We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It wasn't bad but it wasn't good either”
Review of Suite Hotel Elite

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Suite Hotel Elite
Ranked #22 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2012

This was a modern hotel outside of the historic centre of Bologna. To get to the centre, it takes about 20-30 minutes on foot. The staff were polite but the hotel had no character. The hotel itself was very clean and had a wide range of breakfast. There is a lift which is convenient but the rooms were so tiny! Take a taxi from the train station as we walked and got lost and took about 45 minutes to get there!! It was the cheapest hotel we stayed in and the hotel is ok if you stay one or two nights.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hodgie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,929)
There are newer reviews for Suite Hotel Elite
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

428 - 434 of 1,929 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2012

I liked:

> Check-in - fast and efficient with multilingual staff
> Breakfast - lots of choice and a great cappuccino! (although very limited cooked fare..)
> The price - but you get what you pay for.
> The shower - Fantastic! great water pressure and good temperature
> The bed - comfy and got a good nights sleep.

I did not like:

> The Wifi - hit and miss, and while free was slow to unusable at times
> The "Free" parking - this is misleading, the hotel does NOT have free parking.. this means that limited public parking spaces are available if you are lucky enough to find one. The hotel parking needs to be paid for.
> The unpleasant smell in the bathroom when I arrived - although to be fair, it did seem clean and when I got back to the room, I just opened the windows to air the wc for a while and it got better.
> The staff member that entered my room without knocking - I think we both got a bit of a suprise.. a polite knock would be appreciated. He did apologise though..
> in room Tea/Coffee facilities - they were non existant..
> the safe - very small and only just fit my netbook into it..
> check-out - You have to block a lane of traffic in a very busy road and cause a jam to give the car park key back unless you find a nearby parking place.. I didnt and had to park 600 meters down the road and run back with it. surely an automated system can be installed.
> The minibar - was under stocked when i arrived (missing one bottle of water..) and if the man came to stock it when I was not in the room (yep.. same guy that just walked in..) I might have been charged for this. Also as every other minibar that I have seen... hugely overpriced.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie3Zero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I totally recomend this "hotel". The only kind of bad aspect is the position. It is a little far away from the city centre, too much to walk every day there, but the good thing is that exactly opposite the hotel there is bus stop for two buses that go directly to the city centre, and not forget to mention that the routes are very often. The hotel couldn't be better facilitated and the rooms are very spacious, huge I'd rather say! It is the best value for money that I found for visiting the city!! If I come again in Bologna, which is more likely, I would definately book here!! Thanks a lot for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Suite Hotel Elite is on the main road to Bologna city centre approx. 2 km for the very heart of the city. The bus stop is close to the hotel and has frewuent service to the centre and railway station.

The rooms vary in size (and price). We stayed in room 216, together with room part of one apartment. You enter both rooms from the apartment corridor. Both rooms with a lock (electronic system). The door the hotel corridor was always open, but can be closed and locked when the rooms are used as an apartment.

Airport can be reached by public transport. Coming from the airport a change is required, going to the airport the stop is approx. 350 m away (regular bus can be used to cover the 2 stop's distance)
Furniture, beds icluding matresses are of good quality and maintenance status.
Nice bath room with shower. Plenty of towels (clean ones every day, even if you put the used one back on the rail). Room is quiet (back side of hotel).

Hotel offes free internet in a public area with vending machines. You can iether use one of the 2 hotel computers or your own laptop (Wi-Fi).
The signal could also be picked up in room 216, but was weak there.

Breakfast is very good with real Italian coffee (espresso machine). It is a pity that fruit juice was served in plastic beakers. Not something that you expect in a 4-star hotel.

Room Tip: Room at the back side are more quiet. Front rooms (although with double glazing) are very close to a...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. We booked a suite for an extremely good price (so i can only comment about the suite) and the room was fantastic. The hotel was just 20 mins walk away from Piazza Maggiore and several buses are available in short walking distance.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Bologna.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zaytz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

The hotel is very promising from the reception but gets really sad inside (it's ten years older!) and the rooms are mini apartaments with a kitchen inside. Clean and pretty quiet. The breakfast room is much worse in real life as it's cramped and the quality and choice pretti scarce. The hotel is used a lot by people who are being cured for illnesses at the hospital on the other side of the road, and unfortunately it is not exactly a cheerful atmosphere to say the least.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdoardoJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I stayed two nights at the Suite Hotel Elite. The quality of the room was amazing, we were upgraded from the standard room we payed for, and the room we got was HUGE! King size bed, 26' flat screen, huge leather sofa, kitchen and bathroom. It was very comfortable and stylish, just he bathroom wasn't recently renovated, but it was also good.
The breakfast was included in the price and it was very good, the breakfast hours were long (which i like when i'm on holidays) and the variety was big and with good quality.
The location is very good, only 20 minutes walk to the city centre, but you are already in the city so it's a nice walk.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carla m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Grand Hotel Elite
#48 of 102 in Bologna
1,234 reviews
San Donato
Hotel Cosmopolitan Bologna
Savhotel
#3 of 102 in Bologna
2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reno
Hotel Maggiore
Hotel Maggiore
#20 of 102 in Bologna
622 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 102 in Bologna
2,472 reviews
Panorama Hotel
#29 of 102 in Bologna
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Hotel Elite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Hotel Elite

Address: Via Aurelio Saffi 40, 40131 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Price Range: £53 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Hotel Elite 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Suite Hotel is a DESIGN hotel, offering a rich international breakfast with Italian coffee . The hotel is located near the walls of the OLD TOWN 15 minutes walk from Maggiore's SQUARE/CATHEDRAL and just 10 minutes by car/bus from FAIR , STATION, and AIRPORT "Guglielmo Marconi". Nearby you can reach in just 5 minutes walk MAGGIORE HOSPITAL and the FOOTBALL-STADIUM of Bologna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Suite Hotel Elite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing