We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bologna experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Antica Residenza d'Azeglio
Ranked #2 of 312 Bologna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2012

The warm reception we received on arrival at Antica Residenza d'Azeglio continued throughout our wonderful stay. Roberto & Agostino are the most accommodating hosts who certainly went 'the extra mile' to ensure our stay was memorable. Agostino gave us personal tours around the town to ensure we located specific sights whilst Roberto ensured our home comforts were all in place. We had a huge, clean room & breakfasts were more than adequate. We have no hesitation in recommending this B&B to anyone staying planning a stay in Bologna.

Room Tip: We stayed in the red room which was very spacious & had private bathroom facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

294 - 300 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a short weekend getaway in Bologna and it was one of the best places we could ever wish for.
Rooms are huge, very clean, original and very comfortable.
The breakfast is delicious, with lots of fruits, salted and sweet croissants, cakes, juices, etc. It is served basically at any time you prefer, either in your room or in the common area.
There are always fruits, snacks, coffee and drinks available at any time of the day and a couple of bottle of wines in your room too. All of this already included in the room's fare.
The owners are simply some of the nicest people on Earth. They are always ready to help you out with good suggestions on what to visit and where to eat in the city. You can really feel that your happyness and satisfaction is their main goal during your stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fedezil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Wonderful B&B's in the old parts of Italian cities can be hard to find. As the reviews show, in Bologna this is not the case as Antica Residenza d'Azeglio is simply the best there is. From the exchange of emails during the reservation process, to our memories now 9 months later, none of the B&B's we stayed in even came close making us feel at home like Agostino and Roberto did. My wife and I learned so much about Bologna in a very short time while sitting on the couch in the living room chatting with Agostino or Roberto. Agostino always had a bottle of wine ready to greet us, and Roberto's cappuccino is heavenly. Their information of what to see, where to go, places to eat proved to be very helpful. They even gave us ideas on some other cities that we were visiting after we left Bologna.
Our room, the Blue Room, was spacious and more comfortable than any other in our travels through Italy. The large bathroom was very welcome as most in Europe are on the small side.
Your visit to Bologna will be a much more enjoyable experience if you stay at Antica Residenza d'Azeglio with Agostino and Roberto.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard-Susan-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This was our first stop on our Italy tour and it set the bar high for the rest of the places we stayed, of course it was also one of the more expensive. The location is great, we walked everywhere around the city right out the door. The rooms are big with good sized ensuites. Comfortable beds and pillows, not too busy a street at night. The breakfast was bigger than we expected, but typical with sweet and savory breads, and a bit of meat. Some fresh fruit and yogurt. Also a good cup of cappuccino to start your day, good tea selection too, which was good for my SO as he is a coffee hater.

What makes this place really stand out is the service you receive from Roberto (as many have mentioned), he does go above and beyond. He helped us with parking the first night, got us pizza when we arrived much later than expected, gave us directions, maps and tourist site tips. Not to mention the restaurant recommendations and reservations. He even met us at the train station on our way through a week later after I had left a guide book in our room. He helped us create some wonderful memories!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cleopatra999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

While this B& B is pretty far from the train station it is a short walk to excellent restaurants, gelato and the main attractions in Bologna. But Roberto is what sets it apart! He is incredibly helpful and seems to know everyone. His English is very good. Our room was large and fully equipped. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A-Pittsburgh-native
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

If you visit you must stay here. It is small but perfectly formed. Run by Agostino and Roberto, these two are totally hands on ensuring your every whim is catered for. Having many years at the top end of hospitality they have transferred this experience to their b&b. To the guest this translates as spotlessly clean, comfortable, spacious rooms , a generous breakfast sitting with other guests from around the world, fresh fruit, all beverages, and a wealth of local knowledge.

It was heavy rain throughout our stay but Agostino was so hospitable it made all the difference. He even lent my husband a coat for the duration. He recommended some great local food, and was even on hand to offer a last amaro before bed.

Everything is within easy walking distance and the many porticos do offer respite from the sun and yes from the rain too!

Every city should have a place like this, it is so much nicer to live like a local. People come back here time and again from the four corners , that has to say something. We are privileged to have been a part of it. Everything you read on here is actually true. We would return in a heartbeat, if we were guaranteed no rain of course!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

What a fantastic value in a quiet, safe setting in the historic centre of beautiful, happening Bologna! Agostino and Roberto are extremely helpful, truly warm and friendly persons who invite guests into their elegant B&B as if one were staying in their home. Needless to say that Agostino woke up at 5 o’clock in the morning to prepare coffee, call the airport taxi, carry our luggage and wish us a ‘buon viaggio’! We left wishing that time hadn't gone too quickly.
Grazie mille Agostino e Roberto - arrivederci !!!!

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
Thank MariaNicosia_Cyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Metropolitan Hotel
#8 of 102 in Bologna
1,595 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 102 in Bologna
2,308 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 102 in Bologna
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bologna Inn
#13 of 312 in Bologna
196 reviews
Santo Stefano
B&B Chez Moi
B&B Chez Moi
#10 of 312 in Bologna
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Residenza d'Azeglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Residenza d'Azeglio

Address: Via Massimo d'Azeglio 64, 40123 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 312 B&Bs / Inns in Bologna
Price Range: £84 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming bed and breakfast relais in downtown 5 minutes walking distance to Piazza Maggiore and shopping area all rooms decorated each one different color private bathroom same color of the bedroom Turquoise room quiet and with balcony Rich breakfast till late 12,00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Antica Residenza d'Azeglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Residenza d`Azeglio Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing