We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rated #1 in Bologna for a Reason” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"
Ranked #1 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Fernandina Beach, FL
Level Contributor
265 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Rated #1 in Bologna for a Reason”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Upon check in we were advised we were being upgraded to a Grand Deluxe room which was very regal with all the furnishings. Our room (208) overlooked the street, but was fairly quiet. Only noise was from an apparent wood floor above our room where one night of our stay we could hear people noisely walking. Don't be surprised by the motion activated light as you approach the bathroom...actually a nice feature. The breakfast had some of the best coffee (Americano) and scrambled eggs on our trip. Bacon was too raw for our taste. Be careful not to become addicted to the assortment of chocolates thet have for guests at the front desk.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank married96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiberio B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing our Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” during your vacation in Bologna and also for posting such a delightful review and sharing it on the TripAdvisor community.

It is always a great pleasure to read such a kind review concerning the exclusive qualities of our Grand Hotel and we are glad to know that everything have completely satisfied you, in particular our breakfast buffet, served in our historic and artistic ‘800 & ‘900 rooms with a wide selection of sweet and savory, including smoothies, fresh jams, hot dishes, salads, pancakes, muffins and croissants. Moreover we regret for the noises that you have heard from your room and we hope this inconvenient have not disturbed your stay here with us.

Come back in the near future to our beautiful city and we ensure you that you will live another memorable experience of stay with our unique and prestigious 5 star deluxe service.

Kind regards,

Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    823
    193
    32
    9
    9
See reviews for
131
490
57
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

One of the nicest hotels Ive stayed in for some time. This one manages to balance the elegance of the old world hotel with the modern efficiencies of the boutique which is not a common combo!

The location is perfect - right in the middle of the town in the old city. Only warning is for people who cant walk too far it isnt great at weekends with the road being closed leading to 100 yard walk! Fine for me.

Bedroom was lovely, good size with all you need. Power socket by the bed (YES!), good shower, decent AC and immaculately clean. Food and drinks were excellent and the breakfast staff really did well at making you feel welcome and really looking after you.

Only slight downside is the no view from any windows we could find and our party had 15 rooms!!!

All in all - its great - stay there!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiberio B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Ian,

Many thanks for choosing the Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni”, proud member of the Leading Hotels of the World since 1990, during your last stay here in Bologna and for the time spent sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

All our Staff is glad to know about your unique experience here. We are all very honored to know that you have enjoyed the privileged location of our Grand Hotel, a stone throw from the beautiful piazza Maggiore and from the main city attractions.
We regret about your comment concerning the view. With 109 rooms, our Grand Hotel is able to provide several accommodation categories, with different locations and elements, depending on the specific requirements. During your stay our Hotel was fully booked, with a high room occupation but for the next time, we invite you not to hesitate to ask directly to our staff for all your needs and desires and we would be very glad to promptly serve you a perfect and personalized stay and accommodation.

We really look forward to serving you again here at the Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” in Bologna.

Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was the best room we had in Italy, and one of the best bathrooms in a hotel room we've stayed at anywhere. Excellent breakfast buffet with impeccable service. Helpful staff. The street in front of the hotel is pedestrian only on the weekends, so the taxi had to drop us off about a block from the front door, but there was a porter to meet us at the taxi drop and take our bags to the check-in. All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
102 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We had a beautiful room in a hotel that is truly in a perfect location to enjoy Bologna. However, when we arrived, we were told that it was "between seasons" (winter and summer) so there was neither heat nor air conditioning available. They were nice enough to bring us a fan (and if you kept your windows open, although that permitted quite a bit of street noise, it was cool at night). But for a hotel of this price range, they need to have a ventilation system that operates all the time. Also, I thought the food in their restaurant for dinner was of decent but not exceptional quality and overpriced. The service throughout was wonderful, and the location can not be beat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Professor44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is a very classy old-school Italian hotel. The service is lovely, breakfast is great and the location can't be beat in Bologna. However, the rooms are small for what you pay. The showers are quite disappointing... I'm not tall and the shower was too short even for me. The walls seem quite thin and the room got noisy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank American_in_l0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

You couldn't get much better than this! A great Hotel, close to the Piazza Maggiore, the University & student quarter and the old Jewish (Ebraico) ghetto. Also only 10 mins. walk to the railway station.
Excellent room, fine bathroom, very good staff at reception, in breakfast room and chambermaids.
Breakfast buffet had almost everything, including champagne and very yummy chocolate cake.
Cannot comment on value as this was part of a 'Tailor-made' package by Citalia, so don't know what proportion of the overall cost was spent here. I guess that it was nowhere near the rack rate for the room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnboy99_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiberio B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear John,

thanks for choosing our Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” during your last stay here in Bologna and many thanks also for your time spent reviewing and sharing your recent experience on our dedicated Tripadvisor webpage.

It has been an authentic honor and a sincere source of pride to have had the possibility to welcome you here at our Grand Hotel and we are all glad to read that we achieved our daily mission of creating and serving to all our precious Guests a fantastic and unique experience of stay. It is a great pleasure to read about your stay here and next time we suggest you also to taste the gastronomical proposals of Chef Galeazzi who every day works with passion and virtuosity in our beautiful restaurant “I Carracci” opens every day for lunch and for dinner.

All the staff of the Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” will be more than honored to welcome you in the near future with all the greatest attention of our truly 5 star luxury service.

Best regards,

Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Often 5 star hotels don't live up to expectations but this one does. Ticks all the boxes : location, service, hospitality and cuisine. We loved it (especially the linen bedsheets) and would definitely return. It is on the main street so quite a lot of background noise (no problem when windows closed and aircon was v good) but it means you can watch what's going on from your bedroom as over the weekends, the roads are pedestrianised and there's lots of street entertainment and general merriment from locals and tourists alike..

Of course it's not cheap but we felt we got what we paid for (unlike a recent stay in Santa Monica where we paid a huge price for something bordering on mediocre).

Bologna is a marvellous city for a short break (we stayed 4 nights). It's not too touristy, loads of attractions, very chilled and it's almost impossible to have a bad meal anywhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJS33N1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiberio B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

many thanks for choosing our Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” during your last stay here in Bologna and we also want to thank you for your time spent reviewing with such a nice words your last days in Italy.
Your gentle words of appreciation will be no doubt shared with all our staff that works everyday with passion and knowledge just to give all our precious guest a memorable experience of stay.
As you kindly mentioned in your review our Grand Hotel is located on the most popular street in the city, Via dell’Indipendenza, in a limited traffic zone. We always inform our Guests arriving by car about the indications and about our private garage service, that provide a professional and convenient solution.
Come back in the near future to our beautiful city and we ensure you that you will live another memorable experience of stay with our unique and prestigious 5 star deluxe service.

Kind regards,

Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,271 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#6 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Al Cappello Rosso
#9 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#20 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"

Property: Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"
Address: Via dell'Indipendenza, 8, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bologna
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#1 Spa Hotel in Bologna
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#4 Family Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni" 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Classically styled Hotel in historic building near palaces, churches & museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bologna
Grand Hotel Baglioni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing