We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute little place, old world charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Ranked #2 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Austin TX
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cute little place, old world charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Love the little hotels tucked away on side streets-lots of charm, very Italian baroque, etc.
rooms are spacious, showers a bit cramped and spray nozzle pretty restricted though. No restaurant or room service but why bother-there's a bzillion nearby places to eat. Nice people here! I would recommend this hotel for a quick couples getaway-it's perfectly located near the main areas.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dclairmoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Google Translation
Grazie per il bel commento che ci ha scritto! Il nostro hotel è un vero gioiello nel centro storico, un edificio che nel XIV secolo apparteneva alla nobile famiglia Azzoguidi e che ha mantenuto un sapore antico ma con tutti i comfort dei giorni nostri... Torni presto a bologna, l'aspettiamo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    206
    38
    10
    6
See reviews for
87
391
53
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

This boutique hotel is a true gem. It has a very gracious staff, the accommodations are well appointed and good looking. The public rooms are very attractive and comfortable. A very nice breakfast is served each day. Our only regret was we could not stay longer.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 92robertp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Google Translation
Grazie per il bellissimo commento... se il suo unico rimpianto è di non esser riusciti a rimanere più a lungo... tornate a trovarci e concedetevi qualche giorno in più, abbiamo moltissime proposte e tour su Bologna e dintorni e non vi annoierete di sicuro!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We chose this hotel to spend a 3 day weekend in Bologna. From the point of view of the location, you couldn't do better and unless you are planning trips out of town I would strongly suggest you do not come by car. The hotel is 15 minutes walk from the station (or 5 minutes taxi if you prefer) and once there you can walk to all the main points in the old town. Additionally, traffic is restricted to residents and completely cut at weekend when the whole of central Bologna becomes a pedestrian area. You are 100m from the two towers and 200m from Piazza Maggiore. You can walk everywhere.
The hotel itself I would define more as old style rather than boutique, but in the good sense of the word. Although there is no wow factor about it, it is small, comfortable, quiet, has very pleasant staff, a nice sitting area if you want to have a drink in the evening whilst looking over some very good art books.

The breakfast is not terribly imaginative and they could certainly make an effort with the bacon which is far too greasy and cold. The price varies very strongly between weekdays and weekend nights and it seemed a bit expensive for what we got.

Nevertheless, overall a very good place to stay if you want to explore at least some of the 44kms of arcades which cover the streets of central Bologna.

Room Tip: If you want a view, you should ask. We did not but it was not a major problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guitarman666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Google Translation
La ringraziamo per aver apprezzato il nostro Hotel. Un saluto dal centro storico!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is extremely well-situated within walking distance of all the major sites in the city centre.      Rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet and our rate included an extensive buffet breakfast with on-demand coffee (unusual!). The only slight drawback for aging bodies is the fact that the shower is over a bath with quite high sides. The front desk staff are friendly and extremely helpful. Highly recommended.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tmg123Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Google Translation
La ringraziamo per la bella recensione che ci ha scritto. Torni presto a trovarci, un saluto dal centro storico!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level Contributor
198 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

I was extremely pleased with this hotel! When I walked into the hotel the people were extremely helpful and answered all of our questions and gave us guidance. They were enthusiastic about their job, hotel, and city.

The location is perfect right in the heart of city center with history, shopping, and food.

The hotel it self is awesome. Beautifully decorated with very nice furnishings! I would recommend this hotel for any kind of visit, business, vacation, romance, etc..

I visited the Ducati and Ferrari facilities nearby which was awesome and the food in Bologna is awesome, better than Other parts of Italy in my opinion...

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank VETJET1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Google Translation
Grazie per i complimenti che ci ha fatto. La ringraziamo anche per aver apprezzato il lavoro del nostro staff. a presto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Really enjoyed staying in this hotel. Its location is great and walking distance from all the main sites. The hotel feels really luxurious, and provides everything you'd need; and we didn't hear anything at all from our room - so it's relaxing and peaceful. There are canapés in the lounge in the early evening, and we found it convenient to have a G&T there before going out - although there are in addition lots of lovely bars locally. The staff leave you alone, but are really friendly and helpful if you need help. I thought the hotel represented excellent value for money. Free wifi is really handy. From the airport the hotel mentioned that they could arrange a car for €22 (increased if there flight delays) however we found a taxi really easily and it came to about €17, so the latter worked just fine.

Room Tip: We booked a deluxe double, which was a good size and really comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sushi-fan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
123 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Fantastic location. If you are walking there then there are signs to follow but I think they arenot that direct.
Clearly some rooms are better than others but the room rates reflect that
I loved the front desk folk. Not the bright youngsters you get in chain hotels but prople who carry off old world style. Recommended a fab restaurant & booked it in a jiffy

Onlypoint i would add is the description of rhe building i read was of a palace. I felt that mis sold it. Its a small hotel from the grand 1890s. Oh and with a nice lobby where they lay out afternoon nibbles

I just pisted my wirst ever tripadvisor review so its nice go balance that with a whole hearted recommendation for here. Do stay there!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tastydogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"
0.7 mi away
Aemilia Hotel
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Metropolitan Hotel
Metropolitan Hotel
#7 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Al Cappello Rosso
Al Cappello Rosso
#11 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
0.2 mi away
Art Hotel Commercianti
Art Hotel Commercianti
#6 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.4 mi away
I Portici Hotel
I Portici Hotel
#21 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890

Property: Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Address: Via Guglielmo Oberdan 12, 40126 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > San Vitale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#7 Business Hotel in Bologna
#14 Family Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short distance from the two Towers and Piazza Maggiore, in the serene setting of medieval Bologna, you will find the Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890. Its peaceful location, just a hundred meters from the two towers, is the perfect base for your visit to Bologna: its elegant furnishings and magnificent frescoes, together with a staff that is exceptionally attentive to your needs, will make your stay at our Hotel unforgettable. The palazzo, which in the 15th century was the prestigious residence of the noble Azzoguidi family, traces its origins to the 13th century. The hotel takes the visitor on a journey through various stylistic and architectural eras: from the magical art deco in the lobby, back to the frescoes of coats of arms and landscapes from the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries, and back still further to the medieval severity of the coffered ceilings which adorn the Azzoguidi conference hall and the stately portico outside. The thoroughly renovated Hotel Corona d'Oro provides upscale amenities that ensure a luxurious and comfortable stay, fitting for even the most discerning of guests. It also offers first-class suites and spaces for conferences, meetings, and exhibitions, all of which feature independent access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Corona d`Oro Hotel Bologna
Art Corona d Oro Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing