice till for our last night (which incidentally was also our wedding anniversary). Sadly it did not live up to our expectations or compare with some of the other lovely restaurants we had been to in Bologna. Our main courses were fairly unexciting and one of our side dishes was virtually stone cold although they did not charge us when I explained my dissatisfaction. I was informed there was only one red wine available by the glass which was dissapointing because in other restaurants we had been able to sample a variety of delicious wines without ordering seperate bottles. We didn't stay for desserts or coffee and moved on elsewhere.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BrightonEgghead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Worth a walk and a wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Just a little way up beyond the Dominican church we came upon Sangiovese. Lovely but small room, somehow tradtional but modern and that actually goes for the food too. It was lunch time so we got in but I recommend you book. The best value meal we had in Bologna.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank TJA44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al Sangiovese also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Al Sangiovese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing