We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place ever I've stayed in Italy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of B&B ayHome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
B&B ayHome
Ranked #13 of 281 Bologna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
“The best place ever I've stayed in Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

I stayed at Marco's ayHome place for 2 nights in Bologna. I was very impressed how the owner would have a passion for his place as soon as I got there - very nice interiors for all those little details at the place! Also, Marco was very nice, kind and very helpful as well. The big double sized bed in my room was very comfortable to sleep and little balcony was very nice to sit down and chill out to read books. The self service breakfast was good. Very clean place ever seen while I am traveling the italy more than a month so far. It's like very nice hotel even though it is B&B place! If I go and visit Bologna again, I will def stay there again!

Room Tip: Any room in this B&B would be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Su Jeong C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    32
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
53
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Me and my friends had a lovely stay in the B&B - The owner, Marco was very friendly and considerate although we didn't arrive on time. The hostel is very clean, the rooms spacious and very classy. Marco also provided us with informations about the city and with a great map plus his very own recommendation of restaurants and cafes in the city ( only a 10 minute walk away from the b&b). We really enjoyed our time here and he's doing a great job running this B&B!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeSim1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Marco was very kind and welcoming. We stayed in a family room, which was spacious, clean and tastefully decorated. Marco provided us with a map and some of his recommendations of restaurants and sights, it proved very useful. We enjoyed his artistic home and the immediate area around it was a quiet residential area. Breakfast was Italian style: cake and croissant, juice and coffee. Shared bathrooms weren't a problem. We would return and hope to see Marco again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Loops1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

we spend a really nice time in B&B ayHome.
the hostel is really nice, with a nice decoration.
marco, the owner, is an artist and take a really good care of his place and think at all details.
i really loved the homemade map with information and nice restaurants.

in the morning, you have a self service breakfast.

the place is really cleanin and the room is as nice as in a good hotel.

i recommend t

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

It has been a while since my husband and I stayed here during our whirlwind trip to Italy, but I still remember how wonderful Marco was! We forgot our backpack on a train, and upon our realization that our camera and other valuables were inside, we arrived at the B&B and frantically asked Marco for help. He immediately got on the phone and made tons of phone calls and arranged for the train security to hold onto our bag at the next train stop. He was so wonderful and kind to us, and I will always be grateful to him for saving our trip! Our room was lovely and clean, and very stylish. Would definitely recommend this adorable place to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shellzana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

I lived in Bologna for a year during college and I chose ayHome because it is very near the apartment where I lived (and my favorite restaurant, Al Sangiovese). I had a fantastic experience here. Marco, the owner of the B&B, was extremely nice and eager to help. The rooms are clean and beautiful-- you can definitely tell Marco is an artist. The bathroom is shared but I only had to wait for it once, and it was always clean (and there is actually a second bathroom with a toilet so I only had to wait for the shower once). It is only a 10-minute max walk to Piazza Maggiore. The value was extremely good and I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
186 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

The host was simply wonderful. The room was fresh with plenty of space. The shared bathroom was always clean and large in size. I was lucky enough to have a private balcony. Plus my dog Nefertiny was welcomed.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
#10 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Touring
Hotel Touring
#5 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
0.6 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#35 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Metropolitan Hotel
Metropolitan Hotel
#6 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aemilia Hotel
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,270 reviews
1.1 mi away
AB Suite Innovative Design B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B ayHome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B ayHome

Property: B&B ayHome
Address: Via Savenella 2 | Second Floor, 40124 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > Santo Stefano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 281 B&Bs / Inns in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B&B "ayHome" is located in Porta San Mamolo district, in a very quiet, affluent neighborohood and really close to the luxury Cavour Gallery and Saint Domenico's Church, where lays the famous work of Nicola Pisano: "The Ark".Walking down though the beautiful arched galleries in only 5 minutes you can reach S. Petronio Church (Bologna's patron saint), then, crossing Piazza Maggiore and walking along Via Rizzoli you can admire the "two towers", symbol of the city. - From the Train Station "Bologna Centrale": 15 minutes by bus - From The Airport "Guglielmo Marconi": 50 minutes by bus - From The Fair "Bologna Fiere": 35 minutes by bus ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your B&B ayHome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing