We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient small hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Paradise Hotel
Ranked #13 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Convenient small hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We've stayed twice at the Paradise, and we enjoyed it both trips. It's about a ten or fifteen minute walk from the train station, so it's an easy walk if you travel light. It's located on a small side street, so if you're not familiar with the location it's good to have a map or use your phone's map app for guidance. It's also about a ten minute walk to Piazza Maggiore, and about two blocks from a Conad supermarket. Our room was comfortable, clean, and functional. The breakfast is good, and the staff are friendly, helpful, and accommodating. It's everything we need for a visit to Bologna.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JT S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    286
    64
    4
    3
See reviews for
78
311
79
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

My wife and I spent 2 nights in Bologna and stayed at the Paradise Hotel. Our room (302) had 2 skylights which added considerable light and cheeriness to the room. The bathroom was small but very functional. The breakfast (that was included) had lots of variety. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Thanks to Ombretta and Marisa for your excellent service!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Our group of 4 (2 couples) have just enjoyed a few days in the Hotel Paradise in Bologna. It is difficult to sing it's praises highly enough, from the super welcome, well appointed rooms, very pleasant and helpfull staff, excellent breakfast selection, and many small but lovely touches, like sweets dotted around, umbrellas for guests, and good advice on restaurants. The location of the hotel is superb, generally quiet, but just a few minutes walk from many attractions and the main sites.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

The Paradise is in a quiet side street just off the main street linking the town centre to the train station, 10-15 minutes walk to the latter, less to the centre. Good points - the staff are friendly and helpful, and a continental breakfast is included. We had booked a standard double room, but were given a spacious if rather shabby suite in a gloomy annexe to the hotel, just 50m away. This was fine, as we were sightseeing all day. No traffic noise or other disturbances.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timperley5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limburg
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Usually I prefer to stay at B&B because of the personal contact with the owners and the fact it's less crowded, but this was no problem at all. The people at the reception were helpfull and motivated.

We arrived with a group of 10 persons. Last minute an additional person wanted to join us, which was no problem at all.

I choose for this hotel because of the reviews on tripadvisor, a fair prise, the location (you can reach everything by feet) and the breakfast which offered more than one croissant with a coffeer;

The rooms where clean, not big (neither too small) and everything was OK.
The WIFI worked well.

I read in other reviews that it could be noisy at night because of people outside. I can not confirm this, it didn't bother me. The student quarter is some streets ahead.

If there is something that could be improved, I think about the quality of the bed an the breakfast (a better coffee machine, some more cheese and the quality of the bread);

Room Tip: First or second floor. Third floor is under the roof, it feels smaller and however airconditioning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BaronT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Just back after spending 6 nights at The Paradise Hotel in Bologna. First of all let me say that
we found the Paradise very friendly and all the staff make an effort to be of help. The hotel
itself is small and you get that feeling when you enter the place. Our room was rather tight
with a very small bathroom and a smaller shower. There was no kettle in the room so we
couldn't make a cup of tea or coffee. I had forgotten to check this prior to booking as I
took it for granted that this is now standard in all hotels, even in B&Bs. The breakfast was
barely adequate and the same food was served on the 6 mornings we were there. It would
be nice to have a little bit of variety. The only english news channel on the TV was Al Jazeera
not a big deal but we happen to be News Buffs. On the Saturdfay night, the bar across the road gets very noisy as as we were at the front of the building, we really felt the brunt of this. Overall, it was ok but I don't think we'd go back to the Paradise as it didn't work for us.

Room Tip: if you're staying over the week-end ask for room at back
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cuilaodha22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARADISEBO, Proprietario at Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Sirs,
Thanks for your feedback.
It's true that our rooms are not so big and actually we do not advertise our hotel in this way. This lack of big spaces is one of the reason why we are not able to put kettles in the room.
We are situated in the historical centre of Bologna so from here you can reach in a few steps all the main interesting points of Bologna but this means ancient buildings that can be
renewed and not enlarged!
You have certainly seen that we have a small bar open 24 hrs a day just next to the reception desk: we are always glad to offer hot water to our Guests asking for it but unfortunately you did not.
We offer a wide selections of food at breakfast time and most of our Guests seems to appreciate it, as you can read in many other reviews. But we are aware that each of us has different taste and we respect your opinion.
We also have a BBC channel, but sometimes satellites change their position, so if advised during your stay we could have setted your tv.
We are sorry that the bar opposite was so noisy on Saturday night: in the future we will do our best to check that this won't happen anymore.
Kind regards,
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We have stayed a couple of nights in this hotel which is ideally located in central zone of Bologna. You could walk to almost all touristic atractions. We were with our boys, and even a 5 y.o. boy managed with ease our strolls. Staff is very nice and helpfull, rooms very clean and the breakfast good. Many good trattorias and restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: For a family with children you should go for a studio which consists in a very large room divided in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petru_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Metropolitan Hotel
#6 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,271 reviews
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
#10 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Vitale
Il Canale Hotel
Il Canale Hotel
#12 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Albergo Centrale
#24 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Hotel

Property: Paradise Hotel
Address: Vicolo Cattani 7, 40126 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > San Vitale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Bologna
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#24 Family Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Paradise is more than a hotel: it's our house, open with love to our guests. In our rooms you will always find our warmth and passion. A ball of wool yarn will welcome you and bring you back to us every time you may return to Bologna. Our stories too... Will cradle you to a good nights' sleep, and upon the following morning you will rise to find our good humor any assistance ready to please. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Paradise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing