We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is Italy”

Antica Residenza d'Azeglio
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Antica Residenza d'Azeglio
Ranked #2 of 292 Bologna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This is Italy”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

From the first email contact to our reluctant farewell, Agostino and Roberto were the perfect hosts. As we were travelling to Cinque Terre before visiting Bologna they organised for us to leave our larger luggage with them so we could travel lighter. We caught the train down from Milan, Agostino and Roberto was there to meet us and had drinks and food ready so we could relax before moving on to Cinque Terre. On our return we were treated like long lost friends and spent the next 6 days immersed in the sights and food of Bologna. Agostino and Roberto made sure we were relaxed and had excellent advice on how to make the most of what Bologna has to offer. We often returned around lunchtime to sit on the balcony, chatting with Agostino and sharing prosciutto and melon. Agostino even cooked us a pasta dish. Roberto gave us recommendations for the best local restaurants (he is too modest to say so but that includes his own osteria!), which were tucked away in the narrow streets near the B&B. The neighbourhood has many little gelataria and pasticceria and nothing beats sitting with the locals having apertivo on a sunny Italian afternoon. Although we had been travelling for over a week, our holiday started with Agostino and Roberto.

Room Tip: Red room is spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    551
    32
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
67
397
27
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I am not a relative of either gentlemen who operate this b&b in the great city of Bologna. However, after staying with them a few days one might start thinking that way. They genuinely care about you and your experience in their city and are honored by your presence.
If it feels like home it might be because the rooms are on the second floor of an old apartment building a few minutes walk from city center. Rooms are decorated with antiques that increase the " home away from home" feeling. Beds are comfy and bathrooms updated. Air conditioning is a bit weaker than the arctic blasts Americans are accustomed to but in time the room is cool if not like a meat locker. That is important because there is ambient street noise and the windows are best left closed at night.
Breakfasts were continental and,in the late afternoon, Agostino just might spoil you with enough local wine, cheese and meat snacks until you say "uncle ".

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shoemouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

On our recent 3 night stay at Residenza d'Angelo was quite special. Agostino & Roberto lived up to their trip advisor billing as magnificent hosts during our stay. Centrally located and close to the main loop around the old town, we found their location without a hitch. On arrival , we were warmly greeted and cared for. The morning breakfast included some of the best Italian pastries we had ever tasted. In the evening, it seemed they were always doing something special with wine and cheese. They helped us with our directions to the balsamic factory in Modena and with ideas for our cooking class in Bologna. The room was large and well cooled for fantastic nights sleep after long days exploring NE Italy. They parked our car for 10 Euro/day, which seemed very reasonable. Oh, and the pasta served at every restaurant recommended was superb-the only problem was trying not to eat too much. We would love to return for another 3 night stay with these wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ago A, Proprietario at Antica Residenza d'Azeglio, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for your amazing, nice and unexpectedt review on Tripadvisor.
We cannot say enough thank you for having choosen Bologna and our Antica Residenza d Azeglio for your stay. The description of your stay with us is very detailed and we will remember our discussions for long time and we thank you for your warm relations with all other Kind Guests here, while drinking some wine before going for dinner or just expalining and talking about your trip during the day. Looking forward to welcoming you for your next trip in Italia. Warmest Wishes.
Grazie 1.000.
Agostino & Roberto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Our stay at Antica Residenza d'Angelo was like staying with family. Agostino and Roberto were such warm, friendly and helpful hosts we felt very cared for and at home . The entrance to the building is a bit disconcerting at first like the empty echoey ex monastery it is, with an old lift, but don't let that put you off staying at this delightful eccentric B&B with great lamp shades and chandeliers . The breakfast was too many sweet pastries and bread rolls but the human warmth of the hosts and and the nice other guests at the shared breakfast table, means many people return year after year . And we would too if we were going to return to Bologna, which we probably won't, as it seems quite a grim city. The B&B is walking distance to the city and you wouldn't really want to be closer. There were a few excellent restaurants nearby and recommendations and advice were forthcoming. The wifi was excellent, reliable and strong. The rooms were spacious and a little eccentric and It was good value . The street was fairly quiet tho there was a little noise a few times.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Llinderose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ago A, Proprietario at Antica Residenza d'Azeglio, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your impressions about Bologna with all TripAdvisors users.
Thank you for your nice, unexpected review. Your descripation of our property is breathless...
correct, Bologna is so charming and welcoming city ...your review could not be warmer...THANK YOU. We know you are so far and we remember very well our discussions about your travel...but never say never...we hope and wish in welcoming you again in our city of FOOD.
Agostino & Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami beach
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I cannot say enough great things about Agostino and Roberto!!! We arrived early, so Agostino parked our car, helped us to the room, and brought us some melon and parma ham. Then we opened a bottle of wine and hung out with the other guests. The room was large, the bed was comfortable, and the shower had great water pressure. Agostino recommended a great restaurant that evening and gave us recommendations for the next day. The following evening, we went to Osteria Francescana in Modena (3rd best restaurant in the world) and had a phenomenal 9 course tasting menu with the wine pairing. Driving back to Bologna proved to be a little tricky afterward, but we made it safely. We parked on the street and Roberto kept feeding the parking meter until we work up and left. Great stay from beginning to end.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkBMiamiBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

A wonderful warm welcome. My mother and I arrived mid afternoon after a rushed and stressful train ride from Milano. We were met by Agostino who immediately fed us and suggested a short walk downtown to orientate ourselves for the next days sightseeing. Perfect suggestion! Agostino and Roberto are the consummate hosts. Nothing is too much trouble. Food is always on the table. Restaurant suggestions - and bookings for you, spacious and clean rooms. Lovely windows that open right out to the street, welcoming the sounds of Bologna into your room, but not noisy as the windows are double glazed. Agostino and Roberto have created the perfect place to stay. My only regret was being unable to take them both to Firenze with us!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margie36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This was our first B&B during our 3 week stay in Italy and was one of the best! Super location with unprecedented service by Agostino & Roberto - they meet your every need. The table was always laden with something yummy to eat – coldcuts & cheese on great crusty buns, or different types of croissants. Agostino and Roberto spoil you with attentive, cheery service. So fun to chat with them and other guests. It’s like you are visiting old friends. They provide wonderful restaurant recommendations and will make your reservations. We stayed in the Red Room which was spacious and clean. There was a little balcony right off the dining & living room looking into the small courtyard. We sat there every morning during our 3 night stay where we drank our fabulous cappuccino and discussed the plans of the day ahead.

Room Tip: Red Room is very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funtripper7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Hotel Touring
#6 of 103 in Bologna
1,563 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 103 in Bologna
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
#10 of 103 in Bologna
1,400 reviews
Art Hotel Commercianti
#11 of 103 in Bologna
498 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 103 in Bologna
2,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Residenza d'Azeglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Residenza d'Azeglio

Property: Antica Residenza d'Azeglio
Address: Via Massimo d'Azeglio 64, 40123 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 292 B&Bs / Inns in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming bed and breakfast relais in downtown 5 minutes walking distance to Piazza Maggiore and shopping area all rooms decorated each one different color private bathroom same color of the bedroom Turquoise room quiet and with balcony Rich breakfast till late 12,00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Antica Residenza d'Azeglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Residenza d`Azeglio Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing