We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable. Across Road from Train Station. Very Quiet.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Starhotels Excelsior
Ranked #25 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very comfortable. Across Road from Train Station. Very Quiet.”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Very quiet. Very comfortable clean rooms. Very close to train station and walking distance from the old centre of Bologna. Very helpful and friendly staff. Great breakfast. A great experience staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MilSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    763
    185
    39
    33
See reviews for
226
593
85
438
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Benitachell
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Friendly personal (Tiberia, Francesco, Serafino, Manuela and a lot more), spacious room and very clean, we had a room facing away from the main street: heavenly quet, opposite the train station, modern business hoteel, breakfast very good, the price was very reasonable, the restaurant recommendation of "Il Veliero" just 5 min away was excellent as well: Thank you Tiberia. Our late check-out on the last day was an extra bonus. This - our 2nd stay at the hotel - was not the last one. Venice 1 h 25 min by train, Firenze 35 min, Verona 55 min... very practical holiday hub.

Room Tip: we preferred a quiet room facing away from the train station
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rudi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sliema, Malta
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This hotel has a model chic lobby right and is literally across the road from Bologna Centrale. The rooms are not as modern though, but the beds were very comfortable, the linen crisp and white.

The bathroom had organic toiletries and there was enough for 2 people. There were tea making facilities in the bedroom which included herbal teas.

Breakfast in the morning was excellent. There was a range of breads and some hot food including scrambled eggs.

Overall, this is definetly a place to stay if for some reason you need to be close to the station. It is, however, within walking distance of the centre of Bologna, about 15 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveMay09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Nice and clean as by expectation . Service is very good and the location is really comfortable for business issue. Hotel need a small refreshment it's almost 5 or 6 years that it is not restyling. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack's C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Recently had the pleasure of spending a night in this hotel. It was chosen because of its proximity to the main train station in Bologna. We arrived late on a Sunday night and were welcomed by a friendly and helpful desk staff. The room was well appointed with a very comfortable bed and large well stocked bathroom. Although it was not a great view we asked and received a room facing the train station so we could watch the activity. The desk clerk directed to a restaurant two blocks away that was open late and served great pizza. The next morning we enjoyed a great breakfast including eggs and bacon and much more. A walk across the street and we were on our way to Venice. Would definitely stay there agin if the opportunity arose.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra on the superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel is just across the street from the train station. Could not be more convenient. It has very clean, spacious rooms. Very comfortable beds.
You can a couple of blocks to main street, and most of the sites.
Breakfast is good as is the service. I would stay there again when in Bologna.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Havana-sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Bologna is one of our favorite towns in Italy and this hotel is our go to hotel due to the location across from the train station, closeness to the Piazza, restaurants, and shopping. The rooms in the hotel is just tired and old and in need of updating. The restaurant and sitting areas are very nice and that's where we go to read and catch up on email, which is very slow due to just poor wifi. That said, We have stayed here before and will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
0.0 mi away
UNA Hotel Bologna
UNA Hotel Bologna
#26 of 103 in Bologna
971 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Bologna De La Gare
NH Bologna De La Gare
#38 of 103 in Bologna
1,567 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Bologna Centro
Mercure Bologna Centro
#50 of 103 in Bologna
2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
I Portici Hotel
I Portici Hotel
#23 of 103 in Bologna
1,405 reviews
0.8 mi away
Savhotel
Savhotel
#3 of 103 in Bologna
2,181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel Carlton
Royal Hotel Carlton
#19 of 103 in Bologna
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Excelsior

Property: Starhotels Excelsior
Address: Viale Pietro Pietramellara 51, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#19 Business Hotel in Bologna
#25 Family Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Starhotels Excelsior 4.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Starhotels Excelsior in Bologna. In this beautiful ancient University city, our contemporary chic hotel is considered to be one of the best. The location opposite the railway station is conveniently close to the Fiera as well as the historical heart. Our Italian style is an alluring combination of clean, fresh interiors throughout the lobby, library and restaurant, and cosy traditional bedrooms.In our city centre Bologna hotel there are 193 rooms and suites; a well-equipped fitness room; lounge and bar for relaxing, Avorio restaurant serving traditional Bolognese food; and five meeting rooms seating up to 380 delegates in total. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Starhotels Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Excelsior Hotel Bologna
Starhotels Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing