We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommend.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Internazionale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Internazionale
Ranked #26 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Highly recommend.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

I found my room spacious, very comfortable and clean. Staff were always courteous and helpful. Breakfast was amazing. I never expected the variety of food on offer and of course I loved being able to start the day with a bit of prosciutto. The garden was also lovely. And it was easy to get around from here; not far from the train station and definitely walkable to downtown (and I get tired easily).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank altobarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    436
    102
    25
    16
See reviews for
114
338
60
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

As I regularly have to spend a few days each year in Bologna, I have been to several hotels there and only booked the Internazionale this year because I secured a terrific price on onhotels.com. The hotel is centrally located half way between the station and lovely Piazza Maggiore and has its own parking garage (which is as expensive as the other hotels'). Check-in breezy, request for quiet room was accommodated. The hotel could do with an overhaul as the room's decor with its drab colours and ornamental patterns is clearly outdated. Breakfast was below standard compared to the variety of fresh fruit and cakes served in other Italian hotels we recently stayed at; having to pay 10 Euros per day for internet access is a joke. Can't help it, but I Portici remains my favourite hotel in Bologna and next year I will gladly pay their (admittedly) stiff rates again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ijnlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

Although some of the staff are a little unfriendly at the reception, it was a very comfortable and large suite, with a couch and coffee table which meant u could relax in your own room if desired,very clean and professional establishment? Good to have a breakfast Not Italian if desired , fresh fruit salad, scrambled eggs etc! Only a bar with snacks in the evening , no restaurant for evening meals, but a lot around the area

Room Tip: We booked through a travel agent, we were on the first floor on the road de Mille side (think that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leighb_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

I have just returned from taking 45 people on a 5 day visit to Bologna. The hotel was superb in every way. Highly attentive staff who went out of their way to help. Beautiful breakfast with a great choice including a range of Gluten free products.
The reception staff could not do enough, always booking restaurants sorting out taxis or visits out of town, nothing was to much trouble.
Lovely bar to meet in the evening and best of all 10 minutes walk from the centre. No one out of the group could fault the hotel in any way.
Cannot wait to return

Room Tip: room 321 on the corner so great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed for 5 nights over the Easter weekend and what a treat! We booked a deluxe room and even though we like modern decor, we opted for the classical rooms since we were told these are slightly bigger. I am so glad we did.

We were given a corner room on the 4th floor facing the streets. Even though we were on the 4th floor, some street noise could still be heard, especially on Saturday evening, but this did not bother us. The bed was large and so comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and had a full size bath tub. Wardrobes were of a good size where one can place all clothes and put away luggage. I was a bit skeptical about the carpets since we were travelling with a 3 year old, but the room was extremely clean and we felt very comfortable letting him play on the carpets. All our requests were met and everything was ready in our room upon our check in.

We had a buffet breakfast complete with bacon, eggs, parma ham & various cold meats, mozzarella, cheeses, yogurt, cereal, fruit and various delicious pastries. TV was SKY box with many kid's channels, and the best thing is you can switch them to English too.My son was pleased with this, and it came very handy when we needed some quiet after a long day running around. We didn't have internet cause wi-fi was ridiculously expensive.We opted to go without it.
The hotel is very well located, in the middle of Viale Indipendenza, a short walking distance from both the train station and the city historic centre. We also found a great restaurant close to the hotel, called Il Moro. It had a varied menu, including pasta, pizza, fish and meats and we ended up going there almost every day of our visit in order to try different dishes.

Bologna is ideal as a base to visit other cities and the train station is very well connected to most cities in Italy. We visited Parma, Ferrara, Ravenna and Modena / Maranello. Trenitalia have really improved, with very straight forward automated ticketing service, and trains were all punctual so our plans for the trips went quite smoothly. I would suggest that tickets are bought online in order to avoid the hassle at the train station.

Had a great holiday and I would definitely recommend Internazionale Hotel. If I had to visit Bologna again, I will not look anywhere else and will surely stay there again.

Room Tip: Corner room was very well lit due to a large number of windows. If you are a very light sleeper, I g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spiteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Even though this was a chilly April, the room was hot and all the air conditioner did was make noise. The TV is very tedious to use---even getting it on and off was a challenge---and had no movies in English. The only English programming was CNN and BBC News.
The absolute worst feature was the minibar. Every item in the fridge is on a sensor so when you move something (I had bought a piece of cheese), it's recorded as a sale of that item. I and others got it straightened out at the front desk on a regular basis but it was a pain. For the price, one might expect better.
Bologna itself has its charms but is quite small. Two or three days is plenty.
Pros: Breakfast, spacious marbled bathroom, blackout drapes, excellent location for the center and for the railroad station

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. Upon check-in to the room, turn on the AC and see if it's working after an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyguy714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne & Wear
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

My wife and I recently spent a week at the Internazionale whilst visiting our granddaughter who is studying at Bologna University.
The hotel itself is located on the beautifully arcaded Via Indipendenza, a seven minute walk from the railway station, and has a very attractive reception area at Ground Floor Level, a grand Breakfast Room and adjacent Bar/Lounge at mezzanine level and all bedrooms above.
We had a very large, well appointed room overlooking the inner courtyard with beautiful en-suite facilities.
The room, like the rest of the hotel, was kept immaculate throughout our stay with bedding and towels being changed daily.
The breakfasts, while being described as "continental", did in fact offer hot food and a wide variety of cereals, breads, cakes, yoghurts, fruit juices and mineral waters as well as teas or coffees delivered to your table by very helpful, but at all times professional, staff who were a credit to the hotel management.
Whilst Bologna itself is a beautiful city; made even more beautiful by sunshine and temperatures of 23 degrees in March, the nearby railway station is your gateway to Italy in its entirety and the rest of Europe beyond. In the course of the week we spent time in Modena, Padua, Vicenza and Venice.
All together a superb city break with thanks due to the staff of the Internazionale for a most comfortable base and to the people we met everywhere in Bologna and on our excursions who were most welcoming.

Room Tip: We had requested a quiet room, fearful that traffic noise from Independenza might be a problem. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ItalianoWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
0.1 mi away
I Portici Hotel
I Portici Hotel
#20 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Metropolitan Hotel
Metropolitan Hotel
#6 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel Carlton
Royal Hotel Carlton
#17 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Starhotels Excelsior
Starhotels Excelsior
#21 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
0.6 mi away
Al Cappello Rosso
Al Cappello Rosso
#9 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Bologna De La Gare
NH Bologna De La Gare
#36 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Internazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Internazionale

Property: Hotel Internazionale
Address: Via Dell'Indipendenza 60, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#21 Family Hotel in Bologna
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#38 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Internazionale 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Internazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internazionale Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing