We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great base for exploring Bologna”
Review of Hotel Il Guercino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Il Guercino
Ranked #29 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Bromley
1 review
“A great base for exploring Bologna”
Reviewed 6 September 2009

We recently stayed two nights at Il Guercino and were so pleased that we chose the hotel - it was excellent value, well situated (about 10 minutes from the station and 20 minutes from town) and the staff were really helpful in recommending restaurants and places to visit. An unexpected room upgrade was also a beautiful start to the holiday! Would thoroughly recommend the hotel - and the breakfast buffet at 5 euros was pretty good too.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weird_weekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    682
    195
    58
    30
See reviews for
183
599
124
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, England
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2009

A friend and I stayed for 3 nights at Il Guercino in late July and were very happy with it. From the warm welcome at reception we knew we had made a good choice of hotel.
For an extra EUR5 we could help ourselves to a plentiful buffet breakfast.
We had a twin room on the ground floor, it was clean and well decorated, in keeping with the rest of the hotel. Our room was made up every day and all the staff spoke good English and were very helpful and informative.
The train station was a 10/15 minute walk and the main centre of Bologna only 15/20 mins.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PATRIAGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2009

We booked this hotel based on the trip advisor reviews and the price and we weren't disappointed at all. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted to stay in Bologna or use Bologna as a base for their travels around the region. It has very easy access to the central station (just a 5 minute walk) and is about 2 kms to the centre of town. It's easily walkable in 20 mins.
The staff are very friendly, speak good English and the hotel and rooms are spotless. The breakfast for 5 euros is brilliant with an unlimited buffet and a huge selection of continental or cooked options. Our room was a reasonable size with a nice clean bathroom. Our fridge didn't work during our stay but that is our only gripe. For the money, this is a fabulous option! Bologna is a great city too!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Super service, very clean rooms, nice atmosphere, good price, very nice design, including airconditioning (> 30 degrees outside), complete breakfast, well-speaking personell, very near to the city center and airport, low price. We hope to find such a hotel in more places/countries!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sverbrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Only stayed one night here, but with a very good price I was impressed. My room was spacious, the bathroom excellent, and the staff very helpful and friendly. The air conditioning was great, very important considering how hot it was! Good location near the railway station, and good for exploring the beautiful city of Bologna. Breakfast was basic but cheap as an additional cost to my room.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2009

This hotel has been regularly reviewed, and I am happy to agree with the emerging consensus.

The hotel is great value: clean, reasonably spacious, quiet (some aircraft noise aside), unobtrusive and effective AC, and a more than reasonable breakfast for your additional €5. You can see the best of Bologna in an afternoon, whereupon you will welcome Il Guercino's proximity to Bologna railway station for easy access to Parma, Ravenna, Modena and Ferrara (strikes permitting).

Quibbles: you are on the wrong side of the tracks (literally) but it's a straight road, and 15 minutes' leisurely stroll, to the town centre. And I feel bad trying to think of any others at this price.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmcateer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2009

Unlike so many anonymous hotel chains this hotel seems like a place and destination in its own right. It has a personality from the decorated walls, pictures and framed prints, selection of antiques and interesting furniture. We cannot speak highly enough of the reception which was excellent and helpful, so we had no worries about leaving a teenage daughter here on her own for a night when her trip diverged from that of the rest of the family. Undoubtedly the hotel is not in the smartest area of Bologna, but it is in its own courtyard and is surprisingly secluded. It is also handy for the main station and public transport to the centre is close by. There was excellent air conditioning in the rooms. Breakfast was good; and tea and coffee facillities were available in the room. Also left luggage room for secure storage of bags after checking out. Following advice on this site we asked for rooms in "the dependance" which necessitated carrying bags upstairs, but I can't imagine that there is much wrong with the other rooms in the newer part of the hotel. Follow the reception's directions to the local pizzaria which was good fun, and good value. The hotel itself was the best value we found on a month long tour in Europe.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katessanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
#10 of 103 in Bologna
1,387 reviews
San Donato
Hotel Cosmopolitan Bologna
Starhotels Excelsior
#23 of 103 in Bologna
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Savhotel
#3 of 103 in Bologna
2,148 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#24 of 103 in Bologna
1,372 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 103 in Bologna
2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Guercino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Guercino

Property: Hotel Il Guercino
Address: Via Luigi Serra 7, 40129 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bologna
#19 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#20 Family Hotel in Bologna
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#27 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Il Guercino 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Guercino is a 4 stars Hotel in Bologna, only 250 mt far from Centrale Train Station (high speed terminal - Carracci exit The hotel is divided into 5 types of rooms: Standard rooms, Superior, Superior Jacuzzi rooms, Junior Suite , Family Room, Flower Room, all carefully equipped with minibar, free WiFi, air conditioning, LCD Satellite TV, telephone, Kettle, Fitness Club and bike's use are free of charge. Many of our rooms have private terraces suitable for smokers, or owners of small pets. Its eclectic environment is a perfect combination of old and new and its position allows to reach easily Bologna Fiera, the Historical Centre, the Airport, the Central train Station and the city points of interest. The Hotel offerts a Solarium, an inside private SPA with Jacuzzi, Finnish sauna, Turkish bath with chromo therapy, a relaxation area with music and herbal teas, and a charming Breakfast room where is posssible to taste the morning buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Il Guercino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guercino Hotel
Minotel Bologna
Il Guercino Bologna
Bologna Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing