We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, terrific room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"
Ranked #1 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Palo Alto
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, terrific room”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The elegant lobby and welcoming reception staff pleased us immediately. Our room is lovely, with terrific amenities and even a balcony/terrace facing St. Peter's church across the street. The location is convenient and lots of excellent dining options nearby. Terrific breakfast included with the room.......great start to the day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAPoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    899
    214
    41
    11
    10
See reviews for
147
548
59
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Bologna was a one night stop on my recent trip to Italy....what a great surprise. The city is beautiful, very chic northern Italia style, famous brands shops incrusted in old constructions. Very young and energetic city at the same time due to lots of university students all over the place. The Hotel was fantastic. Top service, a few meters from the main piazza, the decoration was absurd. Crystal chandeliers dated from the 17 th century all over the place, wood and marble in furniture and walls. Front desk, fantastic, fast , cordial and a concierge excellent with tips for antique shops that we were looking for. Only point is that the windows for front rooms should have a better noise reduction. Must stay in this Hotel and must go to Bologna, we will be back.

Room Tip: Front rooms might have some noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Chose hotel through Citalia who included flights and transfers which all went smoothly.
Hotel staff were excellent from start to finish and all could speak some English if required. We were made to feel very welcome throughout our stay of four nights. Although the building is palatial, the atmosphere was warm and one could almost say cosy. We received a complimentary room upgrade to a level of luxury never experienced before. Location great, central to main sites of interest including shops and restaurants. Our room was in the front over looking the main road, pedestrianised at weekends, but was very quiet.
Lunch was taken in the hotel restaurant on the day of our arrival, a last minute decision, we chose pasta dishes plus a mixed salad and a glass or two of wine. What an experience, beautiful surroundings, service impeccable and to see the salad being dressed at our table, a work of art in itself and it tasted superb. We vowed to return but alas never did.
We enjoyed simple afternoon tea, with homemade biscuits, served wherever, we chose the lounge area, again presentation was first class.
Breakfast was varied to cater for all tastes, very enjoyable.
All in all a 5 star establishment which delivered to expectation and I include the bar!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank forester696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The hotel is in a great location - in the middle of the old town - but the hotel is hard to find. Beautiful lobby - great breakfast - rooms nice. Very helpful staff. Great place to begin a walking tour of Bologna. Bar lacked atmosphere - no music.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenChiasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
near Boston
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

It's expensive, but worth it. Location is great, service is just about perfect. The bar is quiet and relaxing. How many chances do you have to stay in a well-preserved palazzo, with every modern convenience? While there, a MAJOR celebrity was there with her entourage. I can't imagine that she was treated any more wonderfully than we were.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank europhilejae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, CA
Level 6 Contributor
385 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This is a beautiful hotel located near everything. We were upgraded to a Jr. suite that was just beautiful on the fourth floor with a balcony. The bathrooms are huge and well equipped. There is a little alcove with a desk which is a quiet place to work. The beds are covered with fantastic linen sheets. My only complaint is the noise from tHe street if you have the doors open to the balcony. We like to sleep with the windows open to get fresh air and the traffic is all night long. THe buses are extremely noisy. The breakfast buffet is very good with great caffe. Many hotels are using expresso machines that are pods now but they use the real expresso machines. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at this property on a business trip to Bologna. The hotel is in a great location in central Bologna within walking distance to the main piazza and numerous great restaurants and shops. Our room was nicely furnished and very clean. I did not have time to use the spa, pool, or gym on this trip but made up for my exercise by taking several long walks around town and enjoying the local flare. I had to make a mental note of the hotels entrance because it is very easy to walk right past the modest signage at the front door.

We did not eat at the restaurant except for the daily breakfast buffet which is included with your stay. The breakfast was quite good with a good selection of pastries, cereals, cold cuts, cheeses, egg dishes, and beverages. The food selection is the same every morning.

My only negative concern was the hotel puts their room keys on giant, heavy key rings and encourages guests to leave the key at the front desk when leaving the property. That seemed okay except the front desk staff does not ask for any identification when requesting to pick up the key upon return. All of the room keys have the room number on them and are kept in plain sight to anyone standing at the front desk. I just removed the key from the heavy key ring and left that in the room for the duration of our stay.

Overall we had a great stay. The hotel is very elegantly appointed and displays some nice artwork throughout the property.

Room Tip: Request a room that doesn't overlook the street (Via Indipendenza) as it is a very busy street w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B0OGIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 103 in Bologna
857 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 103 in Bologna
2,405 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#7 of 103 in Bologna
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Savhotel
#3 of 103 in Bologna
2,168 reviews
Art Hotel Commercianti
#11 of 103 in Bologna
497 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#23 of 103 in Bologna
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"

Property: Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"
Address: Via dell'Indipendenza, 8, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#1 Business Hotel in Bologna
#1 Spa Hotel in Bologna
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#4 Family Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni" 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni", the oldest and most prestigious hotel in Bologna, sits in the heart of the city on Via dell’Indipendenza, within walking distance of Piazza Maggiore and the famous Due Torri. This superb five-star deluxe hotel is situated in a Palazzo designed by architect Alfonso Torregiani during the first half of the 18th century and built by order of Cardinal Prospero Lambertini, who later became Pope. The palazzo is in fact, built on top of an ancient Roman road, part of which can be seen within the hotel. The 109 rooms have a mix of antique furniture with modern amenities, a perfect blend of classic Italian style, elegance and hospitality. The 4th floor refurbishment has enriched the hotel with a new range of Junior Suites and Deluxe Room. The style in this case is classic eighteen century classical French. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bologna
Grand Hotel Baglioni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing