We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,113)
Filter reviews
1,113 results
Traveller rating
769
273
48
14
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
769
273
48
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews d oro rick stein lovely hotel piazza maggiore marble bathroom perfect location deluxe room each evening the hotel staff centrally located hotel old city long weekend centre of bologna small balcony side street main attractions rental car
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,113 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel Corona keeps standards high and it is always a pleasure to stay with them, from the outstanding front desk to the spotless rooms. The location is very central, making it a breeze to get around via walking. The breakfast is ample and the rooms are silent at night for such a key location, steps from restaurants and sights.

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank Rome_With_Kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele P, Direttore at Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for this review and for the preference accorded to Hotel Corona D’Oro for your stay.
We are glad that you enjoyed you permanence here and are very happy to receive all your compliments for our hard work.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best regards.

Michele Piazzolla
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Bright, airy atrium with comfortable seating where you can relax with friends. Lift to access rooms including breakfast in the basement. Loved the freshly squeezed DIY orange juice machine and DIY pancake machine. No other meals possible but ample choice in the vicinity - delicious coffee bar and delicatessen next door. Comfortable room with walk in closet and shower. The boiler broke down and was repaired within 12 hours so not too much inconvenience. The only downside is that the air conditioning was not cold despite many attempts to adjust the temperature

Room tip: Each room is different. I was happy with my room 207 which was nearest the lift, up a flight of stairs. Porter service is available
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eliza Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele P, Direttore at Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Eliza,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for staying with us during your group tour in Bologna.
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your room, our services and the Beautiful city.
Unfortunately on rare occasions small unexpected inconvenience happen, we are in a very old historical building but we do our best to main and upgrade the quality of the facilities. We are happy to announce that the air conditioning system is getting completely renewed. Our dear guests’ deserve the best welcoming and any suggestions for improvements are always welcome and help us a lot in our journey.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards

Michele Piazzolla.
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Was looking forward to staying at this hotel based on the excellent reviews here, but had some unfortunate unforseen circumstances at the time of check in. Based on the experience I've had with the managers there I would not recommend anyone book a room at this hotel.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Scenic46952342577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele P, Direttore at Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,
I am sorry that you perceived your experience this way, even though it leaves us puzzled to receive this review since it’s not our practice of coping with issues as you describe.
Your reservation was made in a certain way, it wasn’t possible to settle you with an upgrade as we were fully booked. Our guests’ happiness is our priority but sadly it’s not always possible to satisfy everyone's wish as we would like to do.

Michele Piazzolla
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A superb hotel. Clean, centrally located very close to the Centro Storico, but quiet. The reception staff are helpful, speak good English, and are patient. The lounge area is comfortable and welcoming and the bar is well stocked. Breakfast is all one could wish for in terms of quality and variety. All the staff you meet are professional. A very relaxing experience.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Shirley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele P, Direttore at Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Shirley,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for the preference accorded to Hotel Corona D’Oro****S.
We are glad to hear that we managed to make your stay memorable with our attention to details and hospitality. All your compliments are the best reward for our hard work.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
A big thank you from the whole staff.
Our best regards

Michele Piazzolla
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Corona d'Oro is a fine hotel, with a parking, located in the very heart of Bologna historical center.
Nice room, pleasant service and very reasonable prices.
Nice dining room with enough space to enjoy your breakfast without being listening to your neighbours.
We stayed three nights and could walk to all the magnificent places in a few minutes.
We just thought the main hall decoration to be outdated and could be nicely revamped.
It will be our choice for our newt stay in that beautiful city.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RomanMontrozier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele P, Direttore at Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Roman Montrozier,
Thank you for the wonderful review and for choosing our hotel for your stay in Bologna.
It’s a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay here, especially the breakfast.
Any suggestion that could improve your next stay are always welcome and we gladly take note of everything.
We are most definitely looking forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards

Michele Piazzolla
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews