We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last stop of our honeymoon city break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Bologna Centro
Ranked #51 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Last stop of our honeymoon city break”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

We thought that this was a Nice hotel a little over priced though as are most of the hotels in bolonga
good location accross from train station the hotel had pleasant staff late check out handy if waiting on late flights

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrandmrsrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    877
    550
    171
    89
See reviews for
209
780
225
541
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This hotel is directly across the street from the trsin station and in the center of Bologna. The rooms are nice. The staff is very friendly, professional and helpful. They have a good breakfast with bacon, eggs, pastries, etc. The room rate was very reasonable. I definitely recommend Mercure Bologna Centro.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
587 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Hotels near the railway stations are rarely spectacular, and so is this Mercure just opposite the main railway station in Bologna. My stay began with an incredible queue for check-in: I had 14 people in front of me, and there were only two people behind the desk. Not fantastic, as I had pre-booked my room. Perhaps a delayed train had just arrived. Then there is no restaurant (even if the bar can serve you some decent food, but they won't tell you at the check-in). Breakfast was sad and tired. The room was good (on the internal courtyard), but I won't keep a nice memory of it.

Room Tip: definitely on the internal courtyard, otherwise you are on a main road full of traffic at all times
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Very good location, in front of the central station, close to shops, city center and restaurants. Room is a little bit small and bed/pillow not very comfortable, but for 1 night it was good for the amount paid.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Fernando S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
185 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I lived & worked in Bologna for a year, and stayed at many of the hotels in this area. This was the first time at the Mercure, and it was an uninspiring visit. Other reviewers have already commented on the small rooms with day-glo curtains that don't cut out the light. I was more concerned that the front-desk administration was anything BUT customer-focused. I checked in to find my credit card had already been billed; when I asked for this to be credited so that I could use a €-based card, this provoked plenty of eye-rolling. Opening a tab for breakfast/bar/extras was rather strange - the breakfast room staff keep asking you to pay cash, despite this being in place - and I never got to order a drink as the bar remained unmanned for 10 minutes one evening when I was trying, so I went out instead. These episodes should be a 15 minute Hotel management 'fix' - but having stayed at plenty of Accor-Group properties, I was surprised and disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Col777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in front of the train station, so its easy If you are taking a train or taking the bus to the airport. The main sites are just a few minutes away walking.
The check in/check out was quick and painless.
I stayed in a tiny single room (648) and it was in the back of the hotel so not facing the main road.
The walls are made of paper as I could hear people on the other room taking a shower, coughing, watching TV and so on...
There is free Wi-Fi which was good when it worked but I kept losing the signal in my room (both on my phone and tablet - different makers and OS) but the signal was ok in the lobby.
There was no kettle for coffee or tea... And breakfast it cost €12 (a coffee and a pastry in the many coffee places around it would cost €3 or so...)
If u need to be near the station its ok but there's nothing especial about this place.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank decosp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Excellent location across from train and bus terme. This hotel caters to business travelers so all the amenities of a
4 star hotel are available and you will most likely meet people who speak fluent english.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Starhotels Excelsior
#23 of 103 in Bologna
1,601 reviews
NH Bologna De La Gare
#40 of 103 in Bologna
1,509 reviews
UNA Hotel Bologna
#25 of 103 in Bologna
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Porto
Millennhotel
Millennhotel
#65 of 103 in Bologna
699 reviews
Hotel Il Guercino
#30 of 103 in Bologna
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bologna Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bologna Centro

Property: Mercure Bologna Centro
Address: Viale Pietro Pietramellara 59, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bologna Centro 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Bologna Centro boasts a strategic location opposite the train station, just 1.9 Miles (3 km) from the exhibition center and at the gateway to the historic center, making it ideal for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel has 244 rooms with all the modern comforts, 5 naturally-lit modular meeting rooms and a private park spanning 53,820 sq. Ft. (5000 M²). Free WIFI throughout the hotel. Private car park with direct access to the hotel. Small sized pets allowded with daily supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Bologna Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Bologna Centro Hotel Bologna
Accor Bologna Centro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing