We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ripped off and run out of town” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residenza Due Torri

Residenza Due Torri
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residenza Due Torri
Ranked #94 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Saint Johnsbury, Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ripped off and run out of town”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Even though I had cancelled the second night of our two night stay, when we checked in they
refused to acknowledge our cancellation even though we had copies of email correspondences. We were told that we would have to pay the full for the two nights if we wanted to stay there for the night and that it could be sorted out on the morning. Next day we met with the manager and were told that there was nothing that she could do. Disgusted we went out for breakfast as the hotel "breakfast" consisted of some cheap crappy factory made pastries in plastic and instant coffee. When we came back we were told in no uncertain terms by the extremely rude desk clerk that we had to be out within five minutes even though we had paid for the room for another night. The manager refused to speak to us, so disgusted and not wanting this bummer ruin our trip, we left. Expedia, who did the initial booking couldn't get anywhere with the hotel people but they did give us a $50 gift certificate towards our next trip which we appreciated very much. Advice- avoid this place at all costs

Room Tip: research reviews carefully
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moorebarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    26
    11
    11
    12
See reviews for
8
14
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tirana, Albania
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

A part from the location this is Not a three stat Hotel. Is just a big apartment with 3 bedrooms, no elevator.The staff is unpolite, the room was not made properly, the minibar was empty.Very poor breakfast...We arrived at the hotel and evenwhile they were informed about our arrival time there was no one waiting for us.upon check out which they confirmed is at 12.oo they put out our luggage without our permission.when we arrived at 11.45 our luggage was placed outside the room and no comment from them.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank albania1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bologna hotels

Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

[+] We travelled around Emilia-Romagna during our Easter holidays and our last stop was in Bologna. We chose the Residenza Due Torri basically because of the location. The residence is just 400m to the Piazza Maggiore. Our quadruple room (called Le Lys Blanc :3 ) was quite spacious: 1 double bed and 2 single beds. It was clean, warm and cozy. There was a kettle and tea/coffee/biscuits/water in the room (this was the breakfast). The wifi connection was very good. The interior was nicely decorated with vintage style details.
The owner lady was nice: she not only agreed to make a small discount but also gave the children a pleasant surprise before leaving. She took upon the role of the Easter bunny and gave them a huge chocolate egg ^.^

[-] The street was not very pretty - quite dark and adjacent building in renovation works. Maybe we had such feeling because it was non-stop raining in Bologna :)

Room Tip: The room Le Lys Blanc is right to the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank w4nd3rluster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

Old mattresses that should have been replaced sometime in the last century, lose a star... filthy bath with cold water... I think that's got to be a star doesn't it? Hot water.. Well we're down to 1 then... And the most depressing and pathetic excuse for a woman owner who lacks even a shred of people skills.. Yep great career choice lady... Lose another star... So that's no stars... Do not stay here people!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Slats74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

A part from the nice location and the cleanliness of the place I just can say this is NOT a hotel. It's just a woman renting out some rooms in a small building in the center of Bologna... more like a hostel. Rooms are very small; steep stairs and no elevator; ridiculous breakfast included (if you can call it breakfast) right at the table of your room. Goes without saying the "3 stars" is just a joke, even for Italian standards (and I'm Italian).

THE EXPERIENCE: the lady owner told us not to lock the door at the reception and the front-door with keys when we had gone out (none would have got in without keys from the outside). Other guests got out from their room few minutes before us and they probably forgot this advise: they locked the external door at the reception. When we tried to get out, the door was closed and from the inside it was not possible to open it again (even with the same key that you would use from the outside). On a small paper at the wall, a message was stating: "in case of emergency pls call XXXXXXX". I called and the lady owner picked up. Goes without saying there was nobody at the reception at 7pm. She was evidently annoyed by me calling and after I explained we were stuck inside the "hotel". She said LITERALLY: "Well, what can I do?". I began to get upset. She replied "Well, I'm at home. If I have to come there it will take a while". I thought she should have started running. She added: "I don't have a chopper, you know?"
Luckily some other friends were out of the same door helping us out but with different keys (they were sleeping in a different floor). So the woman suggested to pass the keys to them throwing them out of the window making "sure to have them first wrapped up in a towel... otherwise the key-ring might break". Well.. it worked and thanks God the lady owner didn't have to leave her place. She was probably having dinner and she didn't want to be bothered. Besides this inconvenience, it's also a matter of safety. What in case of fire?

I'm still wondering how the hell this can be called "hotel" and "service". Of course, the day after, I looked for the lady owner before leaving the "hotel".... but she was not at the reception.... damn it!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrbonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
122 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

This is puzzling as the descriptions in CatCopp's, kalkan09's and slowbear's reviews seem to be of a completely different place to where my husband and I stayed earlier this month. Perhaps there has been a change of ownership.
1. There was no place for breakfast rather there were rolls and pastries - in plastic wrappers - as well as the wherewithal to make coffee and tea. We were provided with fresh milk and yoghourt.
2. There were no plastic flowers. Everything was white and gold - but not flashy.
The location is as described by slowbear: down a back alley, very close to the main square. We were worried it would be noisy, but it was quiet. The bed was very comfortable. It's not really a hotel, more serviced rooms - there is not staff on duty continuously. But as a serviced room in the centre of the old town it was very good.

Room Tip: Rooms are on first and second floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

The lady owner was not nice; she told me (a woman) to come and get my coffee, then served two men at their table. When I told her discreetly in the hall afterwards that this was not correct, she actually argued with me that she did nothing wrong. After this I ate breakfast elsewhere. The other staff tried their best to be kind. One front desk guy came to work with the flu and fever and then I caught it too, so I was sick for a week. The cleaning staff were also good, although the first day someone left my room door unlocked and that was how I found it on my return, so I had to speak to the owner about this too. The mattress was uncomfortable and actually sucked the heat out of my body so I had to sleep on top of the blankets with one coverlet over me! The only reason I stayed was the price was affordable. Bologna is very expensive for hotels in the historic centre. Also the location was very good for my purpose. I liked having the small fridge in my room and the tea-making facility. There were lots of good places to eat nearby. I returned to Bologna a couple of months later and stayed happily at the Hotel San Donato instead.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CatCopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Porto
BuonHotel
BuonHotel
#38 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Saragozza
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#61 of 104 in Bologna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Santo Stefano
Albergo Garisenda
Albergo Garisenda
#56 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Panorama Hotel
#35 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Hotel Cavour
#32 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Art Hotel Commercianti
#8 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Due Torri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Due Torri

Property: Residenza Due Torri
Address: Via Degli Usberti 6, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza Due Torri 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Residenza Due Torri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Due Torri Hotel
Due Torri Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing