We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and basic, very central”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Residence Petronio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence Petronio
Ranked #31 of 102 Speciality Lodging in Bologna
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Clean and basic, very central”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My family stayed here for nearly a week. The apartment is very central, just steps from the 2 towers. The front door opens directly onto a very busy footpath, often with beggars near the door. My wife noted it would have been better had it been off the main street. It also can get noisy. We were here in winter so kept the double glazed windows shut which kept the noise out. In summer it would be a different story. The apartment was neat and clean and furnished with the basics. The kitchenette had microwave, cooktop, dishwasher etc. It was pretty small, and would have benefitted from more storage, as there was only one closet despite the 2 bedrooms. Also the bathroom was small and there was no bath. The wifi was very good. The TV recieved no TV stations in english which was a bit frustrating. There is a washing machine and drier in the scary basement, but I couldnt get the drier to work. However the heated towel rails in the bathroom did the job. We had 1 service in our 6 days. All in all it did the job, but did not impress us.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
4
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The location of the apartment in this sympathetic town is extremely central; perfect right in the middle of the town. Everything is new, tasteful and spotless clean. It's a very comfortable apartment. If you stay for a longer period of time: remember there's no washing machine for your clothes. The staff is very helpful and welcoming. We stayed 2 couples in a 2-bedroom apartment and it was perfect for that.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grissini_4123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We stayed in Petronio Residence for 3 nights. The appartment Garisenda is two-bedroom appartment, the rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. Everything was very clean. The location is perfect, just in the middle of everything :). Antonella was very helpful. Fantastic place to stay in Bologna if you travel without car (the street is closed for traffic on week-ends).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dansi127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment for 5 nights with our two daughters, 11 & 14.

The apartment was just as shown on the website, spacious, nicely decorated, very clean and with everything we needed, including kitchen equipment. All the linen provided was crisp and clean, plenty of soap, shampoo etc in the bathroom and stylish local pictures on the walls. Everything worked and a small issue, when the safe starting beeping because its battery had run out, was quickly resolved. The building and apartment are accessed by keypad so no worrying about who takes the key.

The building is right in the very centre of the oldest part of the City. We were able to walk to everything we wanted to see and there was plenty to do for 4 full days. Even in the rain we stayed dry under the porticoes. The market was just 5 minutes away and the big stores just across the road. The twin towers are 100m away and the main square not much more. All the museums are very close and you are spoilt for choice for places to eat. The apartment looks out onto a busy, and noisy, street but with the windows closed it was very quiet and lovely to sit with them open during the day and watch the world go by. The street is closed to traffic at the weekend and becomes a very different place. We didn't here any noise from other residents.

You arrive at the apartment and let yourself in before checking in at another of the company's buildings 10 minutes away. the receptionist there was REALLY helpful and gave us lots of information about where to eat, shop etc. They also allowed us to leave our bags in the apartment on the day we left and pick them up just before our flight.

We would recommend the Petronio Residence, Bologna and Italy very highly and look forward to a return visit one day.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isonor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We recently stayed for 4 nights at Petronio Residence with two of our adult children who joined us. We had a two-bedroom apartment and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Although the apartments are on a busy street (right in the centre, where it all happens), we slept like babies : the air-conditioning system works perfectly well and is extremely silent. The kitchen is well equipped and we enjoyed going to La Vecchia Malga and buying their wonderful tortelloni. Everything is so close, it is very easy to step out for a last-thing-at-night gelato at la Funivia, going for a meal at Eataly etc. The apartment is very clean, nicely decorated and the shower was one of the best. Loved the place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roudoudou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2012

For my recent wedding in Bologna, I rented 3 apartments at Residence Petronio, for friends and relatives to stay all together. It was a wonderful experience for us all. The location could not be better, just under the two towers, symbol of Bologna. The apartments are clean, charming and nicely furnished, just as shown on the web site. The rooms are a little small and there is only one closet to share between the 2 rooms, but who cares when you are only staying for a few days. Safe available in the apartment, free wifi. Showers are good and decent size, actually pretty big for Italian standards. The staff was available to answer all our questions and very accomodating to resolve any little issue.
I would definitely stay there again and i highly recomment Residence Petronio.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We stayed at the Petronio Residence for 1 week in April and had a wonderful time. The city is beatiful and also it's very easy to take day trips to other cities like Florence and Verona. The apartment is absolutely fantastic. We are a family of four (2 teenage kids) so two separate bedrooms and kitchen facilities were a big plus. The beds are extremely comfortable and as previous reviewers have stated the flat is spotless and tastefully decorated and has all amenities you would need. As one would expect, an apartment in the city centre is going to be a bit noisy, but that's why you have a/c and heating.....to keep the windows closed. And trust me these must be triple glazed windows because when they are shut you can't really hear anything!! However, the best part of Petronio Residence is the management - exeptional!! Even though they are not on-site, Claudia and the rest of the ladies, are always available to help and translate! Huge thank you for arranging car parking at Mr Lenzini's garage - they too are wonderful people. Highly recommended and would definitely stay again when visiting Bologna.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meropi_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Santo Stefano
Albergo Garisenda
Albergo Garisenda
#58 of 104 in Bologna
128 reviews
Porto
BuonHotel
BuonHotel
#36 of 104 in Bologna
235 reviews
Art Hotel Commercianti
#7 of 104 in Bologna
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B Ai Cervi
#57 of 102 in Bologna
2 reviews
Santo Stefano
No photo provided
Altana Bologna
#168 of 283 in Bologna
7 reviews
Saragozza
Residence Adriano
Residence Adriano
#21 of 102 in Bologna
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Petronio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Petronio

Property: Residence Petronio
Address: Via Rizzoli 38, 40125 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > San Vitale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 102 Speciality Lodging in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Petronio rises from the restoration of the original Giuliani Hotel. It is located in via Rizzoli, very next to the Two Towers. It has six apartments provided with all conforts:fully equiped Kitchenette, washing machine, tumble dryer, hair dryer and LCD TV. Each apartment is enveloped in a warm and familiar atmosphere thanks to a great attention to detail and offers a fantastic view of one of the most lively streets of Bologna. The Residence will ensure an intimate surrounding in the most acient and fashionable area of the city, where historical buildings, restaurants and shops offer attractions and fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Residence Petronio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing