We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Limited range” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museo Morandi

Museo Morandi
Ranked #93 of 314 things to do in Bologna
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
703 reviews
322 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Limited range”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Located temporarily in Bologna's museum of modern art,the Morandi collection is fairly small and lacks diversity.
Morandi is an acquired taste and leaves me cold and bored.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MILOUW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    9
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

I am a big fan of Morandi and couldn't wait to see his exhibition. It is now being housed in the MamBO gallery which was quite close to my hotel so I could walk there. I loved the collection. All cool, calm and tranquil. The main collection at the MamBO was also interesting.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
643 reviews
335 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,243 helpful votes
“Not for Me!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

In an attempt to educate myself I decided to visit the Museum of Giorgio Morandi which houses most of the works by the Bolognese painter of the same name. Both the map from the tourist board and the printed information had the location in the wrong place: Piazza Maggiore #6. It’s been temporarily moved to the Museum of Modern Art (MAMbo) on Via Don Giovanni Minzoni. But really, unless you know you love Morandi, don’t bother! I found his massive number of sketching and paints altogether very boring! Picture after picture of bottles in dull colors, dull landscapes and more dullness! There was one picture of an ice cream sundae that I enjoyed...that's it! Very depressing, very little information regarding the painter in any language other than Italian and displayed in big open rooms so I couldn’t even enjoy a well curated but dull exhibition! Thankfully I didn’t pay to see this as the Museum of Modern Art is included in the Bologna Welcome pass, so it was free. The Museum of Modern Art is big, modern with open spaces and has the most number of employees standing around doing nothing except chatting amongst themselves or checking their cell phones of any museum I have ever been in…do not attempt to disturb them! You will pay 6 euros to enjoy their company! No pictures allowed, not that I wanted to take any! Nice bathrooms and lockers… the best thing I can say about my visit there!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnArborMHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The most complete Morandi collection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Small museum in the Palazzo Comunale housing a vast collection of Morandi works. If you like Morandi, take note: the collection will soon be moved into the Mambo museum so the only part missing will be the artist studio which should remain in Via Fondazza 36. You can also see his childhood home, a plain building in a lovely hilly area called Grizzana, renamed Grizzana Morandi. It is not open to the public unless you reserve a tour in advance by calling 051 6730007

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank reneebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Variations on a theme”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

The museum itself is excellent. Morandi seemed to specialise in still lifes, re-arranging and painting the same 6 bottles and jars for 40 years. Also a range of landscapes, and all in a distinctive range of muted shades. This isn't intended to sound negative, very glad we went.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank BMA3644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museo Morandi also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Museo Morandi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing