We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic hotel”
Review of Hotel Re Enzo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Re Enzo
Ranked #91 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
encino, California
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“basic hotel”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We booked this hotel from USA Best Western Site wanting value, parking and close to city center. It delivered on these criteria, but it was the most disappointing of our entire trip. The rooms were depressing and worn, small plastic glasses, no electric tea kettle, miniscule shower, basic bathroom. Every time we had breakfast, they ran out of eggs. The coffee machine made luke warm coffee, tea. Restaurant staff were unhelpful and clearly overworked. The hotel staff, which appeared to be the receptionist, handled every request. We arrive on night to the arrival of a tour group. He was completely overwhelmed and all decided to walk up to our rooms, 5 floors rather than waiting for the tiny, slow elevator. They did provide tea and cake/cookies in the lobby which appears a nice touch. However, we had to ask to heat the water in the urn, and clean the cups.
The only bright memory of this hotel was Santino. He tried everything he could to make our stay happy. He was patient, knowledgeable, accomidating and went out of his way to make up for the lack of staff.
If you want a very basic hotel, with adjacent parking (24 euro/night), and don't care about much else, than this is your place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    145
    151
    62
    46
See reviews for
60
202
22
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

We were a party of 10 and wanted a good value city centre hotel for a long weekend. Some couples had the standard rooms and others had the superior, all were clean and serviced every day. The difference was only about 10 euros a night so I would go for the superior, they have large comfortable beds and have been recently refurbished. The standard rooms seemed okay, we heard no complaints.
The hotel was absolutely fine for our purposes and I would recommend it if you are looking for something a little less costly than the city centre hotels. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful, sorting out directions for the walk up to the St. Luca church and lunchtime eateries.
The hotel itself is tucked away down a little side street so no passing traffic noise, the public rooms are clean and airy, the breakfast room must have been a restaurant at one time as it is large and the buffet is fine, you can get fresh fruit, hams, cheese, eggs and all the usual pastries and breads Italians love. You don't come to Italy for the breakfast so don't expect a gourmet experience!
To get into the old centre you can walk down the via del Pratello, a street with a murky past, but now a vibrant street full of bars, cafés and restaurants. We stopped on our way into the centre every evening for a beer or prosecco, always served with a friendly plate of snacks. We would definitely book in here again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RacingPolarBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rabat, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Booked 2 triple rooms 3 months ago and on arrival I was told that they were not available. Rooms are comfortable and staff are ok however breakfast leaves much to be desired even more when you pay extra to OLOTELS for FULL breakfast and you get continental ????? crazy but true. Buffet takes late to be replamished and car park is NOT free as I was informed beforehand. I wrote to OLOTELS who did not even bother sending me a reply.

Disappointed considering that I am myself in the hotel industry.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bologna hotels

Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Whilst the staff were wonderful, the room clean and the bed comfortable this is not a great hotel. Room furnishes are institutional and ou can here every movement from the rooms above and beside - not to mention the bathroom sounds. Whilst at first glance the area around the hotel looks rough it is not and there are some very good restaurants very close by

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pakbazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marsaxlokk, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

We had a room close to reception area and were afraid it would be really noisy, in the mornings especially. But it was not the case-we slept well. The room was modern, spacious and very clean. Free wifi very much appreciated. There were a couple of issues though: first of all, the shower. It's one of those fixed shower-head affairs, which means you have to wear a shower cap if you don't want to get your hair wet. Another issue is breakfast. There aren't enough tables to accommodate the guests, and the one person who seemed to be in charge was rushed of his feet clearing and setting tables, and taking orders for tea and coffee. When we went down for breakfast the first day, at 9am, the only free table was piled high with trays and plates from previous occupants, there were no clean coffee cups and almost no food left. The day after we were up early to catch our 8.45an flight, and we could see that the food was plentiful and varied - so it is either not replenished, or just not quickly enough.
Apart from this however, one must keep in mind the price. All things considered it is really good value for money, and although not bang in the centre it is certainly within easy walking distance.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gabby79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

we were put in an annex,that wasnt to bad a bit fusty.but when we went for breakfast some things had run out and we were told there was no more.wouldnt recomend it to anyone. when we were checking out we complained to the receptionest and he told us we should have looked for the manager who happened to be standing beside us and ignored us.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 517Frances517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We booked two rooms but on arrival were shown our rooms around the corner in a musty smelling annex. It took 3 keys to get into the rooms. Some of the staff were very nice and helpful but others would just shrug their shoulders. Breakfast was disappointing, getting a table for 5 or even a table for 2 and another for 3 seemed so much effort. The second morning for breakfast there was no bread or milk left and with a lot to do we got milk for the cereal, tea and coffee. On the third morning there was no butter and when we requested some we were told no butter left at all. Disappointed with the hotel but enjoyed the trip and loved Bologna.

Room Tip: Make sure that when you book a room that it is in the actual hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellcgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Vitale
Albergo Rossini 1936
Albergo Rossini 1936
#83 of 103 in Bologna
258 reviews
Porto
Hotel San Felice
Hotel San Felice
#80 of 103 in Bologna
128 reviews
Panorama Hotel
#30 of 103 in Bologna
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Elite
#48 of 103 in Bologna
1,196 reviews
Best Western City Hotel
#31 of 103 in Bologna
703 reviews
Reno
Hotel Maggiore
Hotel Maggiore
#19 of 103 in Bologna
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Re Enzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Re Enzo

Property: Hotel Re Enzo
Address: Via Santa Croce 26, 40122 Bologna, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Re Enzo)
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Re Enzo 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is one of the best known hotels in Bologna, attended by an affectionate clientele who particularly loves the bright and airy spaces, the cozy and comfortable rooms and a great welcoming wich keeps satisfying the most refined Guests. More than an hotel, it is a friendly and informal place to meet, for a stay of comfort and tranquillity with the assistance of a reliable and efficient Staff. Located a few minutes walk from the famous "Due Torri" it is a unique reality in the heart of Bologna. 51 rooms of various categories, conference centre, restaurant, outdoor parking for cars and buses and garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Re Enzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Re Enzo
Best Western Bologna
Bologna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing