We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Restaurant in the whole of Italy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trattoria Da Romano

Trattoria Da Romano
Ranked #325 of 1,789 Restaurants in Bologna
Price range: US$28 - US$48
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best Restaurant in the whole of Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Visited this restaurant on our last evening in Bologna and so wished we had found it before then. This simply is by far the best restaurant in Italy. we are seasoned travellers and have found many places with high standard food etc but Da Romano beats them all. On entering a beautiful dining room, we found everything sparkling clean, wonderful ambience, great staff and, oh, my, the food! So mouth-watering and cooked to perfection. It's a shame it is just a bit away from the rail and bus station because if it was noticeable from that area, you wouldn't get a booking for love or money. Do find the Da Romano - it is just fantastico!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katerina66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    106
    50
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good stop close to station”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Having turned in our rental car we were looking for a lunch spot before our train to Florence. This proved perfect; nice service, good food and a block from the station.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank April-pixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, England
Level Contributor
108 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“delightful find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

because of its location, you would be unlikely to stumble upon this lovely restaurant because it is a little away from the beaten track, yet really close to the railway station. thanks to trip advisor we visited this restaurant and did not regret it - its clearly a well run and friendly establishment - obviously run by dedicated family members who know about good food without gimmicks. The decor is very welcoming and can highly recommend.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank cag65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
248 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Treated Like Family, While Having a Family Reunion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

We chose the Trattoria Da Romano, due to the location near the Stazzione Centrale, and the reviews. We met family that came in from 20k away and parking was a cinch for them as well. The restaurant took our reservations months in advance, and had everything ready of us, we were a party of 12, so this was appreciated. Some in our party are vegetarians (including me) and the restaurant took care of us. Each of the courses came out just in perfect time. The food was spectacular, I recommend for the primo course, that you have the pumpkin filled tortelini, amazing. Wonderful atmosphere, wonderful service, and incredible food.

Thank You Trattoria Da Romano, I will be back next time I am in Bologna

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
130 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Old school favourite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

On second trip to Bologna decided to try this restaurant from the good reviews and was not dissapointed...Has a certain old quaint feel/look to it but then again it is a traditional restaurant!Had Antipasti to start followed by Mixed grill (inc were pork,chicken,steak,sasuage etc;)with roast potatoes.My wife had pasta wit meat which was delicious.Tiramisu for desert which was homemade and boozy.washed down with nice bottle of white...damage 54euro so no complaints about that..Will defo return again...Enjoy

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IRISHYIDDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Da Romano also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Trattoria Da Romano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing