We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Ranked #2 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel, perfect location”
Reviewed 18 May 2009

Location:
Very close to so many of Bolognas sites and institutions (two towers, piazza Maggiore etc), location couldnt be better. Special tip: next door cafe Terzi roast their own coffee and is a great place to start the day.

Room:
Room size was adequate but not big, furnishing nice, bathrooms new and clean, aircondition that works well. Nice extra touches: free WiFi in the room, late checkout 2:30 PM guaranteed. Bicycles available for free (didnt try this).

Breakfast:
Food was of good quality and nicely presented. Choice could be better though so this is the biggest minus I could find for this hotel (although breakfast was perfectly fine/good).

Service:
Was OK, some smiles wouldnt hurt (after having to wait to check in for example) but all my requests were carried out without any problem.

All in all: would absolutely not look for a different hotel in Bologna, price/quality is excellent (EUR114 for a double, single use, on a Friday night)

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toyboy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele P, Direttore at Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890, responded to this review, 27 January 2017
Thank you for your kind review of the Hotel Corona d’Oro of Bologna.
We would like to inform you that the new Management, since 2015 has renovated part of the Hotel and improved the service.
Therefore we hope to welcome you again for a brand new experience,
My personal best regards

Michele Piazzolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    215
    40
    10
    7
See reviews for
93
406
59
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2009

My husband and I spent two marvelous nights in Bologna. We absolutely loved the hotel. The location is incomparable, very close to the Due Torre.
All of the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were wonderful. Our room was perfect. Very spacious, beautiful, and very clean. The bathroom was large and very bright.
The only slight hassle was parking, which has nothing to do with the hotel. You can park in a parking garage, for a rather high fee, or if you are lucky to find a spot on the street, the hotel will provide you with a low cost 24 hour parking ticket. Even though the streets are narrow, it is still fine to park your car on the street. But, driving in the city is a bit difficult, as cars are not allowed in much of the center.
Even with the parking issue, I strongly recommend this hotel for a stay in Bologna. The hotel really gives you a sense of the grandeur of Bologna's past.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctgirlingermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele P, Direttore at Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890, responded to this review, 27 January 2017
Thank you for your kind review of the Hotel Corona d’Oro of Bologna.
We would like to inform you that the new Management, since 2015 has renovated part of the Hotel and improved the service.
Therefore we hope to welcome you again for a brand new experience,
My personal best regards

Michele Piazzolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
322 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2009

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in December 2008 for 1 night on our way to Venice from Florence.

We chose this hotel because it is centrally located and boutique.

The rooms were lovely in terms of design and decor. The bathroom was very lit and clean. There were even fancy bedroom slippers (not the flat ones you get at commercial 5 star hotels) and even Ferrero Rocher chocolates at evening turn down.

Breakfast was better than most typical European hotels (not as good as hotels in Dubai though). The hotel interior was really nice in terms of layout and decor.

Staff were very friendly. A plus point is that it is about 3 minutes walk from the 2 towers and about 8 minutes from the local university. It was really cool walking on campus. Reminded my wife and I of our days at school!

The only negative would be that we had a little balcony that looked into the hotel, kinda, so no view of the city.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorruptedSanity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele P, Direttore at Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890, responded to this review, 27 January 2017
Thank you for your kind review of the Hotel Corona d’Oro of Bologna.
We would like to inform you that the new Management, since 2015 has renovated part of the Hotel and improved the service.
Therefore we hope to welcome you again for a brand new experience,
My personal best regards

Michele Piazzolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2008

We picked this hotel mainly based on the location but also on the positive reviews on trip advisor and other sites. The location is fantastic and allows you to walk everywhere. Otherwise we were a little disappointed. The hotel has been described as a boutique hotel but apart from the small number of rooms there is little else that would differentiate it from larger hotels.
The service was fine but not particularly personable. Rooms were small, reasonably well decorated but didn’t include any information on hotel services, city sites etc. Much was made of the breakfast here but we found it mediocre and not particularly fresh.
In conclusion the hotel was average and nothing was wrong per se - it just didn't stand out in any way. At €275 a night for a standard room this left us underwhelmed.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Boutique in size only
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ij_gallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele P, Direttore at Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890, responded to this review, 27 January 2017
We are sorry for this late reply and we apologize if your last experience at Hotel Corona d’Oro did not meet your expectations and did not satisfied you. In any case we would like to inform you that the new Management, since 2015 has renovated part of the Hotel and improved the service.
Therefore we hope to welcome you again for a brand new experience,
My personal best regards

Michele Piazzolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2008

We've just returned from Bologna and can definitely recommend this hotel. It’s centrally based, just off the Piazza Maggiore near all the designer shops down a side street. It’s just like the photo’s, stylish and full of character, very clean and quiet. We had a large room with walk-in wardrobe, beautiful marbled bathroom with walk-in shower, although not a power shower, we were on the second floor so I assume the water pressure was low as the shower was not strong.

The breakfast room is below ground level and although you couldn’t fault the variety of dishes to choose from, including all the usual cereals, fruits, meats, cheeses, cakes, breads etc there was also the unusual i.e. cold pizza, and a bright pink sugary oval which I still don’t know what it is, we did, however, miss being able to look out the window and the lack of natural light. Although they have done it up stylishly, it still seemed a little oppressive.

The lounge/bar area were very light and airy and tastefully decorated, see photo’s, I guess it was once an open courtyard that they have covered with a glass roof. Our only gripe was that they had forgotten to service our room and it took a little explaining for them to understand, we had changed rooms and I don’t think they had told the staff that clean the bedrooms.

Overall the hotel is well appointed and stylish although lacking in atmosphere, we never saw anyone else until the second morning; the bar, lounge area and reading room were always empty and even the breakfast room was empty until the second morning when we saw another couple. They serve breakfast in your room at no extra cost, so maybe everyone was taking advantage of that!

  • Liked — Stylish throughout and large bedroom
  • Disliked — Lack of atmosphere, so quiet saw/heard no other guests
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jan2663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele P, Direttore at Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890, responded to this review, 27 January 2017
Thank you for your kind review of the Hotel Corona d’Oro of Bologna.
We would like to inform you that the new Management, since 2015 has renovated part of the Hotel and improved the service.
Therefore we hope to welcome you again for a brand new experience,
My personal best regards

Michele Piazzolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2008

We stayed at the Corona d'Oro for 3 nights and had a very good experience. The location is perfect, just a few minutes from the Due Torri and the Piazza Maggiore in a quiet little street. The front desk staff, specially Rita, was very helpful and cheery as was the restaurant staff. They obliged with free (and very prompt) room service of morning bed tea, which was a real treat. The room was small but all the details and finishes were luxurious and that made up for the size. The breakfast room in the basement was an overpowering red that was enough to wake you up. The spread was sumptuous and decorative to the point that you had to look twice to recognize things!
All in all, Corona d'Oro was a great choice for us and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a luxurious boutique accommodation in Bologna.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kalimata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele P, Direttore at Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890, responded to this review, 27 January 2017
Thank you for your kind review of the Hotel Corona d’Oro of Bologna.
We would like to inform you that the new Management, since 2015 has renovated part of the Hotel and improved the service.
Therefore we hope to welcome you again for a brand new experience,
My personal best regards

Michele Piazzolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2008

My wife and I loved the Corona D'Oro! We stayed at the Corona for 6 nights in late March in Suite 204. The suite was large and luxurious with a living room area, 2 flat screen televisions, a very comfortable bed and an excellent bathroom. Definitely had an "old world luxury" feel to it. The hotel is located on a quaint side street and we found the hotel to be completely quiet. We could walk everywhere from the hotel in about 10 minutes, with a 3 minute walk to the central square. The front desk people were happy to help with restaurant reservations and other guidance. The lobby was very comfortable -- bright and cheery. Loved the free internet access. The hotel also arranged for us to park our rental car a few blocks away, and it was relatively simply to get in and out of Bologna for day trips to Parma, Modena and Ferrara. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Petelock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele P, Direttore at Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890, responded to this review, 27 January 2017
Thank you for your kind review of the Hotel Corona d’Oro of Bologna.
We would like to inform you that the new Management, since 2015 has renovated part of the Hotel and improved the service.
Therefore we hope to welcome you again for a brand new experience,
My personal best regards

Michele Piazzolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"
0.7 mi away
Aemilia Hotel
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 103 in Bologna
2,376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Metropolitan Hotel
Metropolitan Hotel
#7 of 103 in Bologna
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Savhotel
Savhotel
#3 of 103 in Bologna
2,150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Al Cappello Rosso
Al Cappello Rosso
#12 of 103 in Bologna
779 reviews
0.2 mi away
Art Hotel Commercianti
Art Hotel Commercianti
#8 of 103 in Bologna
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890

Property: Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Address: Via Guglielmo Oberdan 12, 40126 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > San Vitale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#7 Business Hotel in Bologna
#14 Family Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short distance from the two Towers and Piazza Maggiore, in the serene setting of medieval Bologna, you will find the Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890. Its peaceful location, just a hundred meters from the two towers, is the perfect base for your visit to Bologna: its elegant furnishings and magnificent frescoes, together with a staff that is exceptionally attentive to your needs, will make your stay at our Hotel unforgettable. The palazzo, which in the 15th century was the prestigious residence of the noble Azzoguidi family, traces its origins to the 13th century. The hotel takes the visitor on a journey through various stylistic and architectural eras: from the magical art deco in the lobby, back to the frescoes of coats of arms and landscapes from the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries, and back still further to the medieval severity of the coffered ceilings which adorn the Azzoguidi conference hall and the stately portico outside. The thoroughly renovated Hotel Corona d'Oro provides upscale amenities that ensure a luxurious and comfortable stay, fitting for even the most discerning of guests. It also offers first-class suites and spaces for conferences, meetings, and exhibitions, all of which feature independent access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Corona d`Oro Hotel Bologna
Art Corona d Oro Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing