We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In the Heart of the Medieval Quarter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Ranked #2 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“In the Heart of the Medieval Quarter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed at the Art Corona d'Oro for two nights in late April. The first thing I would like to caution travelers is that it is TRULY in the heart of the old town in the midst of confusing one way streets. Do not do what we did and leave your instructions at home, thinking you will depend on your laptop's navigation system. We had to circle at least four times, although each circle got us closer to our destination. Finally, in the pouring rain, we arrived at a dead end and couldn't go any further - no way of backing up or going forward. Turns out that Bologna puts in automatic barriers in the middle of these streets that those who have a key can make sink into the ground so the car can get through. Luckily the hotel has one so simply stay and have one of your party go and get help - the hotel is literally the first entrance round the alley.

The location could not be better - you are in the heart of the medieval quarter. We stayed in a junior suite with a great ancient ceiling and a balcony, which I highly recommend. At first we were worried because it was on the 2nd floor facing a busy pedestrian street but when the shutters are closed, you literally don't hear a thing. When they are open, it's as if you are participating in a vibrant street scene from your room. Definitely worth the extra money.

The hotel is a little worn - the stairs never looked vacuumed- but the breakfast staff is charming, the front desk is helpful, the location can't be beat and it was all in all a very enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balconey
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Google Translation
Vi ringraziamo per la bella recensione, siamo contenti che abbiate apprezzato la posizione nel cuore del quartiere medievale e che valeva la pena fare un po' di fatica per raggiungere l'hotel. Grazie anche per gli apprezzamenti nei confronti della camera, del personale della Recepion e della prima colazione. Speriamo di rivedervi presto a Bologna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    207
    38
    10
    6
See reviews for
88
391
53
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed there with my wife for 3 nights, and will probably look for another option next time in Bologna. This is a nice, comfortable hotel, tastefully furnished, and in a very central location. Quite pleasant lobby inside actualy.

HOWEVER - the superior double we paid for was quite small, had me tripping into bed... with a tiny balcony. A bit overpriced. No view as such, i was given to understand they can't offer a view from any of the rooms...

Breakfast is definitely below the standard you would expect from a 4 star hotel. Stale bread & pastry, artificial juice, a very limited choice of salami & cheese.I would rate the breakfast around 3 stars indeed, not worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BorisIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Google Translation
Grazie per la vostra recensione relativa al suo soggiorno nell'hotel Corona d'Oro e gli apprezzamenti positivi per la struttura e la location. Ci dispiace sinceramente che la colazione non sia stata di vostro gradimento, ma cercheremo in futuro di migliorarla secondo i vostri suggerimenti. Per quanto riguarda il "pane raffermo" non trova che questa sua osservazione sia un po' lontana dalla realtà? Speriamo di riaverla ancora nei nostri hotel, un saluto da Bologna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

A central located hotel that made you feel "like you were a million bucks". Very nice bathroom in room that had a spa feel to it. Staff was fantastic and very accommodating to our groups needs! Breakfast was pleasant and cocktail hour was relaxing. One of the nicest hotels that I have stayed in!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gennypenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Google Translation
Grazie per lo splendido complimento: siamo molto orgogliosi che consideri il nostro Hotel uno dei più belli in cui abbia soggiornato! Un saluto dal centro storico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Perfect location, beautiful room with air conditioning, spacious bathroom. The breakfast was very good and varied with lovely fresh produce. Staff at reception were very helpful, knowledgeable and pleasant, and they also made excellent restaurant reservations for us. A wonderful visit and I would happily return any time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BiondinaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Google Translation
Siamo davvero orgogliosi per i complimenti che ha scritto nei confronti del nostro Staff, dell'Hotel e del servizio. Grazie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had stayed in this hotel on our last trip to Bologna four years ago and had liked it enough to book it again. This time we brought three other couples and all I can say is everything turned out perfectly. In addition to an ideal location as others have noted here, the hotel itself is beautiful in a European manner of understatement and style. The rooms are an incredible value, ample in size, comfortable in every manner. The breakfast is delightful and offers all types of food to please every palate. The staff is better than ever and helped us cheerfully with restaurant reservations and suggestions and taxis. Couldn't have been any better.

Room Tip: We chose the level of room one notch above the cheapest and it was delightfully large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fornovo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Google Translation
Grazie per la splendida recensione che ci avete scritto e per essere tornati a trovarci! Un saluto dal centro storico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Formerly a medieval printing shop (the remains of the 13th c portico is in tact on the side of the building), The Art Corona d'Oro is close to the major sites in Bologna. There are a variety of rooms in the same category--some had coffee makers; others did not; Some rooms were larger than others but all were of good size and the marble bathroom was luxurious. The bowl of candy in the room was a nice touch. The breakfast buffet was good but a lot of the food was gone by 9: 30 a.m. even though breakfast was served until 10: 30 a.m. The staff (Maria, Giorgo) were warm and most helpful -- they even loaned us a Michelin map for our day trips outside the city. There were a number of good restaurants close by and walking was easy. The only downside was that the hotel is located on a very narrow one way street and GPS directions kept getting us lost when leaving and going to the hotel. Be sure to ask the hotel for specific directions and also instructions for how to call the hotel to lower the boulder at the small square before entering Via Oberdan.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2VeteranTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Google Translation
Vi ringraziamo per la bella recensione che avete scritto sull'hotel e sulla cortesia del nostro Staff. Tornate presto a trovarci, un saluto dal centro storico!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
253 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

This is the perfect location to stay to see ALL the sights in Bologna as well as a central hub to hit great eateries and street markets. EASY walk from the train station...right on via dell Indipendenza, left on via Marsala then a right on via G. Oberdan. "Happy Hour" treats are good with a cash bar if you want an adult beverage. Our room was fantastic...with air conditioning. Breakfast was excellent in classic European style. Highly recommend this friendly hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank IKE48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Google Translation
Grazie per la bella descrizione che ha fatto del nostro hotel. Il Corona d'Oro è infatti in una posizione fantastica: a pochi passi dalla stazione, da Piazza Maggiore, dai principali monumenti della città e dalle famose vie dello shopping è ideale per chi vuole viversi a pieno la città e dormire in assoluto relax in una zona senza traffico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"
0.7 mi away
Aemilia Hotel
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Metropolitan Hotel
Metropolitan Hotel
#7 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Al Cappello Rosso
Al Cappello Rosso
#12 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
0.2 mi away
Art Hotel Commercianti
Art Hotel Commercianti
#6 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.4 mi away
I Portici Hotel
I Portici Hotel
#24 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890

Property: Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Address: Via Guglielmo Oberdan 12, 40126 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > San Vitale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#7 Business Hotel in Bologna
#14 Family Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short distance from the two Towers and Piazza Maggiore, in the serene setting of medieval Bologna, you will find the Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890. Its peaceful location, just a hundred meters from the two towers, is the perfect base for your visit to Bologna: its elegant furnishings and magnificent frescoes, together with a staff that is exceptionally attentive to your needs, will make your stay at our Hotel unforgettable. The palazzo, which in the 15th century was the prestigious residence of the noble Azzoguidi family, traces its origins to the 13th century. The hotel takes the visitor on a journey through various stylistic and architectural eras: from the magical art deco in the lobby, back to the frescoes of coats of arms and landscapes from the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries, and back still further to the medieval severity of the coffered ceilings which adorn the Azzoguidi conference hall and the stately portico outside. The thoroughly renovated Hotel Corona d'Oro provides upscale amenities that ensure a luxurious and comfortable stay, fitting for even the most discerning of guests. It also offers first-class suites and spaces for conferences, meetings, and exhibitions, all of which feature independent access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Corona d`Oro Hotel Bologna
Art Corona d Oro Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing