We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, very helpful staff and great location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Il Guercino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Il Guercino
Ranked #29 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
1 review
“Great hotel, very helpful staff and great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2010

Hotel il Guercino is a nice little hotel in Bologna. It is a short walk to the train and bus station where the bus takes you in to town from the airport. The 10-15 minute walk in to the main square is nice if you're not in a rush. If not there is a bus that takes you there from the hotel (1-2 min walk to the bus). The hotel also rents out bikes. We hired them one day and found that it was a very plesant way to see the town.

The room we had was little (but big enough!), with a nice big bed, a desk, air conditioning, a little safe, a tv and a nice bathroom and it was very clean!!! Our room was faced towards the courtyard and was very quiet.

This is a great place to stay if you want to see other parts of Italy as well as Bologna. We stayed 6 nights at the hotel and spent two of those days in Venice and Florence. The train tickets are cheap and if you go early you have the whole day away!

The breakfast at the hotel was very nice (buffet) and the staff was VERY helpful. They helped us find all the trains and busses we needed, and they got us maps of other towns etc. The value for the money was very good - we payed 150 eur each for one week!

If I go to Bologna again this if definately the place I will stay!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Sunny2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    651
    186
    57
    28
See reviews for
178
578
120
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2010

such small rooms, you can hardly turn around without stepping on the bed. tiny bathrooms and absolut tiny showers!!! unfriendly at the reception. so loud - the walls have ears - each step you can hear. and the hardest thing: they charge you € 79 per nigth for such a room. and the balcony (haha!) ! no daylight during the day! after complainment, they gave us another room, just a little big bigger, but no daylight at all! just incredible!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masznitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guercino, Servizio pubbliche relazioni at Hotel Il Guercino, responded to this review, 18 March 2010
Dear Ms Luisamina,

Hotel Il Guercino Team apologizes sincerely for your complete disagreement with our House. We can understand you were upset with your accommodation at our Hotel that was not managed by you directly, so you did not have the chance to choose the accommodation could be more suitable for you. The image you seen of our rooms was maybe one of our superior rooms with balcony, unfortunately already fully booked during your stay.
The second day of your stay you have been moved to a new room specifically requested by you where you felt most comfortable, without wanting to visit other even on higher floors, and you told us were happy about your decision.
Maybe you do not remember you had not to pay any extra charge for the larger room you requested and understanding your disappointment we provided a considerable rate discount at the end of your stay.

Should your travel plans bring you back to Bologna, we will be more than glad to be at your complete disposal, and we hope you will give us a new chance to show you the high quality of our services

Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven CT
Level Contributor
131 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2010

We stayed for one night at this hotel. The rooms were very clean well kept . We had a 10 min walk from the train station on arrival. We purchased a 24 hour bus pass for 6 euros and the bus stop was 2 min walk from the hotel.We felt very safe. Take the bus back to the train station and its a 3 min ride. The breakfast was cold and coffee was very good. Paid 64 euros w/b. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VizziOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2010

We had a wonderful time staying for 2 nights in this curious and interesting hotel. A short walk from the central station to a quiet neighborhood, our room was fantastic, clean and recently renovated.

The staff were fantastic, spoke very good English and were helpful to organise restaurants and transport.

The room had a TV, ensuite, mini-bar and balcony and other than the thin walls (the couple next door certainly 'celebrated' their arrival in Bologna) we were very happy.

With such excellent pricing, we would definitely stay here again on any future visits to Bologna.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blu3mupp3t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2010

We chose this hotel because of price and location. It is very close to the train station and the shopping and eating. The rooms were so cozy and nicely decorated. It had all the amenities you may need. There is cheap internet available for purchase. Our room had a nice little patio with a sliding door. It was also very clean.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baileyroxallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2010

We came to Bologna for 3 nights and found this fab little hotel. It is just a few minutes walk from the train station and was very easy to find as it is signposted from the main road. We were impressed with how lovely it was the moment we walked inside. Our bedroom was small but beautifully decorated in yellow and pale green and we had a balcomy and 2 large windows overlooking the hotel coutyard. The bathroom was exceptionally clean and the shower was super pressure. There were also tea and coffee making facilities in the room, a TV and a minibar.
The staff were brilliant. Very helpful and speak very good English. The breakfast room is lovely and breakfast was as substantial as you wanted it. There were rolls, bread for toast, croissants, scrambled eggs, sausages, fruit, cereal, cake, cheese, ham etc. It was very good.
Would definitely stay here again. 2 minutes walk to main road where the number 27 bus appears every few minutes and takes about 5 mins to get into the centre.
Bologna is fantastic. Loads to do. We were there 3 days and didn't get to see it all. Must go back!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirleyeSheffieldUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2010

Stayed there on a three nights stay over Xmas, and was just great. The hotel has the right level of corkyness to make it special but not weird, and the overall experience was remarkable. The Hotel is in a quiet area very close to the train station, the rooms are good size and modern (with a very unclassical touch that makes them unique), bfast was delicious, attentive service and, above all, very good value for money.

Will be definitely considering this hotel when going back to Bologna.
Hidden gem

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EZ-goer81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Donato
Hotel Cosmopolitan Bologna
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
#10 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Savhotel
#3 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,075 reviews
Porto
Suite Hotel Elite
Suite Hotel Elite
#22 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#20 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Guercino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Guercino

Property: Hotel Il Guercino
Address: Via Luigi Serra 7, 40129 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bologna
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#20 Family Hotel in Bologna
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#27 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Il Guercino 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Guercino is a Superior 3 stars Hotel in Bologna, only 250 mt far from Centrale Train Station (high speed terminal - Carracci exit The hotel is divided into 5 types of rooms: Standard rooms, Superior, Superior Jacuzzi rooms, Junior Suite , Family Room, Flower Room, all carefully equipped with minibar, free WiFi, air conditioning, LCD Satellite TV, telephone, Kettle, Fitness Club and bike's use are free of charge. Many of our rooms have private terraces suitable for smokers, or owners of small pets. Its eclectic environment is a perfect combination of old and new and its position allows to reach easily Bologna Fiera, the Historical Centre, the Airport, the Central train Station and the city points of interest. The Hotel offerts a Solarium, an inside private SPA with Jacuzzi, Finnish sauna, Turkish bath with chromo therapy, a relaxation area with music and herbal teas, and a charming Breakfast room where is posssible to taste the morning buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Il Guercino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guercino Hotel
Minotel Bologna
Il Guercino Bologna
Bologna Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing