We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe great for drinks but food is lacking”
Review of Nu Lounge Bar

Nu Lounge Bar
Ranked #269 of 1,827 Restaurants in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In Bologna, a beautiful art city of Emilia Romagna, walking through the historic center, in a street that directly overlooks the magnificent Piazza Maggiore, we find the Nu Lounge Bar with a wide selection of drinks created by the world champions of cocktails 2011, Daniele dalla Pola. Daniele, bartender professional who has over 10 years of experience bartending in the U.S.A, and his staff will welcome you warmly and will guide you to discover new sensations, thus providing an interesting selection of great classic cocktails and fantastic reinterpretations of them or creating exotic tiki cocktails (drinks of Polynesian origin). The interior of the bar is characterized by blackboards on the walls with suggestions for the choice of drinks, comfy sofas on which to sit and listen to great lounge music, a bottle shelves behind the bar with a selection of the best spirits, liqueurs and bitters, a fantastic collection of high quality sugar cane from the south American islands, flavored by the time Daniel and beautiful red chandeliers create an environment that is never trivial, but an adventure to remember.But the surprises are not finished, the Nu Lounge Bar is a restaurant, the menu offers a delicious selection of Italian specialties and pizzas to be enjoyed comfortably seated at the tables that extend outside the room, under a magnificent gallery and a magnificent square adjacent to a cathedral. The venue also extends under the gallery, with another 2 bars and other dining rooms and a kitchen with a stage used for the evenings with live music.
Davis, CA
Level Contributor
382 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Maybe great for drinks but food is lacking”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stopped here for lunch and had a mixed salad that the greens were delightful but the olive oil and balsamic vinegar were nit the best quality. We also got a pizza margarita that was probably the worst pizza we ever had in all of Italy. I could get just as good at any airport in the U.S. The tortellini was not bad but also not the best quality.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chiili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    87
    35
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Tiki bar in Italy”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We were with a party of four and had an amazing night here! We had dinner on their terrace which was very nice, good crowd (mostly locals) and very busy. We started with some bread, selection of ham, cheese and a fish soup, all served with lot's of wine. As main we got a selection of pasta, ravioli and lasagna and ended with some sweets. Everything was very tasty! The service was quick and friendly
We spend the rest of the night at the bar, which was the best part of our evening. The bartenders are very good and helpful..they made us all kind of tiki cocktails and they were all YUMMIE!
It was fun sitting at the bar because the interior is full with tiki collectables and toys, so while drinking your delicious cocktail...please check it out and look around.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
88 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD & GREAT COCKTAILS”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This is our first trip to Bologna, and we had a nice romantic meal and drinks here last night. We stopped in 3 other bars on the way, and none of them were as good. The food was delicious and tasty, and not overly pricey. Great wine list from local wines, and very friendly staff. After our dinner, we stayed inside for a few cocktails chatting to the bartender who mixed us some amazing drinks. Very friendly and fun staff, great decor, and great selection of alcohol. The place was busy, but not packed which made us stay and not wonder too far. Will come back again for sure!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nats-dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
108 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good toilet, otherwise waste of time, much better choices elsewhere...”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Disappointing bar in center of Bologna. All tables are charged a 2.50 cover charge, offers a disappointing menu, we had the lasagna which was warm at best and half the bread in the basket was completely hard. When we asked the waiter about the coverage charge we were told the owner charges this in order to give free bread.... umm, sure..... Also, they offer no free water and tried to sell bottled water, complete tourist trap and gives Bologna a bad name.

Best option is the location and restroom facilities, otherwise there are many more good cafes in the area with much better food and atmosphere. If you are looking for anything other then a cocktail presented by waiters with snob attitude, go elsewhere...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dansksteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“the best tiki bar in Europe?”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Absolutely fantastic place with great tiki cocktails (try their Mai Tai). Very friendly a smart bartenders and delicious italian food. Va bene!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PavelPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nu Lounge Bar also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Nu Lounge Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing