We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food and very classy decor”

Ristorante Donatello
Ranked #31 of 1,835 Restaurants in Bologna
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Very popular
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and very classy decor”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Very beautiful and classy restaurant, with a lot of history and the decor to show it. The dishes are mainly Bolognese cuisine in the best tradition, I suggest you to try the 3 first courses set which includes tortellini, lasagna and THE REAL Bolognese pasta, tagliatelle (flat home-made noodles) ragù (Italian name for Bolognese meat sauce). Please DON'T ask for spaghetti Bolognese - actually a dish that does NOT exist in Italian cuisine - but eat some real tagliatelle and you won't regret it. The wine is gorgeous too, just ask the waiter if you're not sure what to choose; they'll make sure you get what you want (and even more).

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank simona_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,931 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,100
    595
    142
    55
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hellertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
118 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food and service...too many tourists”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My wife and I had dinner here on our first night in Bologna. We at first decided to sit inside as the sidewalk was a bit busy. That was until the tour bus pulled up full of people for dinner. We then asked to be moved outside away from the crowd.

The service was very good and the food excellent. Not my best meal in Italy but definately worth being called a very good restaurant. If you are looking for a good restaurant in Bologna, this is definately a safe bet. I would visit again should I ever get the chance.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Italian food in a nicely decorated restaurant”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

With a decoration giving away its old position as a restaurant in the city, the staff and the food do not let you down. I advise you to go for the more unfamiliar dishes if you're into experiencing different kinds of Italian food (at least from the ones I find back at home). With antipasto, main course and dessert, expect to pay around 35-40€.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crazyfacka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Called late in the evening and the restaurant was very busy. We were seated at a recently cleared table. I was served a warm bottle of beer, my partner a delicious glass of red wine and no napkins appeared. Got the distinct impression the staff were doing you a favour by letting you eat in the premises,I ordered a steak with sauce cooked in rosemary and my partner went for the bolognese. Our food arrived and my steak although a perfectly fine piece of meat had neither sauce nor any hint of Rosemary and was accompanied by some classy packet chips. The bolognese was passable. The restaurant looks the part but there really is much better out there.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Agueroooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Leave this for the Tourists”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This restaurant is okay, not great, not bad. The food is good, not great. The service is friendly and speedy, the room is really nice. However it seems very "old school" and past its prime.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RalphGleason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Donatello also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Ristorante Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing