We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Art Hotel Orologio
Ranked #13 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

just an adorable hotel in perfect location for Bologna -- we borrowed the pushbikes and enjoyed a spectacular day sigghtseeing. I loved the old fashioned decor and so close to the shopping precinct and some delicious restaurants just off the piazza. It was wonderful to find a breakfast with more than white rolls, sliced ham, cheese and a yoghurt-- here I enjoyed delicious fresh peaches and great cappucino.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank IslandAmber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Art Hotel Orologio, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014
Google Translation

Grazie per la splendida recensione che ha scritto. Torni presto a trovarci, un saluto dal centro storico!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here two nights and were very happy with the hotel. We were upgraded to a suite, which was a nice surprise. Clean, friendly, great breakfast. Bed and linens were very comfortable. The collection of antique clocks was a nice touch. It is steps from "the piazza" with Gianbologna's Neptune and fountain and walkable to all the sights. This was our first time in Bologna- a very beautiful city!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ellenwoodoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

All I stayed at the Orologio 4nights 21 nov. I stayed in room #54 which was a delux double very comfortable room looking out on the piazza maggiore. Nice tub and bathroom ,minibar to store cold drinks. I loved the central location. Some reviews have complained about the décor but it was just fine. breakfast the variety of fruit, rolls, ham/cheese etc good selection. Computer access very helpful too. I took 2 day trips to Ravenna, and Faenza and being within a 20 min walk to the station was good. staff helpful and I even used a bike they had.

Room Tip: choose a room that faces the piazza I had room #54 or a room in the back away from the elevator,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrennaBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

There isn't much to say negatively about Art Hotel Orologio. It is centrally located, the staff are competent and helpful, the breakfast is extensive although some items after a day or two seem a bit stale around the edges, and the rooms are comfortable. Okay, this place has no idea of what a pillow is supposed to look like, but we can accept all that. The place is clean, and the bathroom is fine. We were there in early September and the AC didn't exactly blow us away, but it was enough to cool us after a day of searching out the finest ragu in town. (Don't try. Bologna has good and super good restaurants. Just pick a name you like. You are not likely to be disappointed.) So what is the reservation? We had two unfortunate incidents; the first an understandable error and the second that challenged our faith in the quality and standing of this "Art" hotel.
In the first case we arrived at Hotel Orologio after 2 flights, a bus shuttle, a train ride and a taxi ride. We were greeted professionally and our bags were carried in. We were instructed to go to our rooms and our bags would be delivered in good time. There is a 1 1/2 floor climb to the elevator , and the staff was attempting to lighten our load, After a time our bags were delivered to our room. we paid little attention to the bags for some time, but when we decided to unpack, we discovered that the blue bag delivered to our room was not OUR blue bag. We were in a panic. At what point did we pick up the wrong bag? Quickly deciding that it could not have been our mistake, I picked up the bogus bag and ran downstairs to the lobby. There I found our blue bag, ready to be loaded to be moved out with the luggage of another guest who was moving on. I made the switch and all was well once again. No harm, no foul.
The second incident was more troubling. We were in our last full day before moving on to Tuscany. My wife decided to do some shopping and I decided to take that long comforting shower I felt I had earned. I took the shower, wrapped myself in a towel. and moved to the living area to dress. At that point I heard a key in the door and thought that my wife was returning, albeit a bit early from her shopping adventure. To my surprise it was a hotel employee, clipboard in hand, equally surprised to see me. He had assumed that we had both taken the opportunity to leave the room. He explained that he was there to check to see what we had used from the mini-bar. I indicated nothing, but that he was willing to check my honesty. He did, and then he left somewhat sheepishly after finding that we had not used anything form their mini-bar. I found this whole incident to be very tacky and quite unbecoming to what we assumed to be a place of high reputation and quality. We have travelled all over Italy in our four trips and we have never encountered such penny pinching, mistrust, and cowardly behavior. Once we were in Rome and on checkout I indicated what I had consumed from the mini-bar and the desk said something like, "We don't really care. it isn't important to us." It is important here at Hotel Orologio. So, if you don't mind someone sneaking into your room when they think you are not there just to check on the possible absence of one of their precious beverages, rather that trusting your honesty, this might just be the place for you. It isn't for us.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the art hotel Orologio for the fifth time in late October. It is a perfectly located and charming three star hotel. Lovely rooms but showers only in the bathrooms, excellent beds, excellent wi fi. Lovely staff. Fine breakfast. Beautiful antiques in the halls and public rooms. The hotel is just off the Piazza Maggiore and is right on all the great shopping streets of Bologna. Whether you are looking for women's clothing or parmigiano reggiano you won't have to carry your packages far. Lots of good restaurants in easy walking distance. A wonderful place to stay in this beautiful vibrant and historic city

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank Thaud .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Bologna is a great place. It has all the history and charm of more famous rivals such as Verona or Florence, but without the package-tour crowds. You will find mostly locals even on the majestic Piazza Maggiore and the irresistible food stores peppering its side strees.
Just off this beautiful Piazza is the Orologio Hotel. A smallish place with just the right amount of old-world Audrey Hepburn charm. The rooms are nice without being overdone. Check out the adorably Italian breakfast area. Amazing value for such a location.

Room Tip: Having a room at the front means a little more noise, but this is more than compensated by views on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jurriaan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We had booked two nights at the Art Hotel Orologio. Let me state the positives first - friendly and efficient staff, excellent location.
We arrived having booked a 'deluxe' room which was supposed to have a view of some sort according to Booking.Com. We were shown to a room with a tiny window that looked out onto what could only be described as a shaft, certainly not a courtyard.
Not to be deterred my husband went to find out what else was available and we were given a choice of three rooms - one of which had someone's gear still sitting there (apparently awaiting checkout) and - oddly - a cigarette left burning in an ashtray on the window ledge. We chose the room that was recommended as 'the best in the hotel'.
To cut a long and sorry story short - yes, we ended up with a view across the main piazza, but we were kept awake until well after 3 a.m. by noisy neighbours in the apartment next door - not to mention the hotel elevator (although thankfully, that stopped at around midnight). At 2 a.m. my husband went down to reception to see if the hotel could possibly do anything about the noise and the man in charge was hugely apologetic and explained that the hotel has had trouble in the past and that they are trying their best to resolve the issue. (This made me wonder why we were told it was the 'best room in the hotel' - in my book, you pay a hotel for a clean and decent place to SLEEP which was never going to be the case in this room with paper thin walls and a house full of party-goers next door).
We finally slept at around 3.30 only to be woken at 6 a.m. by the church bells - daylight saving had begun but obviously nobody had told the church and their clocks struck 7. Obviously that's not the hotel's fault but it didn't make the situation any better.
We checked out. Thoroughly disappointed. We were offered another room for the night but I'm afraid we couldn't wait to leave.
Other prospective guests should note that the decor is very tired in this hotel - our shower was in dire need of new silicone joins - mould was everywhere to be seen and the toilet looked clean but smelled awful (or perhaps it was the drain from the bidet - I'm not sure, in either case, it was horrible). The carpet in the public areas is stained. I'm sorry to rate this hotel poorly as I usually write the most positive reviews possible, but we really had a terrible experience - we checked out as soon as we could and fled to a bed and breakfast near Pisa where we enjoyed beautifully clean facilities and a fantastic night's sleep.
On another negative note - there seemed to be ashtrays in every room we saw - certainly the cloth on the bedside table in our room smelled of cigarette smoke. We had specifically requested a non-smoking room - we let this pass as there were other, bigger problems to deal with but if you are smoke sensitive, you may want to avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MonkeyBites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Metropolitan Hotel
#8 of 102 in Bologna
1,573 reviews
Art Hotel Commercianti
#12 of 102 in Bologna
554 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 102 in Bologna
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Al Cappello Rosso
#9 of 102 in Bologna
839 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 102 in Bologna
2,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Orologio

Address: Via Quattro Novembre 10, 40123 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#11 Family Hotel in Bologna
#16 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: £89 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Art Hotel Orologio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off Piazza Maggiore, right across from the antique Clock Tower from which the hotel gets its name, this Art Hotel represents the ideal stay for those who love atmospheric historical flavour without forgoing the comforts of a modern hotel. Hotel Orologio is a delightful and charming hotel with a view of the city’s most venerable landmarks: the Palazzo Comunale, Palazzo d’Accursio, Palazzo dei Notai all frame Piazza Maggiore, one of Italy’s most beautiful medieval piazzas. Our warm and welcoming tea room offers a moment of repose in the tranquil peace of a typical Bolognese palazzo. It central location provides the ideal starting point for sampling the events, museums, theatres, culture, and shopping that Bologna has to offer, all close at hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Art Hotel Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orologio Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing