We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of Hotel Maggiore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Maggiore
Ranked #20 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Plant City, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Hotel is close to airport and bus stops. Rooms were clean and spacious. Staff and Reception was friendly and helpful. Free Wifi in room with code from reception. Great Breakfast Buffet, restaurant was clean and food was great. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pomfretp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pescaEmilia, Proprietario at Hotel Maggiore, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Thanks ! We work strong for our hotel and to read your comment is really a great help to continue and to improve .
Don't forget to visit us again : Bologna is so nice during summer !
With our best regards
Angelo e Paola Vannini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    304
    65
    19
    5
See reviews for
120
165
44
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Ideally located closed to the airport and only 30 minutes walk from the city centre, this hotel is a real gem!Nice restaurant in the area!. Rooms are spacious and clean. Good buffet breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CristinaM82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pescaEmilia, Proprietario at Hotel Maggiore, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
It is really a pleasure to read your comment ! We hope to see you soon : Bologna , the summer's events , little restaurants on the hills , Best Western Hotel Maggiore and more are
waiting for you .
Best regards
Angelo e Paola Vannini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Despite the unattractive surroundings and outside aspect of the building, the hotel feels nice, and the rooms are spacious and clean. The staff at reception is friendly and helpful. The location was ideal for the business trip, within walking distance from the office I was visiting. The connection to the city center is easy with the bus service, and the airport is only 10 minutes away by taxi.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel on arrival is not that attractive, but the rooms are spacious, very clean and have everything you need. The staff are welcoming and very helpful. Excellent value for money. A little way from the City centre, approx 6-8 euro for a taxi. Within walking distance if you are fit!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pescaEmilia, Proprietario at Hotel Maggiore, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for your comments ! Don't forget that our slogan is Feel at Home and we work every day to give this emotion to our clients . We hope to see you soon in Bologna .
Best regards
Angelo e Paola Vannini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I stayed here for my one night in Bologna so I could be close to the Airport. The hotel is inbetween the airport and the centre of Bologna so it has good connections - buses run frequently on the road it is on into the center of town.

First impressions are not great as the building looks very run down, as are all the nearby buildings. However after entering the man on the desk was very friendly and helpful. The hotel feels a bit like a B&B, very warm, friendly feel to it. The room was clean enough and comfortable. The staff later on helped me with an adaptor for my laptop charger and some other questions I had.

A nice hotel for a day or two to see Bologna and get some sleep!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigPremierInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pescaEmilia, Proprietario at Hotel Maggiore, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Thanks for your stay with us and for the time spent to writting your balanced and correct review, in fact, Best Western Hotel Maggiore is almost fifth years old , but the care and the attention of our parents before and our attention today keep pretty fit!. We try to offer to all our guests the best welcome and we are really happy when, as in this case, we recive comments like yours We realy hope to see you again soon! A friendly greeting from Angelo and Paola Vannini.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

An wedding anniversary weekend in Bologna was enhanced by the comfort and service at this hotel. The location was just past the hospital, 3 km from airport and 2 km from city centre.
the No 13 trolley bus ran every 4 to 7 minutes and was always on time but always full.

Nothing was too much trouble for stall. The breakfast room was cramped when a lot of guests were there at the same time. The lifts could be faster.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pescaEmilia, Proprietario at Hotel Maggiore, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Sirs,

We are pleased that you have chosen Bologna and Hotel Maggiore to celebrate your anniversary.
For this particular recurrence our slogan “ Feel at Home “ was really indicated....
Your stay coincided with a group of tourists and certainly our spaces, not really huge, result even smaller and our services a little slower.
We know that you understand and thank you for this and the time that you spent to write your review:
Bologna and Best Western Hotel Maggiore are waiting for your next anniversary!
A friendly greeting from Angelo and Paola Vannini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stopped for two nights (Fri and Sat) in March 2012. We arrived early evening on Friday and the manager helped us find parking as hotel car park was full. Quick, friendly check in. Room was well equipped with dressing gowns, slippers, soaps etc. Very comfortable and warm, although hard, oversized pillows. Extremely clean too. Breakfast was also good; a selection of tasty treats, teas, coffees and juices. Not a huge selection of healthy options (tinned peaches, yoghurt and cereal were provided). Staff were fantastically friendly, keen to give directions and offer assistance. Check out was also quick and simple.
The only downside of this hotel is it being quite a way of the centre however the number 13 bus regularly stops a short distance away from the hotel - last return bus is around midnight.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pescaEmilia, Proprietario at Hotel Maggiore, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thanks for your review! The hospitality and the intention of make guests feel at home is really big goal for us. We are so pleased that you have read and appreciated this effort. We also collected the suggestions about what we can do to increase the satisfaction of our guests, thank you. The beauty of this new Internet world is that everyone is encouraged to interact and this, when we act with sincerity as in this case, can only bring beneficial and collaborations.
We are waiting for you in Bologna and invite you to tell us yours suggestions and opinions about us.
Best regards
Angelo and Paola Vannini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Grand Hotel Elite
#48 of 103 in Bologna
1,211 reviews
San Donato
Hotel Cosmopolitan Bologna
Ramada Encore Bologna
#15 of 103 in Bologna
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Porto
Suite Hotel Elite
Suite Hotel Elite
#21 of 103 in Bologna
1,890 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 103 in Bologna
2,181 reviews
Panorama Hotel
#32 of 103 in Bologna
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maggiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maggiore

Property: Hotel Maggiore
Address: Via Emilia Ponente 62/3, 40133 Bologna, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Maggiore)
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Bologna
#22 Family Hotel in Bologna
#31 Business Hotel in Bologna
#32 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maggiore 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maggiore Bologna is a welcoming place and we deeply take care of our guests. Our aim is to make you "Feel at Home". The slender eight storey building which houses the hotel rises up in a very unusual place, a connection point between the city centre of Bologna and the Emilian productive areas, a lively and hardworking area rich in Italian excellences and multiculturalism. The hotel is in a central location, out of the controlled traffic zone, next to the Ospedale Maggiore, at 1.5 km from the historic centre (easily accessible by bus or by bike), at ten minutes from the airport, the Ducati headquarters, the Unipol Arena centre, next to important companies and important scientific and cultural centres such as the Opificio Golinelli and the MAST. It is easily accessible from the motorway and the main communications routes and we offer a free parking service. Core of our idea of welcoming are the central location, our friendliness and the attention to every detail. As well as wanting you to "Feel at Home", we also commit for a sustainable mobility. Among our facilities you'll find a free parking service, a shuttle service, a bycicle rental service, both for traditional bikes and e-bikes, bus tickets at our reception desk. Finally, we'll be very happy to give you information on events not to be missed and places to see in the city and province. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Maggiore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Bologna
Best Western Bologna
Bologna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing