We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best hotel in Italy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"
Ranked #1 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2011

This hotel is THE place to be in Bologna. For me, it's simply the best hotel in Italy!

The historic building is beautiful, but that's not all. Accommodations, service, cuisine, facilities: everything is perfect. Everything is done, and so well done, for the comfort of the client.

What I preferred above all was the way in which I was welcomed. All the employees were so nice and helpful, it was as if I were a regular client.

Want to live a wonderful sojourn? Then go and choose the Grand Hotel Majestic gia' Baglioni in Bologna. You'll never forget it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyriamAmara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

747 - 753 of 1,235 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2011

We very much enjoyed our 3nights here. The bell and front desk staffs were friendly, knowledgeable and very, very helpful. Our room was beautiful, with excellent lighting, skillfully designed bathroom and, with 100 degree temperatures outside, perfect air conditioning. On top of that, the location is perfect for sightseeing.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hen-nyTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

From the moment we arrived and were greeted by the helpful, efficient and friendly door staff, it seemed that this was going to be a splendid place to stay and, indeed, it was. The staff are very professional and courteous; the rooms are delightful, with lovely, big en suite bathrooms and very comfortable beds, with real linen sheets that are changed daily. The buffet breakfast is comprehensive and there's a nice little courtyard area if you wish to eat outside. The restaurant serves classic Italian dishes with a modern twist and the service is impeccable. There is also a nice lounge bar area, perfect for a pre-dinner gin and tonic. The hotel itself is extremely conveniently situated in the heart of the city and within easy walking distance of all the sights, galleries, etc. There are also some lovely restaurants nearby, such as the very popular 'Diana' and the excellent, intimate, 'Franco Rossi,' where we went for dinner three times during our stay. Bologna itself is a wonderful city and I can think of no better place to stay whilst visiting than the Grand Hotel Majestic.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShandyJ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

I stay in this hotel for one night,from the moment I arrived there the bellboy service is very helpful with my luggage and they do check in smoothly so I can rest and enjoy my room..the room it self is so nice....
breakfast room is also fine but it will be even better if they have more choices for buffet breakfast...
overall i would recommend this hotel for your stay at Bologna

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariop79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Our first impression of this fine establishment was with the extremely proffessional reception staff that really impressed us when we were planning our wedding and wanted to find a potential option for our guests. That pleasant experience grew into curiosity since many of our friends who opted to stay here, seemed very pleased with their stay at the hotel thus we decided to stay here as well after the wedding.
The hotel itself is located almost perfectly in Bologna, in the direct vicinity of most of Bologna's many sights and excellent restaurants. The building, as many others in Bologna, is a beautiful palace that seemingly breaths of historic patrons throughout the years. The staff, as allready mentioned, were both kind and proffessional despite us arriving on bicycles with no luggage whatsoever but that is what one would expect at a hotel of this standard. We were graciously upgraded to a junior suite and what a suite it was. A large balcony with a nice view of the main street and square of Bologna. The room itself large and with some very impressive details and features, the bathroom larger than what one would normally associate with a bathroom, beautifully designed and very well thought through. Italian internal decoration at its finest.
Very comfortable bed, spacious wardrobe and a dedicated work area for those whose travel isn't just about relaxing. Breakfast was also a pleasant gastronomic experience, but perhaps nothing truly noteworthy. I had expected something more elaborated from a five star hotel, but let's keep in mind that this is Italy after all. Breakfast isn't something most Italians would think much of.
One minor flaw was that I actually found some bread crumbs underneath the fruit plate in our room, apart from that the cleanliness was impeccable.
However, our memories of Baglioni shall remain with us forever and we'll happily be reminded of them whenever we walk by the Grand Hotel Majestic Gia Baglioni.

Room Tip: It is often possible to e-mail the hotel in order to get a great offer during low season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidSTHLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Nearly all websites claim that there is disabled access which is totally untrue.There are 10 steep steps to access hotel foyer,which is obviously impossible if ,like me,you are in a wheelchair.Had I been told truth I would have avoided like the plague.
Holiday totally ruined.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GasgowRonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salesghmajestic, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2011

Dear Family Joyce,
Referring to your stay spent with us in June, for which we thank you, we are really, really sorry for your disappointing comment about the ‘false’ accommodation that we proposed you.
We’d like to inform your that we had never confirmed that we were able to offer disabled access, moreover in our website we never mention the possibility to use this kind and special access.
In any case we have made all our possible efforts to satisfy and to help you with the wheelchair, giving assistance with our staff, offering you our different rooms that you have chosen at your arrival.
Please don’t think that we can propose our hotel giving false information to the guests, for which we always pay our best attention to their needs.
Hoping not to have totally ruined your vacation we are at your disposal for any clarifications you need.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

This hotel is conveniently located just a short distance from major sites. It is on a busy street but we had no problems with noise. The room was very nice with great linen sheets. The lobby was bright and inviting. The breakfast area was in the basement but had a courtyard. The buffet was very good.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank slhokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 102 in Bologna
895 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#8 of 102 in Bologna
1,542 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 102 in Bologna
2,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Savhotel
#3 of 102 in Bologna
2,219 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#23 of 102 in Bologna
1,454 reviews
San Vitale
Il Canale Hotel
Il Canale Hotel
#5 of 102 in Bologna
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"

Address: Via dell'Indipendenza, 8, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#1 Business Hotel in Bologna
#1 Spa Hotel in Bologna
#4 Family Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: £254 - £635 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni" 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni", the oldest and most prestigious hotel in Bologna, sits in the heart of the city on Via dell’Indipendenza, within walking distance of Piazza Maggiore and the famous Due Torri. This superb five-star deluxe hotel is situated in a Palazzo designed by architect Alfonso Torregiani during the first half of the 18th century and built by order of Cardinal Prospero Lambertini, who later became Pope. The palazzo is in fact, built on top of an ancient Roman road, part of which can be seen within the hotel. The 109 rooms have a mix of antique furniture with modern amenities, a perfect blend of classic Italian style, elegance and hospitality. The 4th floor refurbishment has enriched the hotel with a new range of Junior Suites and Deluxe Room. The style in this case is classic eighteen century classical French. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bologna
Grand Hotel Baglioni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing