We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel Maggiore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Maggiore
Ranked #20 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
DC
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 2 June 2008

We read several reveiws and consulted with others who had stayed in Bologna before selecting this hotel. We were not disappointed. The location was great, the staff friendly and helpful, and the price was very competitive for the City. The "delux rooms" (which we had for about 30 euro more) have a bit more space and views overlooking a plaza and of the "two towers". We were pleased, but we saw the standard rooms and they were quite adequate as well. Breakfast is included in the rate, and there are tables on a terrace patio with great views, as well. (It's also nice for an afternoon tea or wine.) Most major sites are within easy walking distance from the hotel, and traffic noise is reduced since it is an "restricted area." [One tip --- if you are driving, be sure to contact the hotel by phone or email before arriving by so they can provide you the code for opening the gate to the restricted area.] Overall a very positive experience and a hotel we would be happy to return to.

  • Liked — Location and service
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank SWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    304
    65
    19
    5
See reviews for
121
165
44
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2007

A quite servicable, small hotel. Listed on TripAdvisor as a one-star,
which must be a mistake. Had very nice facilities including a newly-renovated private bathroom with the best shower we found in 4 weeks travel in Europe, free internet access from rooms and the lobby, and a helpful staff. On the airport side of town, making it convenient for air travellers. Must take a bus or taxi to city center (or a long
walk), but there are quite direct, and frequent busses, with the bus stop about one block from the hotel. Several OK, inexpensive restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RecentlyRetiredSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2007

I stayed at Hotel Best Western Maggiore in early April as I traveled from Bologna to the Republic of San Marino. The hotel is a very nice real 3-star hotel on the outskirts of Bologna center. I had a three person room comprised of two single beds and a sofa bed. The room had two wardrobe closets, a flat screen TV, a large bathroom, and a minibar refrigerater. The room was very clean. The beds we had were hard mattresses for those that like this style (I do). Breakfast was buffet style and offered eggs, bacon, sliced ham meats cheese, cereals, fruits, and breads and rolls. All three front desk personnel I dealt with during the weekend were friendly, readily answered my questions, and basically made my stay enjoyable. The hotel is off the main road but easy to find as there is a large sign with an arrow for Hotel Maggiore. When you arrive at the airport, take the BLQ Aerobus (5 euros per person) and exit at the Ospedale (hospital) Maggiore stop, which is the first stop on the Aerobus line. The stop is about 500 yards past the hotel. The other option is to take an airport taxi but I don't know the cost of the trip (between 10 and 20 minutes depending on traffic). I would not walk as there are spots between the airport and the hotel without sidewalks. There are about four eating establishments within a 5 to 10 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel does not serve dinners. The hotel is about 20 minutes from the Bologna train station which you can access from buses 91 or 39. The bus stop for 91 is left of the hotel (along the main road) about 200 yards (stop Prati di Caprara) and the buses begin running at 0549. The bus stop for 39 is about 700 yards (stop Saffi) to the right of the hotel (along the main road) and the buses begin running at 0524. Returning to the hotel from the main train station take either bus 38 or 91. You can purchase bus tickets (1euro per ticket) from the front desk of the hotel or the tobbaco shop across from bus stop Prati di Caprara before 8pm. Validate the tickets when you board the bus. There is also a ticket machine at the Ospedale Maggiore bus stop. You can purchase your Aerobus tickets from the machine or the bus driver. To get to San Marino take the train from Bologna to Rimini (about 1.5 hours and a oneway ticket costs about 6 euro). The trains run about every 30 minutes. Exit the train station in Rimini and walk straight across the street. In front of the coffee shop is the Omnibus San Marino bus stop. You can purchase your bus ticket from the driver for about 4 euro. The bus ride is about 45 minutes. You can find bus schedules at [-]omniway.sm. Note the weekend times are different from the weekday times, but basically the bus runs every 2 hours from each location. As a travel example from the hotel: take the 0549 bus 91 to the train station, the 0638 train to Rimini, and the 0830 bus to San Marino. I will stay at Best Western Maggiore again if I return to Bologna.

  • Liked — Price, service, location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — I can find nothing negative
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PassThru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2005

Although some of the rooms on the upper floors are being renovated, this hotel is both efficient and spotlessly clean. We stayed on two separate occasions and both rooms had both been refurbished and they were clean, comfortable and in fact one of the nicer hotels we stayed in during our two weeks of travel in Europe. We were warned that construction was going on during the day and if we needed to be in the room at that time, they would move us to a quieter location (this was not necessary). Close to highways and a number of good restaurants, however, as we weren't traveling by car the cost of traveling by taxi into the city centre and back (about ten minutes) started to add up (about 18 Euros return).

With a car and a rate of 85 Euros or less (double), I would recommend this hotel. If you like to stroll around town, would suggest a hotel closer to the city center.

  • Stayed February 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sansouci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Grand Hotel Elite
#48 of 103 in Bologna
1,211 reviews
San Donato
Hotel Cosmopolitan Bologna
Ramada Encore Bologna
#15 of 103 in Bologna
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Porto
Suite Hotel Elite
Suite Hotel Elite
#21 of 103 in Bologna
1,890 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 103 in Bologna
2,182 reviews
Panorama Hotel
#31 of 103 in Bologna
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maggiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maggiore

Property: Hotel Maggiore
Address: Via Emilia Ponente 62/3, 40133 Bologna, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Maggiore)
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Bologna
#22 Family Hotel in Bologna
#31 Business Hotel in Bologna
#32 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maggiore 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maggiore Bologna is a welcoming place and we deeply take care of our guests. Our aim is to make you "Feel at Home". The slender eight storey building which houses the hotel rises up in a very unusual place, a connection point between the city centre of Bologna and the Emilian productive areas, a lively and hardworking area rich in Italian excellences and multiculturalism. The hotel is in a central location, out of the controlled traffic zone, next to the Ospedale Maggiore, at 1.5 km from the historic centre (easily accessible by bus or by bike), at ten minutes from the airport, the Ducati headquarters, the Unipol Arena centre, next to important companies and important scientific and cultural centres such as the Opificio Golinelli and the MAST. It is easily accessible from the motorway and the main communications routes and we offer a free parking service. Core of our idea of welcoming are the central location, our friendliness and the attention to every detail. As well as wanting you to "Feel at Home", we also commit for a sustainable mobility. Among our facilities you'll find a free parking service, a shuttle service, a bycicle rental service, both for traditional bikes and e-bikes, bus tickets at our reception desk. Finally, we'll be very happy to give you information on events not to be missed and places to see in the city and province. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Maggiore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Bologna
Best Western Bologna
Bologna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing