We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected”
Review of Hotel Re Enzo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Re Enzo
Ranked #90 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Rabat, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Booked 2 triple rooms 3 months ago and on arrival I was told that they were not available. Rooms are comfortable and staff are ok however breakfast leaves much to be desired even more when you pay extra to OLOTELS for FULL breakfast and you get continental ????? crazy but true. Buffet takes late to be replamished and car park is NOT free as I was informed beforehand. I wrote to OLOTELS who did not even bother sending me a reply.

Disappointed considering that I am myself in the hotel industry.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    146
    153
    62
    48
See reviews for
61
204
22
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Whilst the staff were wonderful, the room clean and the bed comfortable this is not a great hotel. Room furnishes are institutional and ou can here every movement from the rooms above and beside - not to mention the bathroom sounds. Whilst at first glance the area around the hotel looks rough it is not and there are some very good restaurants very close by

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pakbazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bologna hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marsaxlokk, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

We had a room close to reception area and were afraid it would be really noisy, in the mornings especially. But it was not the case-we slept well. The room was modern, spacious and very clean. Free wifi very much appreciated. There were a couple of issues though: first of all, the shower. It's one of those fixed shower-head affairs, which means you have to wear a shower cap if you don't want to get your hair wet. Another issue is breakfast. There aren't enough tables to accommodate the guests, and the one person who seemed to be in charge was rushed of his feet clearing and setting tables, and taking orders for tea and coffee. When we went down for breakfast the first day, at 9am, the only free table was piled high with trays and plates from previous occupants, there were no clean coffee cups and almost no food left. The day after we were up early to catch our 8.45an flight, and we could see that the food was plentiful and varied - so it is either not replenished, or just not quickly enough.
Apart from this however, one must keep in mind the price. All things considered it is really good value for money, and although not bang in the centre it is certainly within easy walking distance.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gabby79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

we were put in an annex,that wasnt to bad a bit fusty.but when we went for breakfast some things had run out and we were told there was no more.wouldnt recomend it to anyone. when we were checking out we complained to the receptionest and he told us we should have looked for the manager who happened to be standing beside us and ignored us.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 517Frances517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We booked two rooms but on arrival were shown our rooms around the corner in a musty smelling annex. It took 3 keys to get into the rooms. Some of the staff were very nice and helpful but others would just shrug their shoulders. Breakfast was disappointing, getting a table for 5 or even a table for 2 and another for 3 seemed so much effort. The second morning for breakfast there was no bread or milk left and with a lot to do we got milk for the cereal, tea and coffee. On the third morning there was no butter and when we requested some we were told no butter left at all. Disappointed with the hotel but enjoyed the trip and loved Bologna.

Room Tip: Make sure that when you book a room that it is in the actual hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellcgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Bologna is full of students and as a result many cheaper hotels out of the main squares can be noisy lat at night: Bologna's residents eat from 21:00 to 22:00 and then start partying. The Re Enzo is in a quiet street and yet just off the Via San Felice which is one of the major bus routes. Grab tickets from a tabacchi and don't forget to validate them when on the bus. Otherwise it's a pleasant 15 minute walk to the centre,
Rooms are a reasonable size but some have carpet and others laminate flooring, and we could hear people walking around on the hard floors. The staff are very helpful.
There's an excellent breakfast included and we ate in the hotel's restaurant one night and the food was very good and not too expensive - around 160 euros for five of us with a lot of wine.
There are a lot of lively bars and restaurants all around the Re Enzo (but not so close you can hear them) - try the Via del Pratello for a start.
And if you are in Bologna for more than a couple of days try taking the train to other towns - the city is the central crossing point for Italian railways. Trains are very cheap - around 10 cents per kilometer if you take the slow trains, and more if you elect to to take a faster train. Real choice unlike in the UK. We visited the Ferrari museum in Modena, looked around Padua and saw the amazing mosaics at Ravenna. Again, don't forget to validate your ticket on the platform before you leave - rather surprisingly you can't do this on the train itself.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimmee, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

The Re Enzo is not the most conveniently located hotel in Bologna but, in my opinion, that makes it a great find.

Yes, you will have a ten to fifteen minute wal to get to anything but then everything is only a ten to fifteen minute walk away.

What I like about it is that it is the closest you can come to being in a real neighborhood without moving in with a local.

The upper rooms have wonderful views of the residential section of Bologna. It's fun to see real life unfold beneath you. Red tile roofs, laundry on the clothes lines, the smell of cooking wafting up from the street, balconies filled with bikes and other worldy possessions. You are in the heart of Bologna away from the tourists.

The rooms are adequate. Nothing spectacular and very European sized. Showers are a challenge, as usual and there is the always present problem of the room being too hot or too cold depending on the time of year.

But, the front desk staff is friendly and very helpful and they serve a very good breakfast downstairs.

As a bonus one of the best pizzerias I have eaten in (in the world) is only a couple blocks away (sorry I don't think I ever knew the name). It is definitely strictly a local hangout and serves nothing but delicious full pies and bottles of refreshing local wine in a very pizza store type of atmosphere with adequate but unfancy seating. They are only open a few hours day (lunch and early dinner) but is a "must eat" when in Bologna. Just ask at the front desk. They will know where you are talking about.

So, come on over and stay off the beaten track. You'll have plenty of opportunities to visit the tourist parts of the city. This is a rare opportunity to see the locals in action.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room overlooking the residential part of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Vitale
Albergo Rossini 1936
Albergo Rossini 1936
#81 of 103 in Bologna
261 reviews
Porto
Hotel San Felice
Hotel San Felice
#82 of 103 in Bologna
128 reviews
Panorama Hotel
#31 of 103 in Bologna
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reno
Hotel Maggiore
Hotel Maggiore
#20 of 103 in Bologna
600 reviews
Grand Hotel Elite
#48 of 103 in Bologna
1,208 reviews
Best Western City Hotel
#30 of 103 in Bologna
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Re Enzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Re Enzo

Property: Hotel Re Enzo
Address: Via Santa Croce 26, 40122 Bologna, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Re Enzo)
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Re Enzo 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is one of the best known hotels in Bologna, attended by an affectionate clientele who particularly loves the bright and airy spaces, the cozy and comfortable rooms and a great welcoming wich keeps satisfying the most refined Guests. More than an hotel, it is a friendly and informal place to meet, for a stay of comfort and tranquillity with the assistance of a reliable and efficient Staff. Located a few minutes walk from the famous "Due Torri" it is a unique reality in the heart of Bologna. 51 rooms of various categories, conference centre, restaurant, outdoor parking for cars and buses and garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Re Enzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Re Enzo
Best Western Bologna
Bologna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing