We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big name but worst service ever in Italy”
Review of Tamburini

Tamburini
Ranked #3 of 80 Shopping in Bologna
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Treat your tastebuds to some of the delicacies found in this gourmet deli and market.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Big name but worst service ever in Italy”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Tamburini is famous... Ok... Their name is on every guidebook... Ok... but i think they started to forget that the most important thing about a place serving food is the service. The price they ask is really high for teh quality and 1 of the waiters attacked us because we asked for a normal service. I guess he is one of the owner. Maybe He have a lot of money so thats why he doesnt wanna work and serve!!!

He refused to serve because there were a lot customers. He deleted the order and when we asked him why he attacked. We were about to call the Police.

If you wanna wait a lot and eat prosciutto with a really high price go there- Totally Over rated !

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank DjLegoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    163
    62
    25
    19
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bologna
Level Contributor
47 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice place to spend some spare time”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

The atmosphere is nice. Portions are large and rapidly delivered. Service is a bit over average. All in all a nice experience, even when at night temperatures wouldn't allow to stay outside, thanks to a well designed and warmed 'terrazza'.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank enricocappelletti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, Scotland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very tasty cold cuts and amazing delicatessen but staff training required!”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Do visit this place if even just to buy some cold cuts - the deli meat and cheese counters look amazing as does all the fresh pasta etc. However we had read about this place on trip advisor and decided to eat here one evening - we didn't know the procedure to eat in - initially we weren't really acknowledged - or at least we didn't think we were - but we did eventually get seated at an already vacant table. The main guy seems to be on the phone a lot and the other waiters were busy outside - we ate inside and came in to the eating area the back way through the deli -the tables outside were full and we did notice queues forming later on. The main man suggested he chose the wine to go with our meat/cheese platter - it was from the sud tirol but we didn't get told the price and we didn't ask! Our own fault! ASK the price before you agree to anything. The cheese and meat platter when it came was really well presented and tasted fantastic - the selection of meats and cheeses really was top notch and possibly was the best meat /cheese platter we had tasted on our trip. However it was also the most expensive and realistically I'm not sure if the quality was so superior to warrant such an increased price to similar platters we had e.g. in Florence. Also the staff although they were very good in English they weren't particularly helpful and didn't seem to notice you when you were trying to get their attention e.g. to order more wine. When the bill came I also thought the wine was quite expensive for the quality we had tasted other places in Italy and the fact that we were in a deli and not a high class restaurant. So good food and wine - but pricey - and not particularly friendly staff. We did wonder if this was a cultural thing but throughout the rest of our stay in Italy the staff in other establishments were considerably more friendly and helpful and at least acknowledged us. [We tried a very small trattoria/pizzeria on the outskirts of Bologna (Al Tavolaccio - trip advisor 4.5/5) walkable to our hotel and although they couldn't speak much English and it didn't look much from the outside they couldn't have made us more welcome. It was rustic and authentic - we were the only tourists - the food was absolutely amazing and for a full 3 course meal for 2 with wines and soft drinks, it was less than the meat/cheese platter and wine in this deli.] However this deli is right in the centre of Bologna in prime location and the food displayed looks amazing - so maybe they couldn't care less as they know the people will come - however some staff training in customer service skills would make the experience so much better - being acknowledged on arrival - and acknowledged that you are trying to catch their attention to order more wine.... etc etc ]

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scottish-German
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerly, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Wine and Amazing food!”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

If you are looking for a casual night out, good wine and amazing prosciuttos, salami's and cured meats, this is the place for you!!!! My husband and I had dinner here in January and we absolutely loved it. We ordered a mixed cured meats plate for two, which came with a lot of different kinds of meats and cheeses. The wine was really good too, by the glass, and the service was super friendly and helpful. We ended up ordering a Braseola plate with arugula and parmiggiano that was also really good. The prices were reasonable and the experience unforgettable. Highly recommend, plus just walking through the store is pretty great too!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank portenia99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
221 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Casual service, excellent wine by the glass”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Located just in the centre of Bologna, Tamburini is a historical salumeria, beautiful to look at, let alone dine in.

Service is casual, nothing fussy, with an excellent selection of wine by the glass, reasonably priced. Also there is a selection of salumi and cheeses which one can order and sit down and have a glass or a bottle of wine. All cut freshly, and presented in a generous portion.

The concept is good, so is the quality, just sit down and enjoy.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank noble-taste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tamburini also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Tamburini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing