We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the two station hotels in Bologna”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Starhotels Excelsior
Ranked #26 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Lovely modern hotel, just across the road from station. Rooms were large and comfy. Great lounge bar area where they serve complimentary anti pasto in the evening. Great for business travellers or those in transit

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank langwarrinfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

493 - 499 of 1,737 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2012

One of the best hotels i have stayed, near central station, clean , quiet, very central, the buss from-to airport stops right outside hotel costs 6 euro. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dardaneagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

stayed only one night as a pit stop travelling from venice to milan nice clean hotel reception staff fantastic (luca?) really went out of his way to make our stay enjoyable gym basic breakfast ok the two female staff very good internet free in lobby room comfort but too hot air con not up to scratch had a problem with the safe - maintanance man came straight away to replace batteries but by morning it was telling me HELP 10 minute walk to piazza maggiore and two towers well worth the 3 euro to go to the top fabulous views (unfortunately it was raining and overcast today ) it is a long climb stairs very narrow and steep in places only draw back hotel 20.00 euro not :( impressed

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JENNIFER069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I spent much much deliberation on where to stay in Bologna, as it was my first time, and I was going for my 41st birthday celebrations with my husband. I will definately be back. It was perfect, because it is "literally" opposite the train station, which was fab because I wanted to not only get to know the City of Bologna but it's surrounding towns as well like Parma, Modena, Ferrara and Faenza. The hotel staff are friendly and extremely helpful. The room that we stayed in was extremely clean as well as the bathroom. The food in the restaurant of an evening is exceptional. (I used to be an ex chef, working in the likes of Launceston Place, Kesington, London. The breakfast buffet is okay, but not excellent. Althought, technically it is a business hotel, alot of the BA staff stay here, it did not seem souless. I felt it had the perfect combination of literally opposite the station and not too far, 15 walk to the main centre, if that. Many Thanks Alessandra for arranging our great room. I will definately be back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Extremely well situated across from train station, making it a perfect base for people traveling I the region or for business travelers. A little further from historic center, but Bologna is relatively small, so still manageable by foot. Rooms were nice, spacious, modern and clean.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sclemente67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Having read conflicting reviews about this hotel we took a chance and booked a room for 5 nights and have just returned home very happy indeed. This hotel has wonderful friendly staff who really go out of their way to help their guests, the room was spotless and the breakfast menu superb. Plenty of variation food-wise to please everyone. The location was excellent for travelling round Bologna by bus. Our room on the 7th floor was so peaceful we could leave the window open without any noise intrustion. A lovely little touch was the heart-shaped chocolate on the pillows each night and the free toiletries in he bathroom. All in all a great stay and we would go back again tomorrow!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katerina66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The Starhotel Excelsior is located directly across from the train station, which is very convenient, even though the immediate area you have to walk through on the way to the main street to the city centre can be a little bit sketchy. I have been coming here for years on business and it's a nice modern hotel, but the room I was in this year wasn't as clean as the ones I have been in previously. There was mold in the shower and lots of spots on the walls. Also the carpeting was very stained/bleached. In better news, the staff was as helpful and polite as always! Also, they have a great breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minke5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Bologna De La Gare
NH Bologna De La Gare
#38 of 102 in Bologna
1,702 reviews
0 mi away
UNA Hotel Bologna
UNA Hotel Bologna
#22 of 102 in Bologna
1,029 reviews
0.3 mi away
I Portici Hotel
I Portici Hotel
#25 of 102 in Bologna
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Mercure Bologna Centro
Mercure Bologna Centro
#51 of 102 in Bologna
2,222 reviews
0.5 mi away
Metropolitan Hotel
Metropolitan Hotel
#8 of 102 in Bologna
1,582 reviews
0.8 mi away
Savhotel
Savhotel
#3 of 102 in Bologna
2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Excelsior

Address: Viale Pietro Pietramellara 51, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#16 Family Hotel in Bologna
#19 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: £71 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Starhotels Excelsior 4.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Starhotels Excelsior in Bologna. In this beautiful ancient University city, our contemporary chic hotel is considered to be one of the best. The location opposite the railway station is conveniently close to the Fiera as well as the historical heart. Our Italian style is an alluring combination of clean, fresh interiors throughout the lobby, library and restaurant, and cosy traditional bedrooms.In our city centre Bologna hotel there are 193 rooms and suites; a well-equipped fitness room; lounge and bar for relaxing, Avorio restaurant serving traditional Bolognese food; and five meeting rooms seating up to 380 delegates in total. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Starhotels Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Excelsior Hotel Bologna
Starhotels Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing