We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good night's sleep!”
Review of Hotel Re Enzo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Re Enzo
Ranked #93 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Good location, good breakfasts. The room was nice and the bed was comfy.
Unfortunately, the walls are really thin, so you are disturbed whenever anyone shuts a door on your corridor, flushes the toilet (you can hear EVERYONE'S plumbing system!) or talks too loudly. We stayed for three nights and I was kept awake on each night. Even my boyfriend couldn't sleep well, and he can normally sleep through anything!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElviriaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

The hotel was old but good. We got it at a good price. We did have a good experience. We got to the hotel late on a Sunday and needed a drink. The bar was closed by the guy at reception opened it up for us and served us!! The hotel is a walkable distance to the main square.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kritesh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The location ideal in the centre of bologna. The staff were very friendly from beginning to end. Breakfast was great with a vast selection of bread, cereals, yogurts, fruit, cakes, cheese, etc./ We also joined a free walking tour organised by the hotel itself around bologna. The room was very clean. We were fully satisfied and definitely recommend this hotel. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew15289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We booked this hotel from USA Best Western Site wanting value, parking and close to city center. It delivered on these criteria, but it was the most disappointing of our entire trip. The rooms were depressing and worn, small plastic glasses, no electric tea kettle, miniscule shower, basic bathroom. Every time we had breakfast, they ran out of eggs. The coffee machine made luke warm coffee, tea. Restaurant staff were unhelpful and clearly overworked. The hotel staff, which appeared to be the receptionist, handled every request. We arrive on night to the arrival of a tour group. He was completely overwhelmed and all decided to walk up to our rooms, 5 floors rather than waiting for the tiny, slow elevator. They did provide tea and cake/cookies in the lobby which appears a nice touch. However, we had to ask to heat the water in the urn, and clean the cups.
The only bright memory of this hotel was Santino. He tried everything he could to make our stay happy. He was patient, knowledgeable, accomidating and went out of his way to make up for the lack of staff.
If you want a very basic hotel, with adjacent parking (24 euro/night), and don't care about much else, than this is your place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We were a party of 10 and wanted a good value city centre hotel for a long weekend. Some couples had the standard rooms and others had the superior, all were clean and serviced every day. The difference was only about 10 euros a night so I would go for the superior, they have large comfortable beds and have been recently refurbished. The standard rooms seemed okay, we heard no complaints.
The hotel was absolutely fine for our purposes and I would recommend it if you are looking for something a little less costly than the city centre hotels. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful, sorting out directions for the walk up to the St. Luca church and lunchtime eateries.
The hotel itself is tucked away down a little side street so no passing traffic noise, the public rooms are clean and airy, the breakfast room must have been a restaurant at one time as it is large and the buffet is fine, you can get fresh fruit, hams, cheese, eggs and all the usual pastries and breads Italians love. You don't come to Italy for the breakfast so don't expect a gourmet experience!
To get into the old centre you can walk down the via del Pratello, a street with a murky past, but now a vibrant street full of bars, cafés and restaurants. We stopped on our way into the centre every evening for a beer or prosecco, always served with a friendly plate of snacks. We would definitely book in here again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank RacingPolarBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Booked 2 triple rooms 3 months ago and on arrival I was told that they were not available. Rooms are comfortable and staff are ok however breakfast leaves much to be desired even more when you pay extra to OLOTELS for FULL breakfast and you get continental ????? crazy but true. Buffet takes late to be replamished and car park is NOT free as I was informed beforehand. I wrote to OLOTELS who did not even bother sending me a reply.

Disappointed considering that I am myself in the hotel industry.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Whilst the staff were wonderful, the room clean and the bed comfortable this is not a great hotel. Room furnishes are institutional and ou can here every movement from the rooms above and beside - not to mention the bathroom sounds. Whilst at first glance the area around the hotel looks rough it is not and there are some very good restaurants very close by

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pakbazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Vitale
Albergo Rossini 1936
Albergo Rossini 1936
#89 of 102 in Bologna
272 reviews
Reno
Hotel Maggiore
Hotel Maggiore
#20 of 102 in Bologna
667 reviews
Hotel Accademia
#44 of 102 in Bologna
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Porto
Hotel San Felice
Hotel San Felice
#83 of 102 in Bologna
136 reviews
Porto
Astoria Hotel Bologna
Astoria Hotel Bologna
#87 of 102 in Bologna
577 reviews
Panorama Hotel
#30 of 102 in Bologna
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Re Enzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Re Enzo

Address: Via Santa Croce 26, 40122 Bologna, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Re Enzo)
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Price Range: £54 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Re Enzo 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is one of the best known hotels in Bologna, attended by an affectionate clientele who particularly loves the bright and airy spaces, the cozy and comfortable rooms and a great welcoming wich keeps satisfying the most refined Guests. More than an hotel, it is a friendly and informal place to meet, for a stay of comfort and tranquillity with the assistance of a reliable and efficient Staff. Located a few minutes walk from the famous "Due Torri" it is a unique reality in the heart of Bologna. 51 rooms of various categories, conference centre, restaurant, outdoor parking for cars and buses and garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Re Enzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Re Enzo
Best Western Bologna
Bologna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing