We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Bologna Airport(Bologna)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Maggiore(Bologna)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
I Portici Hotel(Bologna)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Il Canale Hotel(Bologna)(Great Value!)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$251
US$226
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$187
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$147
US$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$177
US$164
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Bologna-Fiera(Bologna)(Great Value!)
US$73
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arcoveggio Hotel(Bologna)(Great Value!)
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,338)
Filter reviews
1,338 results
Traveller rating
1,021
240
49
17
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,021
240
49
17
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslinen sheetsroman roadleading hotels of the worldantique furniturefive star hotelthis wonderful hotelclassic hotelpublic areas arepiazza maggiorewalk in closetupgraded to a junior suiteperfect locationa wonderful staybeautiful roomthe heart of the cityhotel restaurantbreakfast buffet is
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
651 - 656 of 1,338 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Chose hotel through Citalia who included flights and transfers which all went smoothly.
Hotel staff were excellent from start to finish and all could speak some English if required. We were made to feel very welcome throughout our stay of four nights. Although the building is palatial, the atmosphere was warm and one could almost say cosy. We received a complimentary room upgrade to a level of luxury never experienced before. Location great, central to main sites of interest including shops and restaurants. Our room was in the front over looking the main road, pedestrianised at weekends, but was very quiet.
Lunch was taken in the hotel restaurant on the day of our arrival, a last minute decision, we chose pasta dishes plus a mixed salad and a glass or two of wine. What an experience, beautiful surroundings, service impeccable and to see the salad being dressed at our table, a work of art in itself and it tasted superb. We vowed to return but alas never did.
We enjoyed simple afternoon tea, with homemade biscuits, served wherever, we chose the lounge area, again presentation was first class.
Breakfast was varied to cater for all tastes, very enjoyable.
All in all a 5 star establishment which delivered to expectation and I include the bar!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank forester696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The hotel is in a great location - in the middle of the old town - but the hotel is hard to find. Beautiful lobby - great breakfast - rooms nice. Very helpful staff. Great place to begin a walking tour of Bologna. Bar lacked atmosphere - no music.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenChiasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

It's expensive, but worth it. Location is great, service is just about perfect. The bar is quiet and relaxing. How many chances do you have to stay in a well-preserved palazzo, with every modern convenience? While there, a MAJOR celebrity was there with her entourage. I can't imagine that she was treated any more wonderfully than we were.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank europhilejae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This is a beautiful hotel located near everything. We were upgraded to a Jr. suite that was just beautiful on the fourth floor with a balcony. The bathrooms are huge and well equipped. There is a little alcove with a desk which is a quiet place to work. The beds are covered with fantastic linen sheets. My only complaint is the noise from tHe street if you have the doors open to the balcony. We like to sleep with the windows open to get fresh air and the traffic is all night long. THe buses are extremely noisy. The breakfast buffet is very good with great caffe. Many hotels are using expresso machines that are pods now but they use the real expresso machines. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at this property on a business trip to Bologna. The hotel is in a great location in central Bologna within walking distance to the main piazza and numerous great restaurants and shops. Our room was nicely furnished and very clean. I did not have time to use the spa, pool, or gym on this trip but made up for my exercise by taking several long walks around town and enjoying the local flare. I had to make a mental note of the hotels entrance because it is very easy to walk right past the modest signage at the front door.

We did not eat at the restaurant except for the daily breakfast buffet which is included with your stay. The breakfast was quite good with a good selection of pastries, cereals, cold cuts, cheeses, egg dishes, and beverages. The food selection is the same every morning.

My only negative concern was the hotel puts their room keys on giant, heavy key rings and encourages guests to leave the key at the front desk when leaving the property. That seemed okay except the front desk staff does not ask for any identification when requesting to pick up the key upon return. All of the room keys have the room number on them and are kept in plain sight to anyone standing at the front desk. I just removed the key from the heavy key ring and left that in the room for the duration of our stay.

Overall we had a great stay. The hotel is very elegantly appointed and displays some nice artwork throughout the property.

Room Tip: Request a room that doesn't overlook the street (Via Indipendenza) as it is a very busy street with a lot of foot traffic. We were awakened by some loud people returning home from an evening at the piazza.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B0OGIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews