We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great prices and excellent service”
Review of Hotel Il Guercino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Il Guercino
Ranked #28 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Good location, 10 minutes on foot from the central square and shopping district of Bologna. Friendly, helpful staff, always ready to answer any question. Generous breakfast with incredibly good pastries. My room was well appointed, a little small but still more than sufficient. Will stay here again when in the city.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,517)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Il Guercino
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

184 - 190 of 1,517 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel is a cheaper 3 star hotel and as such it fits the bill
I arrived late one week day and was checked into a room where air con was of as was the mini bar so it took me some time to get both room and beverages cooled down to an acceptable temperature.
Staff is very friendly and tries hard to please you
The room I was in was very small and was lacking some amenities but it was clean and well kept
The location is good and very close to city centre and the entrance through is very nice
Don't expect 4 star luxury or business amenities but expect well run small hotel with friendly staff at a very good price

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterRavnRasmussen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Each time I arrive at Hotel il Guercino in Bologna, I'm impressed by the warmth and generosity shown by the staff. Clean, convenient, and comfortable. The hotel regularly updates their facilities, recently adding a spa and upgrading some of the rooms. The location is perfect for train travel (also bus to airport), especially now that the train station has an exit on the south side. I wish all my European hotels were as nice as this one.

Room Tip: If traveling with a small group, ask about their suites which can be configured for 5-6 people.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank j2inky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This gem is excellent value. High professionalism in both venue and staff. The decor and choices are superb with thoughtful touches for every traveler. This is a terrific hotel. It is a short distance to the main road into Bologna which is a great relief as the city is noisy and best visited from this distance. We walked from the train station with no problem. Peaceful and restful, the excellent and very international breakfast gives you enough satisfaction to fuel your day.

Room Tip: Any room should be fine, there is a very tasty Pizza shop very close by. Ask the staff as they are v...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugemongrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Great hotel and very good value for money. Rooms are great with a balcony! Only 20 mins walk from the centre of old town bologna and it's a beautiful walk! Close to the airport as well it will cost you under 20 euros in taxi. We only stayed 1 night before taking a flight home the next day

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Markclo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I have stayed in this hotel on several occasions although room 601 is the worst room I have stayed in I do believe that overall it was again a pleasant experience. The staff are most helpful and breakfast was superb and will definitely stay again but I will request a different room

Room Tip: don't book 601 you can hear restaurant down stairs and tiny room
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Animalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Enjoyed our stay in Bologna, hotel was well maintained, staff helpful & friendly. Room was what I expected, good bathroom facilities. Staff recommended an excellent restaurant within a few blocks, La Corte dei Ghiottoni. Only drawback was the location, quite a walk to the city center. Having said that, it is quite convenient to the train station which is what I was looking for.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
#10 of 102 in Bologna
1,425 reviews
Panorama Hotel
#30 of 102 in Bologna
267 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 102 in Bologna
2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
I Portici Hotel
#23 of 102 in Bologna
1,439 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 102 in Bologna
2,471 reviews
San Vitale
Il Canale Hotel
Il Canale Hotel
#5 of 102 in Bologna
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Guercino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Guercino

Address: Via Luigi Serra 7, 40129 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bologna
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#20 Family Hotel in Bologna
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#27 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: £61 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Il Guercino 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Guercino is a 4 stars Hotel in Bologna, only 250 mt far from Centrale Train Station (high speed terminal - Carracci exit The hotel is divided into 5 types of rooms: Standard rooms, Superior, Superior Jacuzzi rooms, Junior Suite , Family Room, Flower Room, all carefully equipped with minibar, free WiFi, air conditioning, LCD Satellite TV, telephone, Kettle, Fitness Club and bike's use are free of charge. Many of our rooms have private terraces suitable for smokers, or owners of small pets. Its eclectic environment is a perfect combination of old and new and its position allows to reach easily Bologna Fiera, the Historical Centre, the Airport, the Central train Station and the city points of interest. The Hotel offerts a Solarium, an inside private SPA with Jacuzzi, Finnish sauna, Turkish bath with chromo therapy, a relaxation area with music and herbal teas, and a charming Breakfast room where is posssible to taste the morning buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Il Guercino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guercino Hotel
Minotel Bologna
Il Guercino Bologna
Bologna Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing