We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel - but specify the room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Art Hotel Commercianti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Art Hotel Commercianti
Ranked #8 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel - but specify the room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I've stayed at this hotel 3 times over the past year and have always been welcomed by lovely, personable staff.

The first two times I stayed the room was beautiful, a balcony overlooking the Basilica - it is absolutely stunning. The last time I stayed and booked the same room type I was given a smallish room, no balcony and the previous guest had been smoking despite it being a non smoking room.

Apparently I had arrived late in the day (7pm) and all of the balcony rooms were taken.

Its a fantastic hotel is every other respect, make sure you either get there early or ring and specify a balcony room.

Room Tip: Arrive early or phone and request a balcony room overlooking the Basilica
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reviewarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Art Hotel Commercianti, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Google Translation
Grazie per la bella recensione che ha scritto sul nostro hotel. Nelle nuove strutture che nascono ex novo dalla penna di un ingegnere tutte le camere possono essere progettate identiche, con la stessa metratura e caratteristiche, ma per il nostro "gioiello" questo non è possibile: essendo l'antico Comune di Bologna del XIII secolo è una struttura davvero speciale e ogni camera è nata ed è rimasta diversa dall'altra. Alcune hanno affreschi a chiodo risalenti all'epoca dei glossatori che per un periodo vi hanno avuto sede, altre vantano travi a vista originali. Altre hanno un meraviglioso terrazzo che dà sulla Basilica di San Petronio con una vista davvero incantevole. Speriamo di riaverla presto come nostro gradito Ospite, mi raccomando, specifichi che desidera una camera deluxe con Terrazza e vista così la accontenteremo sicuramente! Un saluto dal centro storico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    178
    38
    5
    8
See reviews for
59
209
21
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I have to say that Bologna overall was a bit of a tough experience for me... it was about 11 degrees of Celsius and raining cats and dogs when I got to the hotel! That probably set my impression of the city itself, but the hotel didn't add to that- on the contrary. It was nice, very clean with a sort of old-luxury charm and amazing location- literally steps away from the main cathedral in Bologna.

The service was a bit cold at the beginning, but they did warmed up. My room was pretty small (with a good size bathroom though), but I knew it would be a single one. Though I got a huge double room for the same price in Milan, so maybe that's the only thing. The hotel does not have a restaurant - but I guess with its excellent central location and large variety of places to eat only a few steps away, that's fine. Also, you can order room service from the closest restaurant which is very good

Room Tip: try to book a double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NettyKo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Art Hotel Commercianti, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Google Translation
Grazie per la bellissima recensione! Torni presto a trovarci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful and put up with my trying to speak Italian.

I got the bed to accommodate my large, northern-European body without any problems and the room was spacious enough and clean. The hotel is just off Piazza Maggiore so ideally situated.

The wifi did not reach my room very well but there is a kind of office setup near the lobby and it worked fine there.

I was positively amazed by the breakfast. I'll try and upload some pictures of that now...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Art Hotel Commercianti, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Google Translation
Siamo felici che sia stato felice del soggiorno presso il nostro Hotel. Speriamo di riaverla presto come nostro gradito Ospite! Un saluto dal centro storico!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed at the Art Hotel Commercianti over Easter 2014. Our room was comfortable, and well equipped, the hotel is very well located just meters from Piazza Maggiore, and yet it is quiet and tucked away. The building is beautiful and the staff reasonably obliging. The breakfast is adequate. But that is it. No real bar, no gym, no restaurant, no anything. I thought calling it four stars was a bit of a stretch. It was however very good value, and given the location eating out was never a problem. We would go back, which is a recommendation of itself, but have our eyes open to the realities of what was on offer. Definitely as for a room on 3rd floor.

Room Tip: £rd floor facing the cathederal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Londontraveller1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Art Hotel Commercianti, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Google Translation
La ringraziamo per la recensione che ci ha scritto. Il nostro hotel ha sede nell'antico Comune di Bologna del XIII secolo, è un edificio storico che non può essere ampliato quindi non abbiamo possibilità di aggiungere una palestra ne il ristorante, ma la nostra posizione centrale, proprio in Piazza Maggiore, compensa quelle che potrebbero essere carenze strutturali. Abbiamo una convenzione con una palestra che si trova esattamente dietro l'hotel e con ristoranti per qualsiasi gusto: se chiedete alla Reception il ristorante che si trova a 20 metri dall'hotel vi porta la cena o il pranzo in camera. Se tornerete a Bologna vi posso altrimenti consigliare di prenotare le nostre Suite Houses: sono soluzioni a 5 stelle deluxe con parete attrezzata per fare esercizi ginnici, sauna con cromoterapia e bar. Tornate presto a trovarci e scoprirete che con i nostri servizi extra possiamo essere qualcosa di più di un semplice hotel 4 stelle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
236 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Great choice if you want to stay in the center of Bologna, like friendly helpful staff, hotels that have an intimate feel, rooms that are large by European standards and well appointed.
We were fortunate to have a room with a balcony that we could relax on and enjoy the Spring sunshine. Breakfast was very good with multiple choices in food and coffee.
We will certainly stay here again, It hit all the ticks on our must haves.
My recommendation would be to take a taxi from the airport to the hotel, they drop you off outside the door, very convenient, as opposed to the bus and then having the challenge of finding the correct alley they are down (less than 20 Euros)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceilings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Art Hotel Commercianti, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Google Translation
Grazie per la splendida recensione che ci ha scritto. Torni presto a trovarci, ora che viene la bella stagione potrà godersi la nostra gustosa prima colazione nel terrazzo della sua camera, con la vista sulla Basilica di San Petronio! a presto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

This is a lovely hotel right in the middle of all the key tourism, shopping and restaurant areas. Nice rooms with great renovated bathrooms. Internet is a nightmare though!
Staff is friendly and very helpful. If you need a good restaurant recommendation or reservation they know it all and are happy to help.
Breakfast is great with a lot of choices.

Room Tip: try to avoid rooms near the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Art Hotel Commercianti, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Google Translation
La ringraziamo per lo splendido commento che ha fatto e un grazie anche da parte dello Staff. a presto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

This is a good choice for the traveler. It is in the center of Bologna and is right by the main duomo and adjacent market. The hotel rooms are clean and large by European standards. The rooms are clean and tasteful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueJaysFan212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Art Hotel Commercianti, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Google Translation
Grazie per la bella descrizione che ha scritto. La prossima volta, se viene in primavera o estate, le consigliamo di prenotare le camere con vista e terrazzino... sono davvero meravigliose, potrà fare colazione di fronte alla maestosa Basilica di San Petronio! a presto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Al Cappello Rosso
#9 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Metropolitan Hotel
#6 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,271 reviews
Art Hotel Orologio
#7 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Commercianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Commercianti

Property: Art Hotel Commercianti
Address: Via De' Pignattari 11, 40124 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#26 Business Hotel in Bologna
#29 Family Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Commercianti 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the shadow of San Petronio, right in the heart of medieval Bologna, the Hotel Commercianti boasts a centuries-old history closely linked with that of Bologna's historical centre--never stagnant, but in continuous transformation. Its buildings, piazzas, and establishments are constantly have been constantly readapted and remodelled over the centuries, and yet regardless of this long history, the city continues to mirror the spirit of the Bolognese people of the 16th century. For the style of hospitality and the high quality of service, Commercianti was awarded the "Stanze Italiane" by Touring Club Italiano, a prize reserved to just four hotels in Italy. And you can choose also Art Studio Commercianti: they are located in an elegant building in Via D'Azeglio - famous for the most exclusive shopping centers - with a view over the main monuments of the city. Connected to Commercianti Art Hotel **** which is situated just a few meters away and which you can refer to for all your needs, they offer contemporary design solutions and every comfort. Furnished with refinement and extreme attention to detail and equipped with every comfort, they are the optimal solution for medium - long term stays in the heart of Bologna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Art Hotel Commercianti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing