We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect if you travel by train”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Starhotels Excelsior
Ranked #26 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Very conveniently located opposite of the entrance to the train station. The room was clean, the staff were helpful, and the breakfast buffet was quite good. Only a short 15 minutes walk down the shopping street to the historic centre of Bologna. Would be happy to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Sigbjørn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

321 - 327 of 1,721 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

i admittedly had some doubts when we first arrived by taxi. Indigent folks on the poorly lit sidewalk outside the hotel. However, once settling into our visit of the city, I was more than satisfied with the stay. The room was a decent size, clean and quiet with a nice bathroom, LCD TV, and refrigerator. The staff were friendly and helpful.

The hotel is conveniently located across the street from the train station, and about a 10 minute walk from the historic center and all of its activities and dining spots. It would be nice if the area in front of the hotel were a bit better lit.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kreino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Generally stay away from railroad or bus station's vicinity, but this hotel was a great exception. Across from Bologna's central rail station, this hotel offers great accommodations, clean and very comfortable big rooms. Great breakfast and conveniently located right across from the rail station.

Room Tip: Rooms are soundproofed, spacious and super clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LoveToTravelNJ63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The hotel was fine for our one-night stay (we had a plane to catch the next morning). The concierge was efficient with check-in and check-out. If you are using Bologna as a hub for day trips to other parts of Emilia-Romagna, this hotel could work for you because it is so close to the main train station. However, for exploring historic Bologna I would recommend a hotel that is closer to the city center.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 143_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The hotel is opposite the train station of bologna.Die rooms are quiet and large. The breakfast is ok. Staff does their wor,.away from the centrum duration 10 minutes.There are many bars and restaurants opposite the train station

Room Tip: ok for 2 nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brumdibar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Excellent hotel near the railway station that is a safe area. We were upgraded to a deluxe room that was excellent and spotless. The breakfast buffet was superb except for the strange selection of 3 juices that must be an acquired taste. We found the location near the railway station to be quite safe and very near to the main pedestrianized area of the city is only a 2 minute walk. We visit Sicily by train from the UK regularly and will now probably always use this hotel for a stopover or short break.

Room Tip: Our room on the third floor overlooked the rear and was very quiet so cannot comment on the rooms th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mealypied69000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We made Bologna a pitt stop whilst driving to Southern Italy from the UK and it is a comfortable and convenient hotel for a short stay. It is a taxi ride to the centre of Bologna (about 10 euros to the towers) but very easy to get taxis as there is a stand at the train station across the road. We had a room in the back and had no problems with noise. The parking has a surcharge but right at the hotel so very easy. Overall a comfortable experience but if we were to return I may opt for something more central, especially if we didnt have a car.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Bologna De La Gare
NH Bologna De La Gare
#37 of 102 in Bologna
1,677 reviews
0 mi away
Mercure Bologna Centro
Mercure Bologna Centro
#52 of 102 in Bologna
2,198 reviews
0.8 mi away
Savhotel
Savhotel
#3 of 102 in Bologna
2,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Metropolitan Hotel
Metropolitan Hotel
#8 of 102 in Bologna
1,573 reviews
0.3 mi away
I Portici Hotel
I Portici Hotel
#23 of 102 in Bologna
1,470 reviews
0 mi away
UNA Hotel Bologna
UNA Hotel Bologna
#25 of 102 in Bologna
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Excelsior

Address: Viale Pietro Pietramellara 51, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#16 Family Hotel in Bologna
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#19 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: £76 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Starhotels Excelsior 4.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Starhotels Excelsior in Bologna. In this beautiful ancient University city, our contemporary chic hotel is considered to be one of the best. The location opposite the railway station is conveniently close to the Fiera as well as the historical heart. Our Italian style is an alluring combination of clean, fresh interiors throughout the lobby, library and restaurant, and cosy traditional bedrooms.In our city centre Bologna hotel there are 193 rooms and suites; a well-equipped fitness room; lounge and bar for relaxing, Avorio restaurant serving traditional Bolognese food; and five meeting rooms seating up to 380 delegates in total. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Starhotels Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Excelsior Hotel Bologna
Starhotels Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing