We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic hotel simply great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"
Ranked #1 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Classic hotel simply great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Nice classic hotel and well kept. Very nice rooms, we were in junior suite on fourth floor with two doors to balcony overlooking the street with view of piazza maggiore. Very attentive staff. Outstanding breakfast. Pricy as it goes with these grand dames of hotels, but worth every penny. On a fantastic location. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank a m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    847
    200
    33
    10
    9
See reviews for
133
509
57
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Genk, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I spent 3 nights during August 2014 at this hotel and it was one of my best experiences ever. All of the staff I met were extremely friendly and professional. The restaurant is worth a special mention with staff more than willing to meet any needs. Having mentioned to the concierge that two friends had an anniversary the restaurant prepared a special and discrete surprise for them. The food was wonderful too.

The rooms are lovely and luxurious - blending new with classical taste very nicely indeed. The cocktail bar is fun - check out the photos of some of their famous visitors. I must also say that the breakfast was probably the best I've ever seen in a hotel and the young woman on duty was extremely friendly, always smiling and nothing was too much trouble. I would definitely return to this hotel again. Oh and by the way, you should walk down from your floor to the ground floor via the beautiful wide staircase - it'll make you feel like a king or queen. Don't hesitate to choose this hotel, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmcg_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

3 nights in July with my wife.
We had booked a junior suite.
On the positive side the room included a balcony with some view over Bologna rooftops. The air conditioning is very effective. Nice bathroom with good seperate shower. As a nice touch we were welcomed to the room with complimentary sparkling wine and fruit.
On the negative side the room could do with an update of audio/video. Due to the choice of colors for walls, floors and furniture combined with only two quite small windows/doors to the balcony the room was very dark.
The bed however was very good.
The hotel In general is a beautiful old hotel which is well kept.
The service levels are fine but we were not overly impressed.
Have stayed in a number of deluxe hotels both in Europe and the US an in comparison prices at Grand Hotel Majestic Gia Baglioni are very high and in my opinion a lot too high compared to the product delivered.
Would we stay again? Since the choice in deluxe hotels in Bologna is very limited maybe – but it would have to be at a more attractive rate.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TorbenFromDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Even before arrival the concierge was very attentive, suggesting restaurants and sending us excellent directions on how to reach the hotel at the weekend when the centre of Bologna is closed to traffic. We were upgraded to a fabulous suite with communicating room which were decorated so tastefully, I loved it. The reception staff were extremely helpful. The location is amazing, right in the centre of the city, opposite the cathedral. Central yet quiet. Would recommend anyone to stay here when in Bologna.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiberio B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for choosing Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” during your vacation in Bologna and also for posting such a delightful review and sharing it on the Tripadvisor community.

Your gentle words of appreciation will be no doubt shared with all our staff that works everyday with passion and knowledge just to give all our precious Guest a memorable experience of stay and we are all very glad to know that your days spent here at our renowned Grand Hotel were satisfying and gratifying.
As you kind mentioned in your review, our Grand Hotel is located on the most popolar street in the city, Via dell’Indipendenza, in a limited traffic zone. We always inform our Guests arriving by car about the indications and about our private garage service, that provide a professional and convenient solution.

We really look forward to welcoming you again at our Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” just to have the authentic pleasure to serve you again with all our attentions that only a 5 star luxury Hotel could proudly offer to all guests.

Best regards,

Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic "già Baglioni"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Fantastic building, great design and luxury decor. Great location in the city center allows to explore Bologna. Great staff with attention to details. Fast internet. Convenient for short stays to see the city and for romantic events.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElenaNiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiberio B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Elena,

we want to express you all our gratitude for choosing our Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” during your recent stay in Italy.

We are glad you have enjoyed our unique five star-luxury experience made of privileged city center location, great service, beautiful rooms and artistic and historic evidence able to enrich every day spent in our renowned Grand Hotel. We are glad to know that everything have completely satisfied you and It is always a great pleasure to read such a kind review concerning the exclusive qualities of our Grand Hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at our Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” we send you our best regards.

Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

The staff are the most charming and helpful I have ever met whilst on holiday, they cannot do enough for you.
Room service so quick and restaurant excellent.
Champagne and chocolates left in room for my Birthday, very thoughtful.
Rooms are spotless and the whole hotel is beautiful and tastefully decorated.
Great location in Bologna, short drive to airport and can walk to Rail station,
lots of shops, bars and restaurants all around this hotel.
We stayed 7 nights and would go back tomorrow if we could.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lady12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiberio B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

many thanks for your preference in choosing the Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” during your last stay in Bologna and for sharing your experience on the TripAdivsor Community.

We are very glad to read that everything met your expectations starting with our privileged position ending with our luxury and prestigious rooms that makes every day here in Bologna a wonderful and memorable day. Our mission is always to build for all our important Guests an unique and memorable stay, with all comfort and unexpeceted surprises, that we are always proud to offer you.

Thanking again for choosing our Grand Hotel Majestic during your birthday, all the staff look forward to welcoming you again at our property.

Kindest regards

Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Placed in the center of the city it's a real good hotel. Rooms are nice and luxurious. Although I stayed only one night I felt the good service at the concierge, bellboy and maid.
As I will return to Bologna for holidays I know now where to stay. I strongly recommend it if you look for a real quality stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Er K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiberio B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni", responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

many thanks for choosing our Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni” during your last stay in the city of Bologna and moreover for your time spent reviewing your recent experience on our Tripadvisor webpage.

All our staff is glad to know about your unique experience here. We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed our high – quality service, our beautiful historical rooms and our careful staff. We consider every member of our staff an added value for our Grand Hotel, especially for their experiences, knowledge and Bologna’s culture.

Come back in the near future to our beautiful city and we ensure you that you will live another memorable experience of stay with our unique and prestigious 5 star deluxe service.

Kindest regards,

Tiberio Biondi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Majestic “già Baglioni”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,296 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#7 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Al Cappello Rosso
#12 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#24 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"

Property: Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"
Address: Via dell'Indipendenza, 8, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bologna
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#1 Business Hotel in Bologna
#4 Family Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni" 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Classically styled Hotel in historic building near palaces, churches & museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bologna
Grand Hotel Baglioni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing