We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe , secure top notch ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"
Ranked #1 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Safe , secure top notch ”
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We booked the hotel from Canada. Not knowing what to expect it has been one of the best hotels I have stayed in. Great for business people families and singles. The hotel looks for you in every way. Making sure you are secure from the door to the airport if need be. You can bring an overnight friend and they take Identification and check on you before your partner leaves. The food in restaurant beside pool is amazing. Had a massage In the spa and the service was outstanding. After a long flight to arrive it was much needed. Unlike North American resorts there was no asking what time an I get a massage it was what time is convenient for you sir. Hotel limousine courtesy car to take you around city. The hotel is across the street from the Marriott and in a tourist district with great shopping and food close by. As well as adult venues. I have felt at home here And enjoy the hospitality immensely.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank traveljunkie22_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    887
    209
    36
    10
    9
See reviews for
139
537
58
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This hotel was a beautiful surprise.
It is centrally located, room was large and service has been outstanding.
As soon as we arrived we were greeted by a very kind gentleman - sorry I can't recall his name- who gave us an upgrade, which was a nice touch right away.
Room was spotless clean, large and cozy, and the overall atmosphere in the hotel is very relaxed and relaxing.
Breakfast was absolutely excellent, cooffee was really good and the directions the concierge gave us when needed where very helpful even if the city is quite small and easy to navigate, a little extra tip is always welcome.
Thanks, and we are certainly using the Grand Majestic again!
Matt

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hatet0fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiberio B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Matt,

thank you very much for your kind review shared with the Tripadvisor community and for choosing our Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” during your last stay in Bologna.

It has been an authentic honor and a sincere source of pride to have had the possibility to welcome you here at our Grand Hotel and we are all glad to read that we achieved our daily mission of creating and serving to all our precious Guests a fantastic and unique experience of stay.

Come back to our beautiful city in the next future and we ensure you that you will live another memorable experience at our Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni”.

Kindest regards

Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Outstanding hotel in perfect location for walking in the center historic area. A true 5-star hotel that is friendly and not snobbish. Booked our reservation on Expedia for a superior room, but when we arrived for check-in, the hotel upgraded us to Deluxe room. It was beautiful and large, with a roomy marble bath with separate walk-in shower from tub. Free internet was reliable and relatively speedy. Breakfast buffet was one of the most extensive we have experienced in Europe. The breakfast server quickly learned our coffee preferences and each day would ask if we wanted "the usual..." The hotel common areas (lobby, hallways, etc.) are beautiful. We arrived on Christmas day for a 5-night stay; the decorations were lovely. Staff at front desk and door were friendly and helpful. Location can't be beat. You can walk everywhere, very comfortably. The covered porticos throughout Bologno mean that even if weather is less than perfect, you can be covered on many routes as you walk. Much of main center city streets are closed on holidays and weekends, for pedestrians. The taxi ride from the airport is short (not expensive) and the taxi to main train station is even shorter. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NC2Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiberio B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your recent stay at our Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” in Bologna and many thanks also for your kind review shared with Tripadvisor community.

We are glad you have appreciated our city center location, our authentic 5 star luxury service and our prestigious rooms enriched with prestigious Carrara marbles.

Come back in the near future at our Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” for another memorable experience of stay.

Kindest regards

Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed 5 nights the service was first class as one would expect, however it was not "snobbish", felt relaxed. The rooms were well decorated and very clean. Unfortunately I was working and was unable to see too much of the city in the daylight. In the late evening however the streets were full of people, having a good time, never loud or brash, never intimidating. The restaurants were all good the food and service even when busy was good. The city is a must to visit for my wife and I at some future time.
The other advantage to this hotel is that one dropped the car off at the entrance and it was parked for you and returned the next morning at the time that you specified.

Room Tip: The room was a little warm for my liking, opened the widows prior to going out in the evening, close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Location was smack in the middle of the city. It's entrance is actually small and one might missed it. The luggage has to be carried up a few flight of stairs though there is porter ready to assists guests.

We stayed there for one night as a rest stop. We booked triple Deluxe category.

Check in and check out was fast.

Service and attitude of staffs were polite and courteous.

Room was adequate sized and the walk way to the rooms was wide (which is very rare)!!

The only thing was no airconditioned, only heater which made the room abit stuffy. So we opened the window the whole night.

Room is clean and basic toiletries was provided (except for disposable toothbrush (seems like a norm for all hotels in Europe). So far this is the 2nd 5 star hotel that we stayed using a HUGE and heavy keychains which can be left at the reception when one goes out. But I really do wondered how do they verify that it will be given to the right persons upon return.

Breakfast is the usual fare of pastries, cold platter and hot food of scrambled eggs, mushrooms, zucchini, tomatoes, bacon and ham. No real time egg station.

Overall, it was a pleasant stay.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SeaShellsManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Location was smack in the middle of the city. It's entrance is actually small and one might missed it. The luggage has to be carried up a few flight of stairs though there is porter ready to assists guests.

We stayed there for one night as a rest stop. We booked triple Deluxe category.

Check in and check out was fast.

Service and attitude of staffs were polite and courteous.

Room was adequate sized and the walk way to the rooms was wide (which is very rare)!!

Wifi was complimentary!!

The only thing was no airconditioned, only heater which made the room abit stuffy. So we opened the window the whole night.

Room is clean and basic toiletries was provided (except for disposable toothbrush (seems like a norm for all hotels in Europe). So far this is the 2nd 5 star hotel that we stayed using a HUGE and heavy keychains which can be left at the reception when one goes out. But I really do wondered how do they verify that it will be given to the right persons upon return.

Breakfast is the usual fare of pastries, cold platter and hot food of scrambled eggs, mushrooms, zucchini, tomatoes, bacon and ham. No real time egg station.

Overall, it was a pleasant stay.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SeaShellsManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The service in this hotel is simply fantastic. From the moment we arrived to when we left everyone was simply charming,attentive and very helpful.The hotel has the most wonderful marble lobby and a great bar off it which is very comfortable with great cocktails and again fantastic service.
The location is right in the middle of Bologna . You are minutes away from everything and a few minutes away from some great shopping. We went to Parma by train for a day trip and the station was about 10 minutes walk away also. The rooms were wonderfully comfortably and spotlessly clean and great to come back to after a long day out. I really can't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brill95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 103 in Bologna
843 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 103 in Bologna
2,376 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#7 of 103 in Bologna
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Savhotel
#3 of 103 in Bologna
2,152 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#24 of 103 in Bologna
1,375 reviews
Art Hotel Commercianti
#8 of 103 in Bologna
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"

Property: Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"
Address: Via dell'Indipendenza, 8, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#1 Business Hotel in Bologna
#1 Spa Hotel in Bologna
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#4 Family Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni" 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni", the oldest and most prestigious hotel in Bologna, sits in the heart of the city on Via dell’Indipendenza, within walking distance of Piazza Maggiore and the famous Due Torri. This superb five-star deluxe hotel is situated in a Palazzo designed by architect Alfonso Torregiani during the first half of the 18th century and built by order of Cardinal Prospero Lambertini, who later became Pope. The palazzo is in fact, built on top of an ancient Roman road, part of which can be seen within the hotel. The 109 rooms have a mix of antique furniture with modern amenities, a perfect blend of classic Italian style, elegance and hospitality. The 4th floor refurbishment has enriched the hotel with a new range of Junior Suites and Deluxe Room. The style in this case is classic eighteen century classical French. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bologna
Grand Hotel Baglioni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing