We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Embarrassment!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Stanze del Carro
Ranked #47 of 283 Bologna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
PACIFIC PALISADES
1 review
“An Embarrassment!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

The Hotel was very nice. The location was excellent. The room was very clean. The staff were quite friendly. The only problem was the private bathroom near my room. I went to the Bathroom around midnight, and a "she" was using my toilet. I walked in on her and it caused some embarrassment!!!! (as you might imagine) me being a "he"

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LUXY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nosadillo, Responsabile reception at Le Stanze del Carro, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thank you for the comments.
When we do check in, we always explain where bathrooms for each room are located. There is only one room we have with private external bathroom. It is written that it is private and reserved for that room. Possibly other guest had mistaken and probably had not read in the dark at midnight that the bathroom is private. We apologize for this mistake and for the inconvinience it caused for you.

We try to lock that bathroom that only guests who has keys from the proper room can use it.

Thank you again for your comments and attention. Critic is always a progress!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    38
    19
    8
    4
See reviews for
15
51
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sliema, Malta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

First of all, it is value for money. Apart from that, you will meet friendly people and worm atmosphere. It is the best location and I love these rooms as well.

Room Tip: You can book any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelinaSilina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nosadillo, Manager at Le Stanze del Carro, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Thank you for sharing with us your feedback. It is always important for us to know it.
It was a big pleasure for us to host you!:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

My husband & I stayed in the Marco Polo suite on Oct. 18th & 19th,.. it was a lovely room w/ good space compared to most little inns.. the front door is a bit surprising, covered in graffitti and makes you wonder what kind of place you booked,..but once it opens into a nice cozy courtyard area you are relieved and when you enter Le Stanze del Carro, it feels quite homey and you are greeted by the two young girls in the little kitchen area who are more than sweet and helpful. The walls are a bit thin, and located right in between the office & breakfast area, but any seasoned traveler in Europe knows what to expect in a reasonable priced spacious hotel like this one. ps. I think I left my eye cover there as well... hope that was all!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinto-seco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nosadillo, Manager at Le Stanze del Carro, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Thank you for the review. Your feedback made me a little smile. It is such an exact and truly descriptions, honest and sweet. Two young girls hope to see again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

This B&B is wonderful and quaint and right in the middle of Bologna!! Breakfast was served outside on a beautiful inner courtyard area and the staff was so wonderful. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone and intend on staying there again when I return to Bologna

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chawksf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nosadillo, Manager at Le Stanze del Carro, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Thank you for sharing your opinion with other travelers. We really appreciate your great feedback. You are always welcome at Le Stanze del Carro!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

Our stay here was Ok but not outstanding. It is in a really central (but not noisy) location in a medieval quarter very near the Piazza Maggiore and the rest of the beautiful and lively centre of Bologna. There is a very good choice of restaurants nearby. It is clean, the breakfast is good and the young woman who looks after the property (who is not the owner) is very friendly and helpful. I guess for us the shine was taken off by a lack of attention to detail: there were no towels in our room, when we asked we were provided with what amounted to large tea-towels; the beds are very low and not particularly comfortable; the 'private' bathroom is down a corridor past the breakfast room, and on one occasion we returned to find the owner was allowing a crowd of people attending an event downstairs to use it; and had removed all the seating from the roof terrace for the same event. All of this could be sorted very easily, and then one could rate the property much more highly.

Room Tip: Check the bathroom is en suite, or at least adjacent and genuinely private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandRCrystalPalace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nosadillo, Manager at Le Stanze del Carro, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
We appreciate your feedback. It is really important for us to know your opinion and to share it with others.
We apologize for the inconveniences we created having the event downstairs on the shop. It was the first time when the owner had those kinds of design presentations. She had not had such an experience before. That's why she was not attentive enough and took the cheers and opened a bathroom for others. Frankly, she was a bit nervous and not attentive at that moment. She really apologizes. We believe it will never happen again.

We have bought new comfortable beds.
We hope to see you again. There are still many places you have not explored yet in Bologna!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

Stayed in the suite for 2 nights, sampling the delights of Bologna.

The hosts are very helpful and provided us with a lot of local knowledge on arrival. The central location of the Guest House was fantastic as everything in the city is on your door step, including some great bars and restaurants. The university area is just to the north east, whilst the main square, Piazza Maggiore is just 5 mins walk away. Whilst the guest house was in the centre of the city, it was quite overnight, even on a public holiday!

The room was clean and well presented with lovely antique furtniture. The breakfast was simple, tasty and plentiful and the use of the kettle for drinks during the day was very useful. Free wifi was great for helping us plan our days out.

The only minor downside is that the suite is not completely self-contained. The bathroom is accessed down a private corridor, however only stable doors seperate this from the rest of the property and it would be better/more secluded if it was a full height door.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluedodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nosadillo, Responsabile reception at Le Stanze del Carro, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. We apologize to reply you so late.

We are so happy that you enjoyed architectural sightseeing, gastronomical specialties of Bologna and staying at Le Stanze del Carro.

Right a little while after your stay we made curtains on the door to the corridor of the suite. And now the corridor is completely private.

Thank you again for your time and advices! We appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Santo Stefano
Albergo Garisenda
Albergo Garisenda
#58 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Panorama Hotel
#34 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Albergo Centrale
#23 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Vitale
Residenza San Martino
Residenza San Martino
#29 of 283 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Central Avenue B&B
#27 of 283 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Saragozza
Dada BB
Dada BB
#84 of 283 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Stanze del Carro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Stanze del Carro

Property: Le Stanze del Carro
Address: Via del Carro 11, 40126 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > San Vitale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 283 B&Bs / Inns in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Le Stanze del Carro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Stanze del Carro is an elegant guest house in Bologna. It is located in the heart of the medieval center of Bologna, from where you can easily reach the highlights of Bologna by foot. Being a small guesthouse it offers us, Catherine, Olga and Francesca, a special opportunity: we can take good care of each and every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and Agoda so you can book your Le Stanze del Carro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing